Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 89%
    • Cleanliness: 83%
    • Condition of Facilities: 81%
    • Efficiency of Service: 92%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 97%
    • Location: 97%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 87%
    • Security and Safety: 87%
    • Value for money: 85%
    777 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Christina M, December 2014
    I loved this hostel! Stayed 10 days and it felt like home. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the kitchen is big enough for lots of people to cook at once and the common areas are great for making friends. The pool is a major plus too. I highly recommend the walking tour with Todd, especially if you're a fan of dad jokes ;) all the guys that work there are super cool and helpful, I'll be back!!!
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Katja D, December 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    chelsea m, December 2014
    This is my second time back here at YHA and I highly reccomend staying here if you're coming to Byron. It's such a great way to meet new people and share your traveling experiences. I can't even begin to explain how great the location, staff, facilities and just in general the people and place is, it's amazing!!! - 10/10, see you there ! :)
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating90%
    Euan M, December 2014
    If you're looking for somewhere to stay for a longer period of time than normal this is the place for you. The staff here really look after the long term stayers. Can't recommend it enough.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating95%
    Angus Lawless D, December 2014
    This place is absolutely fantastic. Come with an open mind and a willingness to meet new people and you will have a blast. Near the town centre, the beach and other apartment complexes if you have friends nearby. The only quarrel I have is the showerhead is around 5.5 feet tall which can make life difficult for someone taller than that I would however definitely recommend the place and stay again
    • Cleanliness:20%
    • Condition of Facilities:20%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:60%
    • Overall Atmosphere:20%
    • Security and Safety:40%
    • Value for money:20%
    Customer Rating38%
    Kara M, December 2014
    Nothing like the photos, our room smelt like a wet dog, room was stuffy and hot with no ventilation. Had to buy an air freshner. We booked for 2 nights in a female room ended up with males in the room, however was so filthy we only stayed 1 night. Wouldn't recommend.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Marlene H, December 2014
    My friend and I have stayed at many YHAs, this one was the best! So close to the beach and to town, but far enough away to be relaxing too. The manager does the most amazing guided tours to the light house! DO NOT MISS IT! Free bike rentals allowed us to get anywhere we wanted to go. The rooms and kitchen were clean and everyone workng was super friendly and overly generous. Stay here.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Jennifer M, December 2014
    I only stayed one night so it's hard to comment on the atmosphere and service, but I can say that my room was very comfortable and cleanliness was fine. The location was great and I really appreciated the shuttle picking me up at the bus stop and showing me around town. I didn't meet many staff members, but those i did meet were friendly and helpful.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Lauren P, December 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating88%
    Pierre P, November 2014
    10 nights in this hostel, clean, kitchen clean. 1st time I've seen that in a hostel. Great staff.
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating70%
    Kevin D, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Emily B, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    Preshit B, November 2014
    Its one of the best hostel I have stayed with really friendly staff and good atmosphere I would come back here if I am in Byron bay
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Ramon S, November 2014
    Staff is very friendly, thanks Joel, ;-) and the internet is fast!
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating92%
    Eva S, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:40%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating80%
    Sarah P, November 2014
    Location is excellent. Pool is great. Free bikes are a great addition. Byron is a party town and these tourists are not too into cleaning up after themselves or smoking in designated areas. Pretty quiet after 11pm so no problem sleeping.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating90%
    Liana J, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Mathias N, November 2014
    Probably one of the best hostels in Australia. I have nothing bad to say. Amazing staff! I have never witnessed such a kind staff who also remembered and called me by my first name! Book here and you won't regret it.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating95%
    Josefin W, November 2014
    Felt totally at home, loved the staff
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Robert D, November 2014