Blue Mountains - Katoomba

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 92%
    • Cleanliness: 94%
    • Condition of Facilities: 90%
    • Efficiency of Service: 89%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 92%
    • Location: 95%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 92%
    • Security and Safety: 95%
    • Value for money: 90%
    2518 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Chris M, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Michelle L, November 2014
    Katoomba YHA Staff were excellent and couldn't do more to help, very grateful to them
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:20%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating65%
    Kath B, November 2014
    Being part of a group & being split up was most annoying since we requested a 4 bed dorm to ourselves but staff not willing to grant our request in spite of empty rooms. We are all over 65 & one of us was expected to climb a bunk bed in spite of a 19yo in the room with a lovely bed in a windowed section, window closed & our people sweating with a door closed between the young one & oldies. Poor!!
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating95%
    Sara O, November 2014
    This is my second visit to the hostel and it was as good as the first time. A lovely tranquil atmosphere where all ages and nationalities can come together. Even though it is a large hostel the receptionist (Liz) remembered my name which I thought was excellent customer service. The only small criticism I would make is that another oven would be useful in the kitchen. Highly recommended.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:60%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    Malle K, November 2014
    Bed was comfortable, but the room was stuffy, window did not open completely. Doors make lot of noise, so you hear the neighbours as well, some slamm the doors really loud. In case you have a big backbag or luggage, the only way from the rail station to get there is 15 min walk or taxi. Friendly stuff, clean, large common facilities.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    David B, November 2014
    The staff were very helpful. The other guests we met there were mostly friendly. It was a little disappointing that a small minority of the guests did not clean the kitchen utensils, benches etc after using them, to a reasonable standard.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating85%
    Ben P, November 2014
    Nice-ish place to stay, but obviously getting a bit tired, and certainly no view for the extra that we paid for. All in all not bad, but not fantastic!
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Robert M, November 2014
    Staff friendly and helpful - their advice and the town map was a great help planning walks with limited time available. Breakfast on the terrace was a treat. The kitchen looked and smelled clean. Although there was a party of children staying they did not make any noise we could hear in our room. The room was clean and facilities good - the shower was excellent. Shops round the corner convenient.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating95%
    Susan A, November 2014
    Great location. Great value! The YHA had good security for a female travelling by her self.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating95%
    Hila B, November 2014
    We enjoyed our stay and would recommend YHA Katoomba to others, especially if they seek cheap (dormitory) accommodation. However, we felt that paying $130 for a double room with bathroom is too high since the room is very basic; the bed small, there is no a/c and the room got uncomfortably hot during the day and didn't cool off sufficiently at night (can't open the window wide either).
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Diana G, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating78%
    Regine K, November 2014
    Surprisingly quiet hostel. General areas Art Deco, spacious, bright. Room very plain and basic, a bit shabby, ie tiling/grouting in bathroom quite old. Nice touch to have tea, coffee, milk in room. Hygiene in communal kitchen difficult to achieve with filthy scouring pads and dish cloths, would be so easy and cheap to put right. Would defo stay again. Certain olds world charm.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Alistair S, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Michele B, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Denzil K, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Gia K, November 2014
    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel is in a great location with tons of adventure/activity offers. It also has a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Thanks for a great stay!
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    Adrianne W, November 2014
    Love the retro Art Deco ambiance
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Michelle J, November 2014
    Staff very friendly and check in and out very efficient. Overall the experience was good. Would definitely return and recommend YHA to others
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Julie w, November 2014
    We love to stay at YHA Katoomba. Our third visit did not disappoint. We hope to come again before too much longer.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Nicholas S, November 2014