Bellingen

  • Dorrigo Gondwanaland Rainforest Deal 

    Please note: Dorrigo Tour operates on Wednesdays only.

    Discover the beautiful World Heritage listed Dorrigo National Park's rainforest, waterfalls, flora and fauna from bohemian Bellingen, only 30 minutes inland from Coffs Harbour. This deal includes:  

    • 2 nights' multi-share accommodation at Bellingen YHA
    • Wednesday-only full-day guided tour to Dorrigo National Park including Skywalk, rainforest nature walk, Griffith Lookout, Dangar Falls walk and swim, and lunch stop in Dorrigo town (lunch not included). 

    Priced from $89 per person. Valid to 31 December 2014. 

    Book Now Button

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 91%
    • Cleanliness: 86%
    • Condition of Facilities: 84%
    • Efficiency of Service: 89%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 98%
    • Location: 99%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 94%
    • Security and Safety: 89%
    • Value for money: 86%
    290 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating92%
    Jennifer C, August 2014
    My girlfriend and I enjoyed staying in the wonderful old building. It was awful weather teaming rain the place was perfect as the verandas are wide and covered so we were able to enjoy being outside. The kitchen is very good with plenty of space for all to share. There was plenty of places to sit and take in the views of the river. I was very impressed with the comfortable quiet room.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Byron T, August 2014
    We stayed here as we were on route to the Blue Mountains from Byron Bay. It is tucked away from the main high street with a lovely view of the hills and overlooking the river. It seems a throwback to the 60s in its whole outlook and is a very we'll run place with friendly staff and a good kitchen set up. A nice hostel to chill out at.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Audrey B, August 2014
    I had a wonderful time at this very cozy hostel! It's a beautiful house w view on the river and was full of interesting and positive people during my stay, so I made friends immediately. We sat at the table doing macrame and ceramics, traded stuff for cooking great meals and hiked in Dorrigo. The hosts Maf and Zoom are very helpful and also organized a nice day trip with lunch to an eco-community.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Ellson Y, August 2014
    Its a very chilled out place. Very good for meeting people and just relaxing and did I mention, there is yoga class there?
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Ian M, August 2014
    A beautiful, well-run, laid-back hostel in a beautiful laid-back town. Perfect location, and Maf, Zoom and the others make you feel welcome and at home.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Mallory F, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Anne E, July 2014
    As soon as we arrived we were greeted by staff and made to feel comfortable and welcome . Our room had beautiful views and the hostel had lovely energy and atmosphere. There are many open areas and hidden nooks ensuring that you can be social or find a place to relax and read. We loved that the staff organised a woodfire pizza night and tours of the local area for guests. We'll be back!
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating98%
    lynne m, July 2014
    Beautiful room overlooking river and the most helpful, kind staff.
    • Cleanliness:40%
    • Condition of Facilities:40%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating70%
    Elise E, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:40%
    • Condition of Facilities:20%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating75%
    Gerald K, July 2014
    Amazing location. The managers Maf and Zoom were very helpful and friendly, going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and made our whole family feel very welcome.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating70%
    John C, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    Grant M, June 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating92%
    Sara R, June 2014
    I had never stayed at a YHA backpackers before, and at 38, I'm no student traveller. I loved my experience here - the feeling of the place, all Buddhas and inspirational sayings on the walls, the beautiful old weatherboard guesthouse overlooking Bellinger river and charming, friendly staff. It felt like a family - and I only stayed for a night! I would recommend it to anyone.
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating72%
    kelly o, June 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating98%
    Rhonda W, June 2014
    We were only staying the one night but the room was comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful; the location is brilliant and the view superb - breakfasting on the veranda overlooking the river flats is just a beautiful way to begin your day.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Rebecca W, June 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating98%
    Neil M, June 2014
    Excellent hostel with friendly, efficient staff. Location is great and the atmosphere is very relaxed, hospitable and quiet. Would recommend this hostel highly to others. However, accommodation in Australia is too expensive and that is reflected in the price of the ensuite room at $100.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Keith V, May 2014
    The help offered by the 2 brother Managers was excellent, I couldnt ask for more from this hostel where the focus was on community eg a Bollywood night opened up to the whole community was fantastic. Thanks Bellingen for a marvellous stay
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Rebecca W, May 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Jorgelina J, May 2014
    Awsome! The best that it has a part from the view is the staff, they made me feel like home, its a place where you feel home..and its very difficult to find places that makes you feel that way, so thank you very much!