Cairns Central YHA

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 86%
    • Cleanliness: 84%
    • Condition of Facilities: 85%
    • Efficiency of Service: 86%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 92%
    • Location: 89%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 83%
    • Security and Safety: 88%
    • Value for money: 85%
    2143 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating80%
    DIEGO B, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:60%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating68%
    Naomi T, August 2014
    Specifically booked this as was stated as not a party hostel so thought it would be quiet I was wrong
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Julie L, August 2014
    Fabulous stay in Cairns! Feel so relaxed and can't wait to go back. The hostel has a good vibe day and night. We had great fun at the trivia night and loved the free pancakes every morning. All staff were very friendly. :)
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating88%
    Carola F, August 2014
    The hostel in Cairns is a nice place with lots of palm trees which created a really relaxing atmosphere. I was impressed from huge bathrooms and a big kitchen. Unfortunately my food has been stolen in the last days which was really unpractical as I had some things left. Of course you cannot insure cases like that but I think this can happen anywhere. So all in all I enjoyed my stay.
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Srivas C, August 2014
    A nice hostel configured like a resort, with lots of greenery. Male toilets were often not that clean, but otherwise had a fully equipped kitchen and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Veronica H, August 2014
    Very good hostel in a convenient location - opposite major shopping centre and a few minutes walk to the esplanade. Also close to bars and restaurants. Just a small warning: Cairns is a party town and the hostel can be quite noisy at night. If you are want peace and relaxation, this probably isn't the best place to stay. Rooms near the pool area are particularly noisy at night.
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating75%
    Jonathan W, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating92%
    Aimee P, August 2014
    Good central location close to train station and a mall with a grocery store. Very friendly and helpful staff for answering questions and booking travel. Free pancakes a nice touch.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Alexis M, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Melanie P, August 2014
    One of the best YHAs in Oz that we've stayed in. Well equipped kitchen (with lots of little extras like oil, salt, pepper etc) which was kept very clean. Nice pool and seating area. Laid back atmosphere but not 'party central': we needed to catch up on some sleep and it was perfect for us. Had a late flight the next day - we were able to carry on using pool after checkout & fair priced big lockers
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:60%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating80%
    Louise A, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:20%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:40%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating62%
    Rebecca C, August 2014
    nice pool and communal areas however our room was disgusting. There was rotten food under the beds and mould in the bathroom and on the curtains. We complained about the stench in the bathroom as we paid for an ensuite room which was unusable due to the dirt and grime. Reception viewed our room and promised cleaners first thing in the morning. This did not happen. I used the communal bathrooms.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:40%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating82%
    Tommaso C, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Lasse Roemer S, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:40%
    • Condition of Facilities:40%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:40%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:40%
    Customer Rating52%
    Fabio M, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating88%
    Rene G, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    Florian L, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    XIZI L, August 2014
    MEET A LOT OF FRIENDS ALL AROUND THE WORLD. AND STAFFS ARE VERY NICE.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:60%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating80%
    Sjoerd T, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating78%
    Veronica H, August 2014
    Very happy with standard of YHA hostels generally - they are of a much higher standard than many other backpackers hostels in Australia. This one is no exception. My only warning is that this is a party hostel and as such, don't expect to get a good night's sleep, particularly if your room is facing the pool/entertainment area. The hostel is conveniently located near the main shopping centre.