Cairns Central YHA

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 87%
    • Cleanliness: 84%
    • Condition of Facilities: 86%
    • Efficiency of Service: 85%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 91%
    • Location: 90%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 84%
    • Security and Safety: 88%
    • Value for money: 85%
    2137 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Robert S, August 2014
    Convenient location in tropical Reef city. Close to all services and supported be competent staff. Comfortable beds.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating95%
    Paul M, August 2014
    The only thing I found disappointing was half the outside recreation and eating area was a smoking area
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating80%
    Astrid D, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating88%
    Penny L, August 2014
    Great location and very helpful staff.
    • Cleanliness:20%
    • Condition of Facilities:40%
    • Efficiency of Service:40%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:60%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating55%
    Gwen R, August 2014
    Kitchen is always dirty, there was no dishwashing liquid for almost 2 whole days. It's also too small and not very well equipped. Reception is understaffed and you always have to wait a very long time. Rooms are small but do have air con, and the pool is nice. Overall the worst YHA I've stayed in so far.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Erin C, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Frederico Ozanam A, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating92%
    Jessica R, August 2014
    Bring your own towel for this YHA. I thought from memory that YHA hostels everywhere supplied towels automatically but I seem to have been mistaken. Location was really convenient - close to supermarket, CBD and railway station. There are no lifts so if stairs are a problem, make sure you request a ground floor room; staff were kind enough to carry my luggage up the stairs.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Joanne E, August 2014
    I used to live in Cairns. I was on a week of business and used the hostel as I didn't have a car and needed to walk everywhere. This place was perfect. A bit of noise at night as the rooms all face onto the common areas, so a good pair of earplugs essential. The only other thing wa the kitchen was a bit small. However it had great ideas like lockers with doors on for your non perishable food.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating98%
    chaewon s, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating92%
    Jürgen I, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating92%
    Yin Ying H, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating65%
    Nic M, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Kin Lam Dickson C, August 2014
    I think my backpacking days were behind me after all these years, but I have proven myself wrong. People in their 80s stay here too. I will return definitely. It was such a happy stay. Facilities are excellent, there is a locker for each occupant to store his/her personal belongings. Ample power points to charge gadgets. I am very happy to have stayed here.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:40%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating68%
    James L, July 2014
    I've never seen so many people at a hostel! It was hard to use common facilities - kitchen, etc. There are not enough tables to sit down out of the rain during peak usage times. Overall though, YHA Cairns is a great place to stay... And when will YHA Aust bring back Life Memberships?
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    Szu Hua C, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:40%
    • Condition of Facilities:40%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating68%
    Maria S, July 2014
    Staff very good. Facilities good, but cleanliness poor.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    David T, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    Aida R, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Rachel S, July 2014
    Super friendly staff, clean and value for money. I'd definitely stay again!