Port Douglas YHA

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 89%
    • Cleanliness: 91%
    • Condition of Facilities: 86%
    • Efficiency of Service: 93%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 90%
    • Location: 87%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 89%
    • Security and Safety: 87%
    • Value for money: 88%
    304 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Kenton S, August 2014
    I really enjoyed my stay at the Port O'Call lodge. The staff were incredibly helpful and even booked a dive with a dive company for me.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating82%
    Kate P, August 2014
    Great value accommodation in a beautiful location :) It's great to have a bar/bistro on site, as well as the option of cooking for yourself.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating80%
    Jack L, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:60%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating78%
    Matthew W, July 2014
    Great relaxed tropical feel. All your basic needs are provided for & they have a pool & location is close to the beach. Lots of places to relax and friendly people & staff make it an enjoyable place to stay!
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Kathy P, July 2014
    Excellent location. Easy to walk to the beach and town. Nice outdoor area to eat meals. Very pleasant place to stay.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    peter b, July 2014
    It felt more like a hotel than a hostel. The staff especially Tom and Kerri would put in the extra mile for you.The room was spotless,the beds comfortable. The locals ate at the Bistro and drank at the bar. A fantastic stay and we would love to go back.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Josephine Melody S, July 2014
    Great place, friendly staff, best hostel we've stayed in
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Gloria T, July 2014
    My friend and I are from Hong Kong and stayed in Port O'Call for 3 nights, 1 in a share-room, 2 in a twin room. I am glad we were able to arrange for late arrival as we had a late flight. Staff Kiri and Steve were extremely friendly and helpful! The facilities exceeded our expectations- love the pool! Good value for money and good location. Thank you again, will definitely stay here next time!
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating90%
    melanie l, June 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    William J, June 2014
    Friendly staff with a wealth of local knowledge made my stay delightful.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Nithya K, May 2014
    Good location and close to beach
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Bronwyn R, May 2014
    I found my stay here enjoyable, sadly I wish I could have stayed longer. My room was excellent value for money and was safe and secure and quiet. The owners pointed out how to get to the main street and beach and points of interest. The food was fantastic at the bistro - best meals I had during my holiday. Hope to come back.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    clare r, May 2014
    This is a great value option for Port Douglas. The motel style rooms are very affordable and offer everything you need from aircon to a fridge. Really friendly and helpful staff who advised and help book trips and even sorted out a mishap with our transfers. Good location, just a few minutes walk from town. Lovely little pool to cool off when back from the reef/rainforest.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Lacy O, May 2014
    Of all the hostels I've stayed in, and there have been plenty, this one is definitely at the top of the list. It was clean, quiet, located within walking distance to town and even closer to the beach. It was a pleasant, relaxing stay and the desk personnel were helpful and informative. Highly recommended.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Makana A, April 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:60%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating75%
    Yolanda W, March 2014
    Quite area within walking distance of town and 4 mile beach. Facilities include lounge area with TV, pool, pool table, self laundry, and a restaurant. Overall, great place to stay.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Tom B, March 2014
    Very friendly and helpful staff. They were ready to provide assistance with tour bookings and directions to nearby attractions.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating78%
    Carol H, March 2014
    Great facilities - we had booked a standard double room. However, arrived to discover no air-con allowed until 7pm: since it was 30+ degrees, not good (and had been no indication on website about this, or that cafe was closed). Very helpful stand-in manager moved us, to superior double (v good) and also said the other rather strange rule - pool not to be used after 6pm- would not be applied.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Antje S, March 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Robert G, December 2013