Search YHA

Hervey Bay

86%
Hervey Bay, QLD

This multi-award winning hostel in the seaside town of Hervey Bay is conveniently located within an easy walk of nearby beaches.

$24
Check availability
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Double Room with Ensuite
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Gardens and Pool
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Shared Room
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Dining Area
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Bar
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Computers
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Pool at Night
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Restaurant
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Happy Guests
  • Hervey Bay YHA Backpackers - Tennis Court
  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (902 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The tranquil natural environment, birdsong and wild life enhance the ambience. Having a great menu with some meals available all day was terrific. As I was without a car it made my time so relaxing. It would be great though to have courtesy bus do a specific shop run or two daily (small charge?) as well as pick up-drop off of travellers...
    100%
    ZJanet P April 2015
    There were 2 girls keep talking till very late when others try to get sleep but cannot
    98%
    Yanan L April 2015
    Unfortunately a sub-standard YHA experience. The kitchen is under equipped, the wifi and internet never worked, mistakes were made with our booking, and our room didn't have a closeable solid door (just a screen) so we frequently had the smell of cigarette smoke drift in from outside. The bike rental was great, but didn't make up for the sub-par experience. Not recommended.
    48%
    Orla P April 2015
    Great stay and one of the best YHA facilities I have seen in Oz. Hervey Bay is very strung out as a town so location is awkward wherever you are but this place is close to the marina etc. Food is excellent and very good value as was the bar. The staff work really hard to keep things clean and tidy and credit where due.
    85%
    john t March 2015
    Really nice little hostel, girls dorm was clean, no bunk beds and even nicely decorated! Really impressed overall but could be doing with valuable lockers in the room.
    88%
    laura d March 2015
    ery pleasant,great location, & friendly. Would definitely stay with you again. My only adverse comment, the mattress in our room definitely needs renewing,one could count the lumps in it, but a great place.
    82%
    Ronald L March 2015
    Great place to stay in Hervey Bay. Affordable food from their restaurant, free wifi, really clean rooms and bathrooms, efficient and helpful staff and a great atmosphere! It is a bit far from the town centre.
    95%
    Amy W March 2015
    Was not very clean, spider webs all over inside, utensils dirty etc
    60%
    Underwood S March 2015
    very good . everything good except no air conditioner in bedroom.
    98%
    qi x March 2015
    we were very happy to find such a acomodation
    90%
    Peter K March 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    902 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    81%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & security
    85%
    Value for money
    85%