Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6471 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This hostel failed to deliver. Extenish renovations on first floor impacted on the operation of airconditioning in bedrooms during recent hot spell, making things very uncomfortable. Noise from adjoining building site started each morning around 6.30am. No warning about these problems were given on the website. Seems YHA just wants to keep you in the dark and take your money. School group stayed overnight and paid little regard to the "quiet zone", talking loudly late in the evening.
62%
Lindsay C 16/04/2018
Unfortunately, I had an unpleasant stay this time around at YHA. I booked a one night 4 male bedroom for a half marathon on Sunday 15th of April. The staff that booked me in Saturday night did not welcome me, asked for identification and did not speak to until she confirmed my booking and explained that check out was at 1000AM on Sunday. I explained to her I was running for a half marathon that started at 0730 and would finish around 1100 and midday check out was great to which she replied 'no'.
55%
Siddarth N 15/04/2018
It's good and it's my second stay here. It would be good if you consider 1-2 hours late check-out for people who come to attend events. This helps us a lot. Also, some staff hardly respond with a smile. That's bit harsh.
72%
Thanuj k 15/04/2018
Location- Excellent Service- Warm and very friendly Cleanliness- Constantly well managed Cost- Very Affordable
100%
Michael D 14/04/2018
The showers on level 3 were very small. The floors and shower remain wet after every user. There are too few hanging hooks. Some simple wooden mats would also help getting dressed without standing on a very wet floor.
78%
Andrew O 13/04/2018
Great location, everything needed is close by and mostly within walking distance.
82%
Manus S 12/04/2018
It was very amazing stay because i arrived around 6am and they try to give me the room as soon as possible and that was very nice. The bath was very clean like a hotel style, the wifi works and the room have space and the lookers works perfectly.
100%
Gustavo M 11/04/2018
Location in down town Canberra is excellent but I found other aspects let it down. Such as communication with staff - answered questions but didn't volunteer info that would have been useful. Also wobbly bunks!!!
70%
Bernadette M 09/04/2018
Everything was perfect! Thank you for a great stay :)
100%
Sarah 06/04/2018
Fabulous hostel, friendly great facilities!
100%
Lisa C 04/04/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
83%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
83%
Friendliness of staff
84%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
80%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
82%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL