Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6368 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Lovely and clean, clean dorm room and great facilities. No need to moan about there not being enough plug sockets because there are 2 for everyone in the lockers. Spacious dorm and comfortable bed. 5 mins walk to the bus station. Reception staff very helpful and are open 24 hours. Will definitely stay again if I come to canberra again.
98%
Rhian V 12/02/2018
We booked a double room. We were checked into a room that hadn’t been cleaned. On the day of departure at 6am someone banged on our door and woke us up. Never found out if it was a prank or there was a fire scare or what. WIFI was rubbish. Breakfast not tasty.
48%
Szymon K 11/02/2018
Cleanliness, friendly staff and perfect place for short stay
82%
Eeshwar R 11/02/2018
This hostel have great amenities. The pool and sauna is in great condition and clean. The rooftop is perfect to socialise. It is very popular for people to hangout - free movie night in Thursday’s. The kitchen is splendid. It is right in the city centre. Amazing staff ask for Daniel he is legend! Overall we are very pleased and satisfied for our stay.
90%
Jesse S 11/02/2018
The room was basic but very clean and the bathroom excellent. Breakfast was a welcome inclusion.Not too far from NGA and National Museum which I was visiting, and public parking at rear of building was a helpful piece of advice.
85%
Helen T 11/02/2018
Friendly and kind staff and all the services you would need.
88%
Chiara P 10/02/2018
A nice place with great facilities and a loud bar under the building whit live music on friday night:)
82%
Martin K 10/02/2018
Lovely stay there, tidy and clean room and comfortable bed, really nice bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Also great location so its easy to go out or walk around the city area. Probably have the most complete entertaining facilities among hostels.
98%
Ziqi L 02/02/2018
I've stayed before several times. I like the Ving card security, facilities are good. I like to visit the AWM every year or so (I saw the Special Forces display this time) so I broke the journey from south (Alpine Victoria) to stay. Worth the extra fuel and accommodation cost.
90%
John H 29/01/2018
Very clean hostel, good location.
82%
Stephanie C 28/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
86%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL