Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6262 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I've arrived in late night, everybody slept and there's no single light inside the room is suitable for turning on. if the bed light is dimmer then that would be awesome.
90%
Jessica 10/12/2017
The hostel has a great location and is very clean. The rooftop was very nice as well! Tho there's no free breakfast and the stuff in the kitchen is pretty old/ can't be used properly. The staff was very friendly, and the bar downstairs is amazing!
78%
Tabea J 10/12/2017
Very good place to stay if you’re heading to Parliament, it’s within walking distance. Good bathrooms, very clean, good security. Highly recommended.
100%
Daniel E 10/12/2017
Welcoming atmosphere, really friendly and helpful staff, excellent value, and clean facilities.
95%
Tom M 10/12/2017
I had a great stay. Will definitely be staying at YHA again in the future! I also love their comittment to being environmentally friendly!
100%
Emma B 09/12/2017
Terrible dorm room mates. Informed reception. Would appreciate a refund seeing as the yelling by one of the dorm guests meant I couldn’t get a wink of sleep despite paying $40 for the room. I and the other women in the room felt very unsafe.
55%
Alexandra 09/12/2017
Great location close to shopping, museums and a short bus ride from parliament zone with lots of other activities. Clean and modern facilities and a great breakfast at a great price in the downstairs cafe. Also check out the rooftop deck. I would stay there again.
98%
Cheryl W 04/12/2017
Enjoyed my stay very much, good atmosphere helpful staff, I liked the non corporate feel. I also thought your employment of people with disabilities a good practice.
85%
Patricia J 03/12/2017
I like it very much particularly its location which is at the city centre so that I could reach places I want to visit easily on foot. The kitchen has very good facilities with enough number of gas stoves so that everyone can cook without having to wait for others too long. However some guests are not clean, leaving toilet paper on the floor and used plates and cooking utensils in the kitchen untidy. Generally, I like to stay here again whenever I am in Canberra.
82%
Enung R 03/12/2017
Looked up Canberra backpackers
78%
Mollie C 02/12/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
customer rating, based on 6262 reviews
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
86%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
89%
Value for Money
81%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL