Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6162 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The double-bed/twin-share (non-dorm) room had no wall hooks to hang clothes, nor any space - like a wardrobe - to place clothes.
40.0%
Steve A 20/10/2017
I choose YHA for quality. A little too much R and B music perhaps ; )
100.0%
Timothy W 18/10/2017
The rental bikes could do with an upgrade. I finished up using a Spinway bike that was very good. Maybe you could come to an arrangement to use their bikes. They have a location fairly close to the hostel.
80.0%
Trevor C 17/10/2017
Such a great location to access everything in the city, and great hostel too. Only thing would be that it was a bit noisy, mainly due to the nice open picnic area at the rear of the building -- pub-goers seemed to congregate there late at night, having harmless fun, but being noisy.
80.0%
Paula H 17/10/2017
Everything it was awesome if I came to Canberra again I won’t choose any accommodation except yaha
100.0%
Ghulam M 17/10/2017
In the room lots of spaces also lots of area to relaxed actually great place to be an awesome 🙏👍🏻👌👌✌🏻
100.0%
Sitanun C 17/10/2017
Awesome location... Owesome facilities... Absolutely value for money... If you are in Canberra.,you must experience YHA...
100.0%
Aveek P 16/10/2017
Great location. Very clean bathrooms and super handy luggage storage lockers at a very reasonable price - myself and 3 friends fitted our bags in a medium locker for the whole day and it only cost $4. Must do's in Canberra: *The War Memorial and Anzac Parade - Spend the whole day there. I can't stress this one enough, it is awesome!! *Hike up Mount Ainslie at dusk - you're almost certain to see kangaroos and the view over the city is amazing. *Visit the Australian National Museum. *Floriade in October is beautiful. *Loads of great restaurants, bars and cafes!
100.0%
Emilia B 16/10/2017
A quiet weekend. Had a room virtually to myself which was nice. Only complaint there was a bar of soap left on the floor in the shower cubicle a couple of days in a row not sure then how often the cubicles are properly cleaned. Otherwise great hostel, nice staff and good location!
80.0%
Carla Jacquelyn F 15/10/2017
I enjoyed my stay in Canberra YHA. The hostel was close to everything and not badly priced. My first night was very good and I slept well but on the second night there was a lot of noise in the carpark, until about 2am. We had to close the window and the room was then very stuffy and hot. I found out later that the A/C had to be turned on at reception. The hostels online add needs to explain linen, towels and lockers like they do overseas. Travellers need to know what to bring with them. The sauna and pool was a bonus but badly needed a clean.
80.0%
Barbara C 15/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88.0%
customer rating, based on 6162 reviews
Cleanliness
89.0%
Condition of facilities
86.0%
Efficiency of service
89.0%
Friendliness of staff
91.0%
Location
96.0%
Overall atmosphere
84.0%
Safety & Security
90.0%
Value for Money
85.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL