Port Stephens YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Port Stephens YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (324 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This is a unique cool place. We stayed there before in 2003 and our son has also stayed there. One of a kind!
Ron G 10/03/2018
This is a really unique hostel that I will definitely visit again. Accommodation is staying in little bungalow cabins that are spread out on the property. The double room with bathroom was more like a hotel with its own fridge, microwave and tea / coffee provided, so that you could be self sufficient. Surrounded by lush gardens, the hostel even has a pool. It’s easier if you have you’re own car to get around. But a brilliant place to stay!
Fiona L 06/03/2018
I was there during 24 hours of downpour! Staff friendly and helpful despite being on their own due to an emergency. Facilities were clean. Handy for bus stops. I hadn't realised milk was for sale at reception so perhaps a notice in kitchen would help Are the bus times the new ones from January 2018? Would recommend this place to ecolovers
Julie R 27/02/2018
My stay was not the best... I stayed only one night but it was enough. I liked the little bungalows in the bush but they come with the mosquitoes unfortunately... And I'm allergic to them... The facilities are great but the WiFi is ridiculous. The place is not very close to Nelson Bay but there is a bus just at the front which is very useful even if it is not regular.
Gladys B 10/06/2017
Such a beautiful peaceful place. Room was equipped with everything you need. The quality of the towels were great and bungalows have good size bathroom and all very clean. The staff on arrival and departure were really friendly and helpful. Definitely coming back .
Catherine A 05/06/2017
Staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel is a bit far away from everything for travelers on public transport, bus service (especially on Sundays) very infrequent. Highlights were the visits of the friendly opossum and the tawny frogmouth.
Gunter T 14/05/2017
Needed some days out of the city and booked the hostel pretty spontaneously. I was overwhelmed, the bungalows in the little jungle are the perfect spot to rest. I loved the open kitchen and overall the whole location. Sandy and Mark are lovely people, and I'll definitely be back!
Marie G 01/05/2017
It is my favorite hostel. It is located in a quiet area close to Tomaree National Park which makes it special. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel at home. I definitely will come back.
Mauricio H 26/04/2017
What a wonderful place!!! You feel like in the middle of the jungle with lots of birds in the trees and possums visiting each night. Sandy and Mark really make you feel at home being extremely nice and helpful. We even got chocolate bilbies for Easter!!!! I met really special people there and some evenings a kind of magical atmosphere could develop with everybody in the outdoor kitchen talking with each other. I extended my stay and I wish I could have stayed forever. The wonderful pool would be a perfect office to work at...
Melanie M 20/04/2017
Room opposite to the outdoor kitchen. Quit loud until late in the night.
Nadine 25/02/2017

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines


YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:


Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.


Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.


Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.


If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

Average Customer Rating
Condition of facilities
Efficiency of service
Friendliness of staff
Overall atmosphere
Safety & Security
Value for Money