Wollongong YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Wollongong YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (393 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Most enjoyable stay. Could walk to most places of interest within 30 min. I left a leather coat in a common area on my final night, and found it was gone when I checked first thing next morning. But when I went to check out at the office I found out that one of the guests had noticed the coat and got the night manager to put it away safely for me.
100.0%
Gerard F 16/10/2017
Reception staff was absolutely fantastic.
100.0%
Janet R 16/10/2017
Great location, quick check in and check out process. This is an affordable place to explore Wollongong and the Grand Pacific Drive. A lot of food options and night life in walking distance.
100.0%
Rakesh A 02/10/2017
Great, central, easy to find. Only issue was how *narrow* the entry into the car park was...not a good fit.
60.0%
Maggie W 29/09/2017
First night there was a very odd fellow in the same room who disrupted sleep. Second night was excellent.
100.0%
Phillip H 30/08/2017
Only 10minutes walk to the waterfront walk around Newcastle harbour, lighthouse and spectacular coastal views.
100.0%
Rosemary C 25/08/2017
For a newly arrived student, specifically international, this is the best accommodation in terms of knowing the exact routes heading towards the UOW, the transportation (55A and 55C buses) and places for shopping (foods, clothes etc). The staff in YHA Wollongong will hand over 3 vital leaflets of maps that will indicate routes, street names and time-table of buses respectively. These will minimize the effort to find out the places by oneself and also considerably reduce the travelling cost. It is also a place where one can meet new faces and make friends. If one does not have an accommodation in Wollongong, then there is no better place to live than YHA Wollongong for a temporary basis ans search for a perfect place for you at the same time.
80.0%
Sujan Kumer G 24/08/2017
It's like a home away from home
80.0%
Milosavt L 13/08/2017
The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Is location is very near to the city's business district in a quiet neighbourhood. If one is looking for a safe and secure, quiet and friendly people while staying in Wollongong, YHA is it. :)
100.0%
Gereon A 15/07/2017
The rooms were functional and the beds comfortable. The bathrooms and communal kitchen areas could do with some more cleaning and care, but the hostel is good as a budget accomodation option, close to accessibility for all the Wollongong has to offer.
80.0%
Robert R 03/07/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

83.0%
customer rating, based on 393 reviews
Cleanliness
81.0%
Condition of facilities
73.0%
Efficiency of service
86.0%
Friendliness of staff
92.0%
Location
88.0%
Overall atmosphere
77.0%
Safety & Security
85.0%
Value for Money
88.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL