Cooktown YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cooktown YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (56 guests have reviewed this hostel)
We stayed in the motel section and the room was very comfortable, a chair in the room would have been nice. We did our laundry but the machines etc were very grubby.
80%
Rosslyn T 05/07/2017
Great hospitality. Clean, great value!
100%
Jill H 07/06/2017
Shady open areas to relax and read surrounded by luxuriant vegetation.
100%
Paul H 05/12/2016
I just found it strange that the lights in the kitchen wouldn't turn on till a certain time. Whilst I realize that electrity can be abused, as I needed to have an early start I was a bit annoyed that I couldn't start my breakfast and had to use my torch to find my ingredients. Otherwise the hostel was great with it's crocidile statue and painting which I liked as it gave the hostel it's own character.
88%
Nadia T 25/07/2016
A very friendly place & close to everything.
100%
Reg O 20/06/2016
This hostel had a different feel compared to others- probably because of its remoteness. As a solo traveller it was pretty quiet, with not many other backpackers. I had a room to myself which was a first! A nice location, though and the staff were really friendly.
78%
Elise B 28/04/2016
It Was a really good expérience, the motel is beautiful with kind staff ! I recommend it
95%
Maxime D 24/12/2015
Hostel and motel on one site. The property is located on a hillside with some steps from the amenities, kitchen to the hostel rooms. Tropical gardens with small swimming pool and bbq. We stayed in a double room with air-conditioning, ceiling fan, small fridge, TV. Included towels and soap. Friendly staff however the property is let down by the low level of cleanliness in the kitchen and amenities block. They are neat but in need of spring cleaning and scrubbing. The kitchen has a smell of stoves needing a good clean, the toilets are a bit wiffy. The bbq is a no- go zone. We'd only recommend Pam's Place if these issues were rectified.
70%
Bobby M 28/10/2015
This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in and would recommend it to anyone, whatever their choice of type of accommodation. I always look for ways of improvement, but this time I was stumped. Well done Scott, you have a great place with the breeze flowing through in the afternoon.
98%
Geoff O 10/09/2015
Scott was great and really helpful. I have rebooked to stay again
92%
Michael C 11/08/2015

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86%
customer rating, based on 56 reviews
Cleanliness
79%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
85%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
89%
Value for Money
86%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL