Mission Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Mission Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (47 guests have reviewed this hostel)
It was a nice walking distance from the beach and the staff were very helpful. The setup of the hostel is principally good, just general cleanliness was not up to yha standards. The guests that were staying were generally young and in party mode (though I admit it was a Friday) so if you’re into that, you would like the atmosphere.
78%
Krisna B 13/01/2018
It's my favourite hostel so far! The location is perfect and the atmosphere in the hostel really nice!
92%
Theresa G 13/01/2018
Except for the fact that several other travelers in the room were on their phones watching movies to all hours, and one whom had an ailment which was passed onto myself. I have always found it excellent.
100%
Matthew S 13/01/2018
Maybe the room/bathroom (ensuite) could be a little cleaner
85%
Shirlee M 01/01/2018
Loved this hostel! Best hostel I’ve been to since arriving in Australia. It has everything you need and more, the staff are exceptional and made our stay that more enjoyable. Wether traveling solo, with friends or family this hostel caters for all. I couldn’t recommend this place enough, stunning location, beautiful rooms, gorgeous pool and the beach right out front! What more could you want 😍 also I would like to say a massive thank you to Andrew for helping me organise the booking, I had initially booked through agoda and they were awful, they gave the hostel the wrong information regarding rooms and how many people were staying and when I called them to resolve this issue they told me they had cancelled 3 out of the 5 rooms I had booked (still charging me for one of the cancelled rooms and over charging me on another room) they lied and said it wasn’t possible for me to book the rooms again - this is 2 days before we were to arrive at Scotty’s! I called the hostel directly and with the help of Andrew got everything organized in time for our Christmas holidays. He’s an absolute gent and I really can’t thank him enough for everything he did for us. We had the best Christmas at Scotty’s all thanks to Andrew. I can’t wait to come back here! Happy New Year to everyone at Scotty’s YHA Il see yous in 2018 😉
100%
Michelle M 31/12/2017
This hostel has made my opinion of YHA good again. One of the best YHAs we have stayed in... in fact the best!
100%
Tiffany F 29/12/2017
I only stayed one evening, so didn’t see much of mission (beach) most people stay cause of the skydive... I might as well skipped this one and went to cairns immediately Very nice staff tho and good kitchen en lounge
82%
Gaby 28/12/2017
The kitchen and common areas were nice and clean the room we stayed in was in awful state Been in many YHA in the world and other backpackers but this one was on of the most ragget & unclean I've seen for a while. No hot water in the shower, the room was full.of hair and dirt from previous visitors (behind the door and in the shower) and the room was far from the photos published. Having the pool was nice as well as been close to the beach. Atmosphere wise, been in better places where at least other soical people will say hello (but that can change based on the people during your stay...) If you're looking for nice intimate place,avoid this YHA
52%
Keren H 15/12/2017
When we arrived at Mission beach YHA, staff were very friendly and recommended 'millers' the food place just over the road who do a deal on pizzas everynight (very yummy too). The communal Lounge area of the hostel was nice and cosy. You couldn't ask more from the staff they helped us book two exclusions and were very friendly.
62%
Sam E 11/12/2017
The kitchen is way undersized and was super dirty. I found itvdurprising that do many farm workers lived there.
78%
Regina M 08/12/2017

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
84%
Overall atmosphere
83%
Safety & Security
85%
Value for Money
85%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL