Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1528 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This was in a good location. I had villa 302, the bedroom was separate and was at least 10 degrees hotter than the living area plus no tv in bedroom . Being a two person villa I would rearrange and have the bed combined with the living area as there is plenty of room and put an air con in the other room with bunk beds this would give you more options in regards to guests! I left a day earlier than expected due really bad weather, I notified the receptionist of my plans the day before and asked if there was any chance of a refund for the last day of a 5 day stay and I received a blunt no! The meals and refreshments were good value and the restaurant staff exceptionally good.
40.0%
Owen J 15/10/2017
Close proximity to Urangan Boat harbour and shopping centre. Meals at hostel were very good both in terms of quality and quantity.
100.0%
Brian P 14/10/2017
Booked for 1 night following an overnight bus from Airlie Beach. Although I had heard it was quiet, this was perfect for me and I got the best nights sleep in a while! Room was clean and cool, kitchen was spotless 😍 And pool area was nice if a little small. Not the best location for Hervey Bay itself, but for a recharge pit stop it was perfect. Also fun to make friends with all the animals wondering around, chicks ducks peacocks and even some terrapins
100.0%
Sarah S 10/10/2017
Wonderful staff whom were very happy to help answer any of my queries regarding travel excursions and transfers. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the native wildlife free to roam the grounds is a majestic sight! I would definitely stay with Colonisl village YHA again when I return to Hervey Bay!
100.0%
Merryn P 08/10/2017
Was great to stay at only the beds in the rooms wasn't that good we all ended up with a sore backs and my children as well hopfully next time when we return they might improved.
80.0%
Jayleen K 02/10/2017
Always stay at YHA when in Hervey Bay. A wonderful relaxing, tropical environment with fantastic bird-life, especially love the peacocks! Very friendly and helpful staff that assisted in organising some tours.
100.0%
Angela H 01/10/2017
Too far from anything
80.0%
Johanna B 29/09/2017
Friendly staff and great location. Beds however were very uncomfortable - could feel the springs in the Mattresses. Not well catered for children - no playground, no highchairs in the restaurant or no kids menu. Grounds were well maintained and clean.
80.0%
Kim B 29/09/2017
A nice friendly resort with good accommodation, a little out of the main drag for those without transport.
80.0%
Alan A 27/09/2017
Good value meals.
80.0%
Phillip H 22/09/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86.0%
customer rating, based on 1528 reviews
Cleanliness
91.0%
Condition of facilities
86.0%
Efficiency of service
88.0%
Friendliness of staff
90.0%
Location
81.0%
Overall atmosphere
86.0%
Safety & Security
84.0%
Value for Money
84.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL