Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1554 guests have reviewed this hostel)
All good generally. Only thing I was disappointed with was the kitchen. It needs pots and pans and sharp knives.
78%
Philip T 13/12/2017
It was adequate for our needs during this visit.
72%
David H 10/12/2017
We've been at the camp-site. And really loved it!!!
100%
Katharina G 10/12/2017
Found through recommendation of another camping site after they were full. Guy in bistro was great getting us checked in after a long night of searching for somewhere value for money. Very helpful! Would stay again if we were ever back to Hervey Bay!
100%
Emily D 02/12/2017
nice campingground with a lot of funny animals, small pool, nice bar.
85%
Tanja L 25/11/2017
It's was a very relaxing hostel. I really liked my weeks stay there
85%
Elianne K 22/11/2017
We spent one night in a private room, and we were very disappointed. The main door didnt close properly (apparently for fire) so it was very noisy and the walls were very thin and we could hear the people in the next room. The mattress was really uncomfortable and super thin, you could feel the frame through it and was a horrible night sleep. After Check out we saw the cleaner just make the bed without changing the sheets.... Except that the restaurant was good, and the location too.
40%
Cécile D 20/11/2017
A big thank you to the receptionist who booked and sorted my: Fraser Island tour Booked my Greyhound ticket (there were complications-my fault) My onward accomodation booking. Although it was a quiet hostel, enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. One of the 'better stays' so far on my trip. Well done😎
75%
David B 18/11/2017
We have stayed at many hostels and have found that the ones that ar run by adults as opposed to 'young' adults are much more organised and generally better run - as this one is. Lovely grounds and decent wifi!
95%
Sandra M 14/11/2017
The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful... meals were delicious and great value and the villa was spacious, clean and well appointed.
98%
Carolyn U 13/11/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86%
customer rating, based on 1554 reviews
Cleanliness
89%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
81%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
84%
Value for Money
86%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL