Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1631 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The hostel was amazing, I would go there anytime again! The only issue: There weren't any lockers for storing valuables. I didn't mind, I felt quite safe with my roommates and nothing happened, but for those who are a bit less trusting: ask at reception. I loved the atmosphere!
90%
Frederike K 20/05/2018
Transportation to and from destination, running every 2 hours.
80%
Latoya Y 13/05/2018
Although I liked the hostel for its naturally Location ( once I got used to it, as I am a city person) it may be difficult for people who need more action and liveliness.
80%
Sarah D 09/05/2018
We stayed in one of the four villas. Self contained with all you need and some extras including decoration. The bistro meal was good and good value.
95%
Andrew D 07/05/2018
Location is close to all conveniences Easy walking distance Very quiet and friendly Ducks and Peacocks visit you daily
100%
Les h 07/05/2018
The hostel is fine, with very friendly staff. On the plus side you have a cafe with good value for money food. What is not very customer-friendly is that the wifi only works in this cafe, which closes at 9 pm, so you're left without any wifi. I don't know if this is Australia-specific since this is the second YHA hostel I encountered that does not provide wifi in the rooms and the wifi that is provided in other areas is so slow that you can hardly use it.
72%
Judith M 07/05/2018
Simple and good for one night. Staff are friendly and helpful. Close to main street about 25min walk.
75%
Robert G 02/05/2018
A very spacious area with a pond, lots of animals running around freely and a camping ground. Definitely something special and different from the rest. A good place to unwind and be still.
92%
May Yinn O 24/04/2018
We have stayed here quite a few times as it is good value for money, especially for a private room however we have learnt to ask for an extra sheet as only 1 is provided which is a little strange. There are good restaurants nearby and it is quite close to the airport.
90%
Megan W 23/04/2018
Has so much going for it. The screaming lyrebird at my door the first morning which woke me with a heart shock and thinking someone was being murdered was awful. The beds were dreadfully uncomfortable. Mattresses need to go to rubbish dump. Otherwise nice
78%
Bernice M 23/04/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
86%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
88%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL