Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (270 guests have reviewed this hostel)
We had a very good stay at this quiet time of year (May 2018).
95%
Bill H 26/05/2018
Pros: The hostel was located just behind the pick-up point for bus services, where food and supermarket are. The beach is a 5 min walk away. A scenic coastal walk can be done in a loop from the hostel. Cons: The kitchen utensils are in need of a good scrub - the water in pot turned brown when cooking. Room looks tired - no mirror or place to hang your clothes.
75%
Eng Chuan T 11/04/2018
Wonderful part of Tassie I wish everyone could see. You do need a car here in the Freycinet area. Shopping is expensive and limited so bring some food if you can. The hostel is closed between 10 and 1pm, so you will need shelter elsewhere if it’s raining. Sheets are the sleeping bag type so be prepared to get twisted at night:)
100%
Linda S 09/04/2018
Very good location for exploring the Freycinet Peninsula. The hostel is good for people on a budget and its facilities are good. The only downside for me was that there were no lockers for valuables and other people were leaving room doors and outside doors open/unlocked. Therefore I never felt safe enough to leave my valuables in the hostel when I went out.
82%
Thomas N 30/03/2018
Great that we did not need to have bedding. Toilet paper ran out in one of the female toilets and there was no way of replacing it. Would have loved to see directions for recycling plastics etc. inside the hostel and directions to recycling bins. So much was thrown into bins and it's really sad considering it's a national park. Great location, close to park and shops which was really great.
85%
Helen D 12/03/2018
The hostel was clean, quiet and in a good location (near other facilities in Coles Bay and a short drive to Freycinet National Park). The one negative feature is that it is an aged building.
88%
Christopher C 12/02/2018
Good location and the hostel is clean. It's near to restaurant, grocery store and bakery so it is convenient for tourists to buy food. Short distance drive to the walking track carpark which is the track to wineglass bay lookout and mt Amos.
88%
Adelene C 31/01/2018
It would really benefit from more obvious recyling bins so guests can consciously recycle their waste.
80%
Joanna P 27/01/2018
Clean and quiet, right on the beach and near small supermarket and pub. Super convenient for Freycinet National Park
98%
Laura H 22/01/2018
Great location for exploring the area. I enjoyed the open common areas which were a nice opportunity to meet other travelers. Comfortable beds and excellent facilities.
95%
Catherine K 08/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
79%
Efficiency of service
86%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
85%
Value for Money
84%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL