Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (5969 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The hostel was dope. I was a bit nervous cause it was my first time staying at a hostel in a city I’d never been to but I had no reason to be worried! Staff were super patient friendly and nice — the other guests were really pleasant. Rooftop view is unreal. All in all a great place to be had a superb time!
92%
Alejandro B 12/12/2017
Great for a solo traveller as staff are very helpful and good at suggesting things to do. Lots of entertainment and things to get involved with, you don't stay solo for long!
88%
Nina S 11/12/2017
I enjoyed this more than brisbane cbd yha
78%
Ryan h 11/12/2017
Factory hostel. The atmosphere is niether warm nor friendly. The kitchen is filthy and there's not enough space to put the food. The dorms and baths are not clean. The staff is friendly and the rooftop awesome
62%
Sarah H 10/12/2017
I have high expectations for YHA hostels but the public area of the hostel is super messy and unclear. Noise from the street or even people are allowed to have party over midnight. It must be the atmosphere problem. Location is great, staff is friendly, but the other tourist or group make our experience turning worse. Quite disappointed for this.
72%
Fung Yu L 09/12/2017
Pub Crawl is a must do! Had a great time. Quarters were a bit tight in an eight bunk, but not bad. Location is cool. Just outside of the free Tram area. Close to Fitzroy, city center and Melbourne Museum. My first time at a YHA in Australia, a bit surprising how many young (under 18’s) were staying there. But they were in a different area. And when night time came, they disappeared.
90%
Mick 08/12/2017
Great location. Friendly staff.
95%
Da W 05/12/2017
Very friendly & helpful staff
92%
Bronwyn D 01/12/2017
It is quiet around the hostel and staff are very kind.
70%
Takahashi S 27/11/2017
I loved this hostel! Super friendly staff (especially Mojo and Boizen!!), walking distance to the free tram, big kitchen facility, pool table and lounge area, and a beautiful view of the city from the rooftop. Highly recommend the pub crawl, such a fun night!!! If there aren't any activities going on one night, ask about any over at Central YHA. I went to a wonderful rooftop BBQ there and had a blast playing drinking games and meeting awesome people. The front desk will help you book a shuttle to the airport, but make sure you tell them which airport you're flying out of! There was a lack of communication when they helped me book a shuttle and I ended up at the wrong airport:( StarBus goes to Melbourne Airport, but I needed to go to Avalon....Take SkyBus if you are flying out of Avalon
95%
Bethany S 27/11/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
customer rating, based on 5969 reviews
Cleanliness
76%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
86%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
87%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
89%
Value for Money
82%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL