Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6160 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Rooms and common area are clean. Location is safe and convenient, and it is close to the university. Staff are helpful and nice. I booked two one day tours and bus ticket to airport from the desk. The tour bus and airport bus picked me up at the entrance so that I don't need to go to the meet up point in the early morning. I had a very good time in Melbourne and happy stay at this hostel.
100%
Jiaying L 19/04/2018
Great because it was near public transport that enabled me to visit my mother who is in a nursing home, every day during my stay. There were many value for money, eating places in the area including the market. It was cheap and that allowed me to stay longer to see my mum.
92%
Joy B 18/04/2018
Great place near the city, the markets, and just up from the free tram service. Easy to locate and lots of street parking on a weekend.
90%
Ta'Utino A 16/04/2018
very nice and friendly! funny- happy- reliable- helpful-
100%
William Z 15/04/2018
It was a nice stay in the YHA again. It’s all just a bit outdated. It could use an upgrade. USB charges next to every bed or a plug at least. Also maybe a curtain for some privacy would be nice. Friendly and helpful staff. Location is a bit on the edge of Melbourne but on walking distance of the city centre. Overall a pleasant stay.
78%
Dennis N 12/04/2018
GREAT ATMOSPHERE,
85%
Tracey L 12/04/2018
The locality is excellent, all staff members are friendly and willing to serve. Even in my next visit YHA Metrol remains my first choice
92%
Salome G 09/04/2018
Great location for visiting Melbourne.
100%
Gary B 08/04/2018
I loved this hostel for its location, functionality and comfortable atmosphere. I can't rate how eco-friendly it is as I dont know what initiatives are in place in terms of energy and water usage and waste, but it is important to me. I had a roommate who snored heavily so my second night was pretty sleepless. I'm not sure what can be done about this but next time I'll bring heavy duty earplugs. This is a great and affordable stopover for me on trips to Melbourne.
98%
Susan T 07/04/2018
activities are good.
65%
Vincent P 06/04/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

85%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
79%
Condition of facilities
80%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
88%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
88%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL