Kalgoorlie YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Kalgoorlie YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (143 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The hostel is old and in need of some upgrades, but is physically acceptable overall. There was a group of guests who made staying at this hostel unpleasant. We, and others guests at the hostel were rudely awakened every morning at 2am by drunken shouting, banging on doors, and on one occasion a drunk guy invading our room. There was even an incident where the fire alarm was triggered at 2am forcing an evacuation into the cold night for an hour while we awaited the fire department to declare the building safe. We were informed the next day that it was due smoking in a room. While the hostel is not responsible for their guests, the failure of the management to do anything about these incidents is appalling. I have stayed at hostels all over the world. This one is by far the worst stay I have ever had at a hostel.
48%
Lendyn P 26/09/2017
Scruffy and bad service. Not a good idea to stay there
45%
Andrew K 26/06/2017
Manageress extremely helpful. Excellent kitchen and the room i was staying in. 10 out of 10!
95%
paul s 30/12/2016
needs upgrade inline with Melbourne Central a complete remodelling
55%
Anthony B 24/12/2016
The majority, if not all, of the residents at the time of our visit were workers, presumably at the superpit.
55%
Neil T 08/08/2016
Room: • strong unpleasant odour, stained and grotty floor coverings • broken and delapidated cupboards • very thin doona - inappropriate for the winter season - very cold • broken window handle • no small waste basket or towel in the room Communal facilities: Spacious, clean and well organised
58%
K D 02/08/2016
This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in! The door to my room had been kicked in and was not properly repaired leaving it insecure. The receptionist was not at all friendly. The place was run down and filthy. This place should not be associated with YHA!
25%
Sean B 19/06/2016
Laundry doir in secure and people entering. Great hostess ... very friendly and maintains facilities well but not sure all sheets ect washed as pillow slip definatly wasnt. Vaccuming between 5am and 6 outside rooms and laundry washers being used at 430am was not acceptable and feedback to hostess was pointless as only get a dont care attitude in response. Need to get a door bell as not all travellers have a mobile to get in the front door.
78%
Anon O 23/05/2016
A 2 night stop, easy to find, clean and friendly. Would stay again.
92%
Alan P 09/12/2015
Simple yet very welcoming "oasis" in the desert of the Goldfields region. It is neat, organised and very well maintained and managed. This hostel is perfectly located in the town centre, but tucked away from the noise and distractions of Kalgoorlie. Extremely welcoming staff. I highly recommend! :)
98%
Anaelle D 03/10/2015

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

78%
customer rating, based on 143 reviews
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
73%
Efficiency of service
77%
Friendliness of staff
84%
Location
80%
Overall atmosphere
74%
Safety & Security
78%
Value for Money
79%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL