Blue Mountains - Hawkesbury Heights YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Blue Mountains - Hawkesbury Heights YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (111 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Good location, near the busstop for tours and also near restaurants, shops and supermarket.
82%
Hendrika V 02/12/2018
Exquisite setting in the forest, very eco friendly. Very interesting information about the mountains- a profoundly peaceful encounter with nature.
100%
Dianne K 19/09/2018
The best possible place to chill out. Only small by YH standards but every comfort and exceptional views of the Hawkesbury Plains. There area myriad of places to visit from this base. All the tourist spots of the Blue Mountains are within eay reach and below are Richmond and Windsor heritage towns.
100%
Flora C 05/08/2018
It's a great location for people who look for solitude, but not a good hiking base. A car is helpful as there are very few buses to the next town. I was just there to relax for a couple of days, therefore I enjoyed my stay.
78%
Isa W 13/03/2018
Just LOVE the experience to stay at Hawkesbury Heights. The environment, eco-garden, and facilities were the same condition as 2012. The owner put her heart to maintain the place for visitors. I would love to stay other time at this quiet, clean, eco-friendly place in future for sure. The sur-around view, brilliant in sun-rise and even better in the fog. :)
95%
Man-Yi P 15/10/2017
We love it!
98%
Olivia C 03/10/2017
Friendly owner, great location .clean Screen door at front door needed. Local maps on walls in lounge would help walkers. Sign for folks upstairs encouraged be aware noise carrying at night re up & down stairs to toilets or padded steps?Close doors quietly sign as is small hostel space.
80%
Patricia O 18/08/2017
Extended my stay as loved the tranquility of this hostel. Friendly Owner. Very clean and ideal place to relax.
98%
Edward H 30/07/2017
Lovely quiet hostel set in the bush. It was just perfect for my much needed time to just relax. Carlolyn the Hostel Owner went beyond her duty to help. Very clean bathroom and kitchen. There is no TV which did not bother me as I was busy with my own agenda, but it might be an issue for some. Also, this hostel is not in the main tourist area of The Blue Mountains, so it would necessitate private transport, as the public transport system to and from the hostel is infrequent. The rooms downstairs can get cool in the Winter, so travelling with a hot water bottle would be ideal.
98%
Edward H 30/07/2017
The hostel is in a beautiful spot, just out of sight of the (very few) nearby houses, with a view downhill and across to the lights of outer Sydney at night, or the sunrise on a winter morning. The location is quite out of the way, but that's the point. The common area is cosy, with a couple of big tables, wood fire, and radio/CD player. Recommend Hawkesbury Lookout, literally five minutes' walk away, where you can see all the way to the CBD.
92%
Annabelle E 05/07/2017

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

93%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
95%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
96%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL