Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (7457 guests have reviewed this hostel)
BEST hostel I’ve stayed at by far! Definitely would return if I’m ever in the area.
95%
Jahrah P 14/06/2019
A 'nice' hostel for a 'nice' city. No more, no less. Gets the job done by providing a safe, reliable, somewhat quiet base for travellers. Kitchen/dining areas are large compared to most hostels, and kept mostly clean. Dorms are modern/comfy with minor problems to do with slamming doors/power points. Toilets are the worst bits - far, far too small, cramped, and wet. Otherwise, the staff are adequate enough, but don't expect smiles and overt friendliness. Best budget accommodation in Canberra.
82%
Michael Paul D 12/06/2019
Good hang out place upstairs. Downstairs kitchen, pool and sauna is a bonus.
92%
Nicholas D 12/06/2019
I stay at YHA Canberra twice a year. It's centrally located and great value. The booking/check in/check out system works well. It has never been noisy or party-central when I've stayed. only gripe is parking, but hey its in the Canberra CBD.
88%
John R 11/06/2019
Very happy would recommend the family room for any families considering a stay.
98%
Jamie B 11/06/2019
Close to city
80%
Sopha E 09/06/2019
The wifi was amazing. Some dudes were trying to get into our female only room late at night which concerned a few of us. Maybe some security cams.
92%
Rachel D 05/06/2019
I really enjoyed my stay here, nicest hostel I've stayed at in my 8 months of travel. Helpful and friendly staff. Very clean. Really nice dorm room. Good size kitchen.
95%
Ashleigh Jayne C 03/06/2019
Room was spacious for a single and comfy altho with shared bathroom except rate is a bit pricey without toileteries and towels provided. Staff who attended me was very informative and helpful.
82%
Zaharah B 01/06/2019
Awesome location, big kitchen, many places to lounge and a good outdoor deck. I found one of the rooms I stayed in on the third floor was much too cramped for 10 beds though. The other room I stayed in on the second floor was good! Lots of different ethnicities of people staying at this hostel. Not a party hostel which is nice but I found it boring to hang out at.
92%
Curtis P 31/05/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
87%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
80%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
80%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL