Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (6779 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great service and location. Very comfortable and great facilities.
98%
Hannah G 20/09/2018
Really nice hostel, clean and homely. Comfy beds, nice bathrooms, great kitchen space and a lovely TV room too where I spent my evening watching Dr Phil and Bake Off. Highly recommend. This hostel actually made me want to spend more time in Canberra.
92%
Megan J 20/09/2018
I think it's impressive that so many backgrounds and ages seem so easily absorbed into the building yet you see only a few at any time. Only once in 4 night stay did I pass someone in the bathrom. There are quiet spots and balcony to choose and all asks seemingly seamlessly met. Scales for luggage, towel, room warmer or cooler, storage. And staying right downtown for that price. I am impressed. There's a beautiful park a few minutes up the road.
100%
Catharine C 18/09/2018
We loved the hostel and the best place to visit is the Arboretum, fantastic !!!!
92%
Adrianus B 18/09/2018
Solid location and good services and facilities for a low central-CBD price.
95%
Stephen T 18/09/2018
The room door didn’t lock. The staff were nice but really slow at changing the room. Parking was absolutely terrible. Only it says there is free parking available at the hostel but that’s a load of crap so that needs to change. Or make the back car park a reasonable size
60%
Kelly M 18/09/2018
I always love staying at the YHA in Canberra. I love the fact that they offer private rooms and the option of female-only rooms. The one thing that made me sad this time around was that although they have free wi-fi, they no longer have computers available for the guests; you have to bring your own device. Mine was broken so it was a shame that I couldn't access the internet, even though I could when I stayed there back in 2016.
100%
Kate R 17/09/2018
The location was good and the bathrooms were clean. Unfortunately the room was cramped and the service at reception wasn’t very friendly which always makes a huge difference.
78%
Emily H 17/09/2018
I absolutely loved my stay
100%
Megan R 16/09/2018
I really liked the hostel. I was happy with everything about it except the bed. What you can improve is the quality of the bunk beds. They are not sturdy enough, every move makes them shake and getting to the top bunk was not a nice experience. Definitely need better quality beds.
95%
Naseema M 16/09/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
87%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
85%
Value for Money
84%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL