Some hostels are temporarily closed and reception hours may vary due to current circumstances - please check individual hostels when booking.

Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (8125 guests have reviewed this hostel)
everything was good other than that my final night a guest was checked into my room at 6:45am who proceeded to be really loud while getting settled into the room, waking up everyone else. the kitchen was good and twice i saw herds of ants on dining room tables... location and comfort made up for it i guess
88%
Emma A 19/03/2020
Super clean and modern! Bathrooms were good, decent showers and toilets aplenty throughout the building. The Kitchen fridges were a little warmer than I expected, but hopefully that is something that may be rectified! Beds were comfy and the different spaces were really cool, rooftop is a win with hammocks!
78%
Dominic C 18/03/2020
Great location, room was clean and tidy, plenty of space. Bathroom was neat and clean. There was a bit of noise from the Transit Bar downstairs.
85%
Jonathan K 16/03/2020
The hostel has no atmosphere, the staff are not welcoming, not enthusiastic, could not give advice on local things to do. Location is good, so if you’re in a group it should be ok
52%
Jamss L 15/03/2020
The hostel was perfect for a weekend. Close proximity to bars and also bus stops. It was clean, the staff were helpful and the floor space in the dorm was huge, with a table in the middle for us to sit and talk which was nice
100%
Loren M 15/03/2020
Very clean and comfortable and staff is nice. There were people who were very rowdy at 4am but it wasn’t the end of the world. Good facilities and amazing showers!!
85%
Jessica B 15/03/2020
Great, though they're really is a lack of power-points to charge devices throughout the whole facility.
92%
Emma-Leigh D 14/03/2020
Great staff and service. The rooftop area is great to hang out.
90%
Jack P 14/03/2020
Nice place.I will recommend to my friends
98%
Zivko L 13/03/2020
The hostel was great! The common areas on the ground floor were lively and the dorms were super quiet and relaxed. The bathrooms were really clean and the staff were friendly. The free wifi had a good speed as well and the in-room lockers were a good size, with large paid lockers on the ground floor for $5/day. Overall this YHA was a great place to relax and unwind after a day exploring the city.
100%
Nic M 12/03/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

85%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
81%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
86%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
81%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
85%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL