Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (7609 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The staff are very welcoming and kind and were helpful with every question I asked. It can be expensive depending on when you book, I was talking to another person staying there and he paid double what I paid for the same night so keep an eye on the prices as they do move! Really clean, the cleaners spend a long time in one place and its one of the most clean hostels I've been to. The wifi is okay when its working - it cuts in and out. They clearly care about the environment too which is a plus!
98%
Josie Katherine M 20/08/2019
Enjoyed the Culture Loop bus on my second day in Canberra. Thanks for having the info on the counter when I arrived. Unfortunately my TV didn't work in my room. I was given a small refund.
100%
Margaret M 19/08/2019
I really enjoyed the location (10 minutes from where I had to be) in fact everything was handy. Unfortunately I probably wont visit Canberra again but I wouldn't hesitate to refer others to YHA Canberra in a heartbeat. Congratulations to all
98%
Peter John David S 19/08/2019
Great location close to amenities. Car parking can be a problem. Hostel not as clean as it has been in passed. When booking a room with a child on booking would be good not to have been over the bar.
78%
Claire F 18/08/2019
Very big, clean and nice hostel. The most cleanest YHA hostel I've been in Australia. Staff very friendly. Thank you.
100%
Reeta Maria R 16/08/2019
YHA hostels are always good. My only complaints are some of the other guests need to learn to shower, but the hostel can’t control that unfortunately!
92%
Anna-Kristen S 15/08/2019
I think it is time to renovate and update. It is getting very work down. This makes it difficult to clean and look fresh.
72%
Daniel N 15/08/2019
I had a good moment here. The less was the shower : cold bathroom and cold water...
92%
Justine G 11/08/2019
Bathroom felt a little bit cramped. It would be nice to have larger cubicles for the shower for changing. etc. It was quite filthy too but that was more likely the guests than the cleaning intervals. Loved the bar underneath as well. Getting the included breakfast was a little bit awkward. I was given good instructions from the staff the night before but a school group was in the cafe in the morning and so service was limited. Thanks again.
95%
Cameron R 11/08/2019
Good location, warm and friendly
90%
Anne-Maree B 09/08/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
82%
Condition of facilities
81%
Efficiency of service
82%
Friendliness of staff
87%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
79%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
81%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

Start Now