YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review.
We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:
INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS
Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.
Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.
UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS
Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.
COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES
Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.
If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.
CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS
If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.
Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.
Average Customer Rating
Condition of facilities
Efficiency of service
Friendliness of staff
Safety & Security
Value for Money
My YHA Wishlist
To access the My YHA Wishlist feature, you have to Log in or Sign Up