Coffs Harbour YHA Backpackers Resort

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Coffs Harbour YHA Backpackers Resort

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1605 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Location and staff are great but it's basically a working hostel. Almost everyone there was working on the blueberry farm. The kitchen area is far too small for the amount of people living there. While it was quiet enough at night people were very loud at 6am and before, most were getting up at the same time so they had no problem yelling in the hallway. The showers were dirty and blocked. New bedding and pillows especially are needed. 1GB of free WiFi per day is a bit of a joke.
62%
Claire H 20/10/2019
Looks like lots of people live there long term. No sense of communication with other people like I’ve had at other hostels. Kitchen was dirty and nobody seems to clean after themselves as there was pots all over the kitchen and in the common area on the morning we arrived. Room was tidy but mattress and pillow were shameful considering the amount we paid for a private room. Location is good as it’s only a few mins walk to the beach.
58%
Daniella G 14/10/2019
Very nice place and very friendly staff. Close to everything on Coffs.
98%
Nathalie K 05/10/2019
Great guy, great location, nice selection of surfboards and bikes
90%
Frederic S 28/09/2019
Good location with friendly staff (who kindly paid for my taxi to the bus depot on my departure!) Nice chilled out atmosphere with plenty of space and clean.
92%
Danny P 26/09/2019
Very close to the train station and the beach and jetty. The best fish n chips in Australia, excellent Spar with good vegetarian hot food option, Liquor and bakery all 2 mins walk away. Makes living easy as it is so close to everything you'd want.
100%
Anne G 17/09/2019
Awesome as always
100%
Jamie Desmond S 11/09/2019
Was only here for one night. Showers were clean, the kitchen was really small for the amount of people that needed to cook dinner. Rooms were okay, you have your own closet to keep your stuff. My room was full of girls who were working so it was a mess and full of there stuff but for one night I didn’t mind. Overal good hostel. Staff was really friendly and helpful, als the shuttle bus to en from the greyhound stop is amazing!
88%
Mylene V 10/09/2019
This hostel was a great place to stay at. The location is perfect and the staff very friendly.
92%
Cyrielle K 10/09/2019
There needs to be a “quiet time” established. There were people yelling in the hallways until 12am. Made it hard to get to sleep. The room I stayed in, there was a girl living there for 2 years and all of her stuff was spaced out around the room. Did not leave any space for other people’s belongings. Overall did not enjoy my stay, unfortunately. The night worker was very pleasant but that’s about the only compliment I can give to this establishment..
68%
shauna h 09/09/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
84%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
81%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
86%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL