Search YHA

Coffs Harbour YHA Backpackers Resort

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Coffs Harbour YHA Backpackers Resort

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1085 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Bottle shop just across road. Nice creek walk to town.
    Philip B October 2016
    Good stop off point between Sydney & Brisbane - stay a few days too. Top class kitchen to self cater. Resonably quite better than Byron.
    peter W October 2016
    It was quite noisy with doors banging & a large group drinking outside our window till early hours of the morning. Bed mattresses are not the best quality but overall it was fine under the circumstances. The staff member that booked me in was fantastic & did her utmost to rectify the room mix up & accommodate everyone.
    Kerry H October 2016
    Never stayed at a YHA before and was surprised, in a good way, at how quiet everyone was after dark when time for bed. I am close to 50 and was in a dorm and everyone was so considerate, it was great
    Greg D October 2016
    This hostel is in a good location, but is very dirty! There are clothes, shoes, and dirty dishes everywhere. It is very disappointing because it could be a great hostel. The staff is friendly, but not very helpful. Every question I asked they didn't know-and it was basic things like what is the tour they have advertised on the board!!
    Nicole H October 2016
    loved every single day I spent here! amazing staff. super friendly people. very close to the beach. Walkable distance to the supermarket and shops.
    Rosario T October 2016
    Would have been excellent except for 3 important negatives: 1. I brought my younger children down to the TV room around 8.30 to see the coffee table covered in alcohol and garbage from the night before. I was told by a man who did not identify himself as an employee that the cleaner had not come yet but it would be OK for them to be in there. What if I was a neighbouring room and my 2 or 3 year old decided to consume the half bottles of beer or spirit mixes. 2. Spray painting a hole wall at the same time of the day is dangerous for guests particularly when the strong smell drifts quickly into rooms. 3. Kitchen at dinner time with multiple dishes left in the sink and adjacent to the sink.
    Karen F September 2016
    Hotel was very clean and nice to stay at! the location was great being a short walk to the beach and to food shops. Only negative was the quality of the pillows being poor and thin, however besides this i totally recommend it! Good value for money!
    Natasha F September 2016
    Friendly staff. Had a great experience.
    Nookeswara Uday Kiran P September 2016
    Some facilities are starting to look a bit worn.
    John H September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1085 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money