Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (597 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This is one of our favorite YHA. Setting in the middle of the a vineyard, it is truly a great experience and value for money especially with a very friendly hosts. Overall we love it and will come back whenever we visit Hunter Valley!
100.0%
Ericson R 02/10/2017
It was convenient, clean and comfortable enough. The shower wasn't great and barely sprayed properly. The room had an interesting smell. Pleased that the windows had screens.
60.0%
Katherine W 29/09/2017
Awesome little hostel, comfortable and clean, staff are great and rooms are great too!
100.0%
Mitchell B 24/09/2017
Great place. Staff was super cool
100.0%
Viet-Thi T 19/09/2017
This is my second stay at the Hunter Valley YHA and it was just as good the second time around. Nigel is fantastic and helpful and always willing to give hints and tips about the area. The room was clean and roomy enough without any unnecessary clutter. Some more wall hooks would be an extra plus. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the extra blanket/room heater kept us comfortable on the cold winter evening! As usual the bathroom facilities were clean and all linen/towels were provided which is great. Thanks again Nigel and family for a great stay! I will be back again in the future :)
100.0%
Erin D 13/09/2017
We loved our stay at Hunter Valley and the wine tour we booked through the hostel. Couldn't have asked for more - we went to 6 wineries, tried cheese and chocolates and had an amazing day!
100.0%
Anna L 10/09/2017
Colleen was very helpful
100.0%
Phillip H 04/09/2017
amazing staff and owners. overly friendly, great experience
100.0%
Andreas Haldrup B 24/08/2017
Fabulous friendly staff, great location and great value.
100.0%
Nadene R 18/08/2017
Despite being a total one-man-band-type operation, probably the most attentively run YHA I have ever stayed at. Super helpful, no request too large or small, great recommendations on how to have a top couple of days in the Hunter.
80.0%
Rebecca G 04/08/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

95.0%
customer rating, based on 597 reviews
Cleanliness
98.0%
Condition of facilities
94.0%
Efficiency of service
96.0%
Friendliness of staff
98.0%
Location
95.0%
Overall atmosphere
93.0%
Safety & Security
96.0%
Value for Money
95.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL