Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (660 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Peaceful and nice place to unwind after work. Budget and got the basic I need.
100%
Alvin H 15/09/2018
Watching the birds in the morning and the chorus of frogs at night
100%
Aurelia N 09/09/2018
Our stay at YHA Hunter Valley can be summed with as follows: great location with awe-inspiring nature views, kangaroo-spotting, ranch view with horse gazing, star-gazing, helpful & warm friendly staff (many thanks Nigel), spacious rooms,nice parking. All in all, we loved our stay & would recommend YHA Hunter Valley to everyone looking for accommodation. It gave us million reasons to always choose YHA for our trips. Keep up the good work guys.
100%
Mohit K 26/08/2018
Absolutely loved my stay will be going there again absolutely friendly and accomodation staff and so relaxing and peaceful.
98%
Jessica C 19/08/2018
Loved our stay! Such a beautiful scenery and very cozy rooms. The friendly staff is always there to help you. Would highly recommend this stay.
100%
Alici D 20/07/2018
Great location and fantastic place. Really family friendly but would also be good for a group of friends. New and fresh rooms, bathrooms and kitchen.
98%
Ellen Marie S 18/07/2018
The manager of the hostel was very friendly and helpful, and came up with many suggestions on things to visit locally. The rooms and amenities were impecable, and I was so comfortable staying there that I ended up extending my stay.
100%
Gabi F 17/07/2018
I had a really good time at the Hostel. The location is beautiful and very well located for a Winery tour. Nigel was very welcoming and helpful - he even arranged a brilliant tour for us and dropped me off in town at the end of my stay!
100%
Sarah R 15/07/2018
It was really cold in the winter- I probably wouldn't recommend this hostel to others in the winter unless the hostel puts some heaters in the room. It would also be good to let guests know that the toilets are down an outdoor corridor before they book their room- it's a very cold walk to the toilet in the night.
82%
Nicole L 10/07/2018
Nigel and Colleen are great Host. Ask Colleen for Winery references. The Hostel is very clean. 15 min to all Wineries!
100%
George C 09/07/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

94%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
96%
Condition of facilities
95%
Efficiency of service
96%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
91%
Safety & Security
97%
Value for Money
91%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL