Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with Pack

Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (713 guests have reviewed this hostel)
It was amazing. Very friendly, inviting, and clean! It's more of a hotel than a hostel- can't wait to stay again!
100%
Sam B 24/03/2019
Ideally located close to vineyards. Clean & welcoming venue. Efficient & friendly staff
100%
Ann-Marie P 17/03/2019
Overall, the hostel is nice, clean and cosy. We liked the grassy area, the pool and the convenience of its proximity to shops. The bedrooms are simple, but functional and clean, and the toilets in the suites are pleasant. The manager was friendly and helpful, always reachable. We had some issues with a fridge which didn't work properly and bbqs weren't clean. Water pump was temperamental but the manager promptly fixed it.
82%
Marta O 15/03/2019
Great hostel! Beautiful surrounding scenery and great location to explore the hunter valley vineyards. We hired bikes from the hostel and visited the different wineries this way. Nigel, the host, was very friendly, knowledgable and offered great advice on the best route to cycle. Excellent, clean facilities. Would definitely recommend!
100%
Theresa 15/03/2019
The hostel was perfect for our stay. In a great location and very clean.
100%
Henrietta C 04/03/2019
What an amazing place and customer service. The owner stayed open late for me to check in as I was behind, was extremely accommodating and helpful, and went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable. Wish I could have stayed longer as everything was clean, easy to find, and unlike a typical hostel experience. Stay here if you get a chance!
100%
Dean M 01/03/2019
Yha
98%
Michelle F 27/02/2019
Fantastic hostel, just what I wanted. Nice and peaceful, clean, friendly owner, great location and the facilities were fab.
100%
Alison T 22/02/2019
I had problems with my van and have to stay immediately, then extend a night... The receptionist was very friendly and they helped me. The place is very nice, all very clean( kitchen, room and showers... That was the best price I saw and probably the best place, quiet, and with views over the vyniards and horses... Then very sad I couldn't extend the weekend cause they were full booking! Not a surprise, I really recommend this place!
98%
Laura M 22/02/2019
This hostel was good, it was a shame the weather was so hot during my stay, as there is only fans in the rooms, and when staying in a four share bedroom, it was hard to cool down. Overall a pleasant stay, however it was uncomfortable in the heat.
95%
Rebecca 17/02/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

95%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
97%
Condition of facilities
94%
Efficiency of service
96%
Friendliness of staff
97%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
94%
Safety & Security
97%
Value for Money
94%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL