Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (624 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Really enjoyed our stay. We bought the Grape Escape package for a girls birthday weekend, which included a winery day tour. Beds were comfy, but pillow was a bit too thick/dense for my personal liking. The pool was a welcomw reprieve from the 40*C heat! Gorgeous wrap around deck and good size kitchen.
Rowena P 19/03/2018
Friendly service, very clean rooms, met so many lovely people - will definitely be coming back!
Tayla 11/03/2018
I had a great stay at this hostel, the host Nigel was very kind and willing to pick me up and drop me off at the bus station any time which was handy as it is hard to get to the hostel without a car. It was nice and quiet since I was staying there during the week, but during the weekend it is fully booked (might be interesting to know if you prefer a quiet or a busy hostel). I did the wine and the beer tour and went to the gardens, beautiful area! You should go to the gardens in spring though
Susan K 02/03/2018
In a beautiful location, everything in good condition, very clean and tidy, helpful staff, comfy bed, this is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in and I've stayed in a lot of hostels in the last 17 months!
Jeffrey T 24/02/2018
Thanks to the host, he was very kind to drive us from the bus to the hostel and back again. He have us very good information about our stay.
Anne I 20/02/2018
We absolutely loved our stay here. Such a gorgeous location and perfect for visiting the vineyards. Will definitely be returning
Josanne D 19/02/2018
Cleaningness and Safety cannot replace atmosphere and hospitality. Management seems to be very uneasy and stressed and complicated. The place has a lot of potential to be a nice place for traveller (backpacker and "established") to get together, having fun and enjoy the beauty of nature, sit together and having a laugh and good time. Therefore the management needs to improve and get a bit relaxed. In general a no go: 30 min free WiFi, after buying 24h access (who is online 24hrs in a row?!) First YHA which doesn't fulfil expectation of a YHA stay. Maybe change the label?
Yha 05/02/2018
I had a fantastic weekend away at Hunter Valkey YHA. Nigel at the front desk was fantastic (I got stuck in traffic and he stayed back to give me the keys). Very friendly staff, lovely atmosphere, great value for money. Awesome little outdoor entertainment area. The water pressure in the shower was a bit so so but honestly, that’s being very fussy. We had a great stay! Highly recommend this YHA for a fantastic and affordable getaway.
Rachel K 04/02/2018
I liked this hostel a lot - the father and mother of the owners were so friendly and kind to us. They let us stay in our room an extra hour to sleep after our hot air balloon flight! I wish the accom had air con though. I would stay again!
Danielle C 16/01/2018
Jeff and Clemi were great and very friendly. Both very knowledgeable about the local area. Clemi took the time one morning to discuss local history of the area and the process of what it takes to grow grapes personally. Had a great stay for 3 nights :)
Niles N 13/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines


YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:


Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.


Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.


Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.


If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

Average Customer Rating
Condition of facilities
Efficiency of service
Friendliness of staff
Overall atmosphere
Safety & Security
Value for Money