Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (615 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I liked this hostel a lot - the father and mother of the owners were so friendly and kind to us. They let us stay in our room an extra hour to sleep after our hot air balloon flight! I wish the accom had air con though. I would stay again!
85%
Danielle C 16/01/2018
Jeff and Clemi were great and very friendly. Both very knowledgeable about the local area. Clemi took the time one morning to discuss local history of the area and the process of what it takes to grow grapes personally. Had a great stay for 3 nights :)
100%
Niles N 13/01/2018
Awesome location in wine country. Pool, bbq and amazing grounds. Comfy rooms and modern bathroom and kitchen. Ask the receptionist for tips in the area. Very friendly and wants you to have a good time.
98%
Andy B 04/01/2018
Good hostel and staff, but the building way too hot at night.
82%
Hugh M 29/12/2017
The hosts are wonderful people who look after you like family.
100%
Andrew H 22/12/2017
As always a great place to stay and escape from the city.
100%
Paul H 17/12/2017
Great location, lovely atmosphere and clean rooms.
95%
Donna R 14/12/2017
This is a clean and friendly hostel in the midst of the wine growing area of the Hunter Valley. It's a little out of the way if you don't have a car. The dorm I was staying in was very small but OK. Birdwatching's good in the early morning!
85%
Alison H 30/11/2017
I loved this hostel! It's in a login cabin style with vineyards out the back. The owner was lovely and we even bought some of the wine made from the grapes from the vineyard. The beds were very comfy and everything was very clean and secure. Very good value for money, would definitely recommend!
100%
Jo J 28/11/2017
Fantastic location and great friendly staff. Best value for money in the hunter area!
95%
Aimee D 26/11/2017

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

94%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
95%
Condition of facilities
94%
Efficiency of service
95%
Friendliness of staff
97%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
91%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
91%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL