Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (592 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Awesome little hostel, comfortable and clean, staff are great and rooms are great too!
    100%
    Mitchell B September 2017
    Great place. Staff was super cool
    100%
    Viet-Thi T September 2017
    This is my second stay at the Hunter Valley YHA and it was just as good the second time around. Nigel is fantastic and helpful and always willing to give hints and tips about the area. The room was clean and roomy enough without any unnecessary clutter. Some more wall hooks would be an extra plus. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the extra blanket/room heater kept us comfortable on the cold winter evening! As usual the bathroom facilities were clean and all linen/towels were provided which is great. Thanks again Nigel and family for a great stay! I will be back again in the future :)
    98%
    Erin D September 2017
    We loved our stay at Hunter Valley and the wine tour we booked through the hostel. Couldn't have asked for more - we went to 6 wineries, tried cheese and chocolates and had an amazing day!
    96%
    Anna L September 2017
    Colleen was very helpful
    89%
    Phillip H September 2017
    amazing staff and owners. overly friendly, great experience
    98%
    Andreas Haldrup B August 2017
    Fabulous friendly staff, great location and great value.
    89%
    Nadene R August 2017
    Despite being a total one-man-band-type operation, probably the most attentively run YHA I have ever stayed at. Super helpful, no request too large or small, great recommendations on how to have a top couple of days in the Hunter.
    91%
    Rebecca G August 2017
    It didn't feel like I was in a hostel. The grounds were beautiful and very relaxing to sit in the sun and read a book. The surrounds were very quiet and it was lovely to hear the birds. The facilities were clean. There is a pub around half a km down the road. We went on the two fat blokes wine tour, as well as the markets. We ate a lot! Would highly recommend YHA hunter valley.
    87%
    Assumpta July 2017
    I loved this hostel! Rooms were lovely and very clean and the lady who checked us in was so welcoming and gave us some good information about the area and where to go for dinner etc.
    100%
    Deirdre N July 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    96%
    96%
    customer rating, based on 592 reviews
    Cleanliness
    98%
    Condition of facilities
    96%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    98%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    94%
    Safety & Security
    97%
    Value for Money
    94%