Search YHA

Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (541 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nigel very friendly and welcoming, kitchen facilities very good, the BBQ area was a lovely wee bit to sit in and eat at. Good TV for when it got too hot to even sit outside, and the pool was a lovely addition also. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
    100%
    Helen C February 2017
    The Hunter Valley gets so hot, on this particular weekend temperatures reached 45°C outside, our room would've reached 40°, even at 10pm at night the rooms were significantly hotter than outside. One tiny wall-mounted fan in the corner made no difference. The facilities were good, pool, clean bathrooms and air conditioned common area. But the rooms need to be better insulated, we need access to more fans and/or the pool needs to stay open past 8pm in this high heat. We left to sleep on the floor of a friend's air conditioned apartment but I felt bad for all the guests who were paying good money and had no choice but to spend the night in 40° rooms.
    70%
    Leah W February 2017
    Brilliant hostel, run really well, Nigel was fantastic and super helpful. A great base from which to explore the vineyards and you can hire bikes directly from the hostel which we did every day! Only suggestion would be some facility or entertainment after reception closes as we couldn't get dvds after this time
    100%
    Jade H February 2017
    Great location and good to be able to hire bikes. Given recommendations re local pub as well as which vineyards were good. Was a bit noisy at times and the lack of aircon meant it was a struggle sleeping although the fan did help.
    82%
    Masood A February 2017
    Lovely relaxing hostel. Friendly staff, good quality bikes to rent with excellent advice given on biking routes round the vines. Rooms were quite hot at night but a fan kept the air moving. Highly recommended
    100%
    Sophie D January 2017
    Great staff with lots of local knowledge. East going atmosphere and great location in hunter valley.
    95%
    Fraser C January 2017
    Friendly service and great facilities. Right at the start of the Hunter Valley Wine Trail.
    85%
    Laura M January 2017
    Clarify would not recommend in the summer months extremely hot in the rooms with no relief but in the cooler months would definitely revisit
    85%
    Annette S January 2017
    Its a great place to stay...lovely pool... and views.. and will be even better when the laundry gets installed!
    95%
    Gail S January 2017
    Great stay, very relaxing and directly by all the wineries. It got pretty hot at night without aircon, but otherwise a perfect stay!
    90%
    Bas T January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    96%
    541 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    96%
    Condition of facilities
    96%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    99%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    93%
    Safety & Security
    97%
    Value for Money
    96%