Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (565 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very friendly staff, great location, excellent facilities!
    100%
    Sarah D May 2017
    Stayed for a weekend. The staff were really friendly and it was at a really good location.
    100%
    Nicola M May 2017
    We loved the YHA, lovely hostel with a friendly atmosphere. The rooms were a great size and the shared facilities were fantastic. The accomodation has a shared verandah, bbq area and fire pit which are great areas to relax with friends and unwind. Close to everything, the YHA is the perfect location to stay for the variety of activities on offer in the Hunter Valley. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the Hunter Valley.
    100%
    Jessica May 2017
    This would be a great hostel for groups doing tours of wineries, BBQ, big decks and outdoor seating with views
    95%
    Shane O May 2017
    Autumn mid-week was very quiet and very enjoyable, especially breakfast outside on the verandah in the sun watching birdlife in the lawns, creekline and adjacent rural lands.
    100%
    Chris P April 2017
    Friendly owner, he picked us up in from the nearest town and he gave us a lift back when we left. Our room was cozy, not too big but that wasn't a problem. Bathrooms and showers very clean, the shared zone had a tv, books and films to watch. Very nice atmosphere.
    98%
    meri i April 2017
    I was having a great stay here with the friendly hostel manager. He's very helpful. I rented a bike and cycling all around by myself. N I lost my way as it's getting darker n darker at the night n I was supposed to back to hostel by 6pm. At the end his dad picked me up somewhere in the dark. I was the lucky one staying at yha hunter valley.thanks for everything.
    100%
    Yow May C April 2017
    Beautiful area, clean rooms, essentials provided but the freedom to treat it as a home away from home. Would recommend to anyone looking for hassle free, inexpensive, comfortable and restful accommodation.
    98%
    Hannah R April 2017
    Great location, clean and modern. Nigel really knows the area and offers some great suggestions.
    100%
    Neil W March 2017
    On our trip to Sydney we stayed for two nights in this hostel. We really enjoyed the nice location and the atmosphere here at the beginning of the vineyards of the Hunter Valley. Especially I would like to mention the very friendly and helpful host.
    100%
    Werner L March 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    96%
    96%
    customer rating, based on 565 reviews
    Cleanliness
    95%
    Condition of facilities
    94%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    99%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    93%
    Safety & Security
    98%
    Value for Money
    94%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!