Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (576 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It didn't feel like I was in a hostel. The grounds were beautiful and very relaxing to sit in the sun and read a book. The surrounds were very quiet and it was lovely to hear the birds. The facilities were clean. There is a pub around half a km down the road. We went on the two fat blokes wine tour, as well as the markets. We ate a lot! Would highly recommend YHA hunter valley.
    87%
    Assumpta July 2017
    I loved this hostel! Rooms were lovely and very clean and the lady who checked us in was so welcoming and gave us some good information about the area and where to go for dinner etc.
    100%
    Deirdre N July 2017
    Loved it! Would highly recommend, we will be back!
    100%
    Lauren M July 2017
    Perfect getaway with the family. Location was on point. Great views but close to town. Facilities were great and clean. All that was missing was some friends to enjoy the stay with.
    100%
    Nikita W July 2017
    Fantastic hostel, great for families.
    98%
    Michelle July 2017
    Beautiful location, Nigel was so helpful and always on hand if we needed help. The facilities were clean and modern.
    100%
    Kate M July 2017
    Lovely welcoming staff, new bathroom facilities etc, inexpensive wifi, nice features like a local info noticeboard and DVD collection. The hostel is in a beautiful spot but hard to get to or go out from without a car.
    82%
    Annabelle E July 2017
    Nigel is super friendly and helpful
    100%
    MunSiew K June 2017
    This hostel was fabulous in that it was quiet. Nigel strictly adheres to the 10pm Quiet Time, nice one. While close to Cessnock, it is far enough from the town and off the road so traffic noise if not an issue. Close to café and restaurants while having everything needed to self cater. Pretty much in the heart of wine country, yet close to cheese and chocolate factories for those that don't drink. Hostel itself was clean, tidy and had the most amazing showers with the rain drop shower heads - heaven at the end of a long day. While in the middle of winter I didn't get to enjoy the fire pit or hammocks- I can see their allure in summer time. Highly recommend this hostel as a fabulous place to stay, well done Nigel.
    98%
    Trish H June 2017
    Awesome :-) A nice quiet Place in paradise. Really nice people.
    98%
    Anna June 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    96%
    96%
    customer rating, based on 576 reviews
    Cleanliness
    96%
    Condition of facilities
    95%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    99%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    93%
    Safety & Security
    98%
    Value for Money
    93%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!