Search YHA

Hunter Valley YHA

  • Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (426 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Geoff, Nigel, Colleen and family were friendly and made out stay very easy and relaxing. We had a family gathering of around thirty people across three generations and it worked very well. Accommodation was excellent and having a large enough gathering space for meals etc. was great. Would definitely recommend.
    Geraldine A October 2015
    Clean, friendly, quiet - we really enjoyed our time. You could not get better value for a couple for 2 nights and a wine tour! Thank you - we will be back.
    Kelly H September 2015
    This accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for economy and clean facilities in a really beautiful environment. Since we are public transport users, we were fortunate to have offers of transport to nearby facilities. People with cars would be self-sufficient. Other guests were friendly and shared their experiences. We had a wonderful week!!!
    Marie W September 2015
    Great and clean accommodation. Well-equipped kitchen. Friendly staff, advice for some vineyards. I recommend to stay in this place.
    Ablaye N September 2015
    The best yha I have ever stayed in. The lodge is beautiful with lovely grounds in such a quiet location. Close to wineries and other attractions. Colleen and Nigel were fantastic, super friendly and very helpful. We booked into the wine tour with them and it was a greatday visiting wineries, a brewery, a vodka distillery and a chocolate and cheese shop. The rooms are comfortable and the showers are the best I have had in a hostel! The kitchen and lounge area are fab and definitely the cleanest communial areas I have seen at a hostel. A really lovely stay, thank you!
    Amy B August 2015
    We had a fantastic stay in the Hunter, thoroughly recommend doing the Grape Escape tour through the YHA!!!
    Kathryn A August 2015
    Colleen and Nigel were fantastic, welcoming hosts. From the moment of our arrival until our departure, everything was so smooth, accommodating and friendly. The autonomy and trust given to us, a group booking out the entire hostel, was greatly appreciated and we look forward to being back. All the little bits of assistance went a long way too. Thank you Colleen and Nigel. Your YHA is fantastic.
    Alec G July 2015
    Vineyards right on your doorstep, well worth a visit.
    David W July 2015
    Perfect base to explore the Hunter Valley wine region.
    David O July 2015
    Fantastic hostel, the best I've ever stayed in! Clean and cosy, perfect for a winter getaway!
    Amie M June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    426 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money