Search YHA

Hunter Valley YHA

  • Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (439 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This is a great hostel with a good atmosphere, fantastic views from the balcony at any time of the day. BBQ facilities look great. Good variety of rooms/rates for the requirements of travellers. Common kitchen well equiped
    Tom H November 2015
    Lovely and clean hostel with excellent facilities and nice managers.
    Jane O November 2015
    Super cosy beds. Beautiful location, but only good if you have a car.
    Tina J October 2015
    We appreciated the pick up and drop off service provided by the host, the concerns to help us enjoying our stay, the tips concerning the wineries and the bike hiring
    Julie C October 2015
    Lovely location surrounded by vineyards. Old homestead style property with tin roof, very rustic. Rooms are very simple - but clean and tidy. Remember to bring all toiletries. The guy looking after the property (his daughter and family were away who normally run it) was lovely, and even dropped me next door to Potters for my transport pick up to a wedding. Went above and beyond what was expected. Thank you!
    Tamara M October 2015
    It was such a nice hostel. Everything was well kept. The view was beautiful. Right near all the wineries. Definitely going back to this hostel.
    Timothy W October 2015
    Best stay ever. Magic and so beautiful and extreemely friendly staff and superb cleanliness. Brought our tw children and lots of room and space for them too!
    Michael Breum R October 2015
    Geoff, Nigel, Colleen and family were friendly and made out stay very easy and relaxing. We had a family gathering of around thirty people across three generations and it worked very well. Accommodation was excellent and having a large enough gathering space for meals etc. was great. Would definitely recommend.
    Geraldine A October 2015
    Clean, friendly, quiet - we really enjoyed our time. You could not get better value for a couple for 2 nights and a wine tour! Thank you - we will be back.
    Kelly H September 2015
    This accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for economy and clean facilities in a really beautiful environment. Since we are public transport users, we were fortunate to have offers of transport to nearby facilities. People with cars would be self-sufficient. Other guests were friendly and shared their experiences. We had a wonderful week!!!
    Marie W September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    439 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money