Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (629 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This place is fantastic! Owners are exceptiomally nice & helpful; amenities are awesome, including pool, BBQ, fully equipped kitchen, bike rental & laundry. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!
100%
Katie R 10/04/2018
Place was a bit smelly and shower in bedroom was awful that we paid extra for
65%
Lydia S 02/04/2018
The staff were really friendly and picked us up from the bus stop. The rooms were really clean and the pool was lovely.
100%
Tracey R 01/04/2018
I would definitely recommend this accommodation. It’s the first time my family ( includes 2 teenagers) have stayed at a Youth Hostel and it ticked all our needs.
100%
Julie H 25/03/2018
Really enjoyed our stay. We bought the Grape Escape package for a girls birthday weekend, which included a winery day tour. Beds were comfy, but pillow was a bit too thick/dense for my personal liking. The pool was a welcomw reprieve from the 40*C heat! Gorgeous wrap around deck and good size kitchen.
100%
Rowena P 19/03/2018
Friendly service, very clean rooms, met so many lovely people - will definitely be coming back!
98%
Tayla 11/03/2018
I had a great stay at this hostel, the host Nigel was very kind and willing to pick me up and drop me off at the bus station any time which was handy as it is hard to get to the hostel without a car. It was nice and quiet since I was staying there during the week, but during the weekend it is fully booked (might be interesting to know if you prefer a quiet or a busy hostel). I did the wine and the beer tour and went to the gardens, beautiful area! You should go to the gardens in spring though
100%
Susan K 02/03/2018
In a beautiful location, everything in good condition, very clean and tidy, helpful staff, comfy bed, this is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in and I've stayed in a lot of hostels in the last 17 months!
100%
Jeffrey T 24/02/2018
Thanks to the host, he was very kind to drive us from the bus to the hostel and back again. He have us very good information about our stay.
80%
Anne I 20/02/2018
We absolutely loved our stay here. Such a gorgeous location and perfect for visiting the vineyards. Will definitely be returning
100%
Josanne D 19/02/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

93%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
94%
Condition of facilities
92%
Efficiency of service
95%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
89%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
90%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL