Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (724 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I loved the staff in the hostel. Maybe the free WiFi for the whole accommodation will be a plus to finish y excellent time in Hunter Valley
98%
Maria Florencia A 20/04/2019
Fantastic experience. It’s owner Nigel is always there for whatever you need. The rooms are perfectly clean and so are the common areas. Definitely worth going back. Thanks Nigel and family for a lovely stay!
100%
Diego D 16/04/2019
Peaceful and quiet, great location, friendly staff
100%
Barbara J 14/04/2019
A negative point is that breakfast is not included and the paying breakfast packages don't include much, even thought they are enough to fill the stomach ( but you know, on holiday everybody loves having a big and rich breakfast! :) ). The price was also a bit high for a youth hostel in my opinion. Super location, wooden chalet in the middle of the pasture fields, i felt so relaxed I didn't want to leave! Free pick up from and to the nearest village center has also been really appreciated!
90%
Giorgia Q 05/04/2019
Great hostel. I only stayed for one night but it was very clean, quiet, and had a nice lounge area to enjoy. The location is lovely.
98%
Alisa B 05/04/2019
Great value and clean I'll be sure to come back next time I'm in the Hunter
100%
Peggy J 02/04/2019
Short but sweet visit. Big thanks to Nigel for being so accommodating. Will definitely return and spend more time exploring the Hunter Valley.
100%
Amy M 25/03/2019
It was amazing. Very friendly, inviting, and clean! It's more of a hotel than a hostel- can't wait to stay again!
100%
Sam B 24/03/2019
Ideally located close to vineyards. Clean & welcoming venue. Efficient & friendly staff
100%
Ann-Marie P 17/03/2019
Overall, the hostel is nice, clean and cosy. We liked the grassy area, the pool and the convenience of its proximity to shops. The bedrooms are simple, but functional and clean, and the toilets in the suites are pleasant. The manager was friendly and helpful, always reachable. We had some issues with a fridge which didn't work properly and bbqs weren't clean. Water pump was temperamental but the manager promptly fixed it.
82%
Marta O 15/03/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

95%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
96%
Condition of facilities
94%
Efficiency of service
97%
Friendliness of staff
98%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
95%
Safety & Security
96%
Value for Money
94%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL