Search YHA

Hunter Valley YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hunter Valley YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (474 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Good hostel with beautiful surrounds. Everything was clean and it was really quiet the night we stayed!
    88%
    Catherine K April 2016
    Great hostel - friendly staff, pool is very private, rooms are comfortable and clean, and in a great location!
    100%
    Joanne L April 2016
    The staff are friendly and very helpful, and the pickup/drop off service is a necessity. The hostel is a lovely cabin and has a nice kitchen area. You can walk to a zoo and brewery (which has free wifi). The winery tours are a must, which the hostel organises. A lovely place to stay, enjoyed it thoroughly
    98%
    Clare P April 2016
    Great surroundings, pool, facilities for cooking. Good prepared food. Relaxed atmosphere. Would highly recommend.
    100%
    Tessa Q April 2016
    Hostel is very well situated. within walking distance of very good brewery with good food and beers. Good wine and food tours organized. Excellent showers and bed and plenty of room. Beautiful location. Very helpful and friendly owners.
    100%
    Diane O March 2016
    The welcome from our hosts was the most friendly! We were instantly made to feel very welcome, relaxed and shown around everything. The room and facilities were spot on, it's a beautiful spot and ideal location for hunter valley. There is a basic grocers 2 mins drive from the door and a pub at the top of the road. Wonderful stay, will stay again.
    98%
    Jennifer L March 2016
    Hunter Valley YHA is a great place to stay. The staff make a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, and other guests were friendly as well. I enjoyed sitting on the verandah and taking in the view over the vineyards. I also enjoyed taking a dip in the swimming pool on a hot day, which as a bonus is saltwater. I will be back again!
    98%
    Angela B March 2016
    This hostel always delivers. Great location for any visit to the Hunter Valley. Facilities are incredible; clean comfortable and modern. Staff/owners are friendly and always helpful. Have stayed here on numerous occasions and can't fault anything. Love being able to use the bikes to cycle the area. Great value and great location.
    100%
    Kathryn W March 2016
    We had a lovely 2 nights stay at the YHA. Nice, comfortable, clean rooms and facilities. But it's quite far away from the shops if you don't have a car.
    92%
    Martin H March 2016
    Can't get any better! This hostel is absolutely worth it every cent and offers a great wine-tour. We enjoyed it a lot, could have stayed longer there. And the coffee they sell is the best I've had in Australia so far;-) Thanks guys.
    100%
    Livia K March 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    95%
    474 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    97%
    Condition of facilities
    96%
    Efficiency of service
    97%
    Friendliness of staff
    98%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    93%
    Safety & security
    94%
    Value for money
    93%