Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1964 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Getting there is a bit difficult, but everything else is really good for the price. Comfortable bed, safe environment. Just remember to bring a lock
100.0%
Matt R 16/10/2017
This is a basic and very inexpensive way to stay when visiting Newcastle. However, there are many stairs in the building so it is not suitable for the handicapped or anyone in a wheeelchair. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
100.0%
Avril S 16/10/2017
Really nice, top-notch hostel. Great facilities, huge common room, and lots of places to hang out in. My dorm room was huge and had an ensuite, though the room gets extremely humid after people shower. Most people were long termers so not much of an atmosphere.
80.0%
Tammy Y 14/10/2017
Wonderful hostel, very clean, big rooms. I arrived after checkin and there was someone at reception ready to greet me. It has the luxury of a hotel and the friendliness of a hostel.
100.0%
Zoe R 12/10/2017
I have stayed there many times. It's always thoroughly enjoyable.
100.0%
Isa S 05/10/2017
Excellent. Staff first rate, location terrific.
100.0%
Christopher L 30/09/2017
The location was perfect! The bathrooms were super clean and the room was great. Could not ask for anything more in a hostel.
100.0%
Brittany D 24/09/2017
Beautiful and friendly staff, great atmosphere, very clean rooms, toilets and property, short walks to many cafes and pubs. Loads of information about the surrounding area located inside. Will be staying there again for sure
100.0%
Amber O 24/09/2017
In a great location
80.0%
Norina S 23/09/2017
Very good hostel.
100.0%
Marie G 23/09/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

94.0%
customer rating, based on 1964 reviews
Cleanliness
93.0%
Condition of facilities
93.0%
Efficiency of service
94.0%
Friendliness of staff
96.0%
Location
97.0%
Overall atmosphere
93.0%
Safety & Security
96.0%
Value for Money
90.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL