Port Stephens YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Port Stephens YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (353 guests have reviewed this hostel)
probably the best place I've been to so far, I think that the fact that it was a bit out from the city really made it all better, brought us closer and the surrounding was beautiful!
95%
Ella C 22/03/2019
This hostel is in a beautiful forest setting, great for those who love the outdoors. The staff were extremely friendly and everything was very clean. Overall it was a really friendly and social place. I’d recommend it!
92%
Lisa 11/03/2019
open atmosphere, relaxing ambiente
100%
Nadine K 15/02/2019
Completely different from the photo shown on website or app
58%
Wai Wing C 15/02/2019
The location, almost hidden in a rainforest
85%
Biagio S 11/02/2019
I really enjoyed my stay here, the hostel felt more like a retreat and was a great place to relax and unwind. The hostel has no shops within walking distance around it so if you are arriving late and don’t have a car make sure you bring enough food for that evening.
80%
Harriet Elizabeth S 11/02/2019
nice tropical jungle setting, a little close to the main road, so some traffic noise. Short drive to Anna Bay, super helpful staff with great travel tips. friendly resident dog
92%
09/12/2018
Great hostal, super-helpful staff, remote location, some lockers in rooms would be great!
78%
Jonathan H 05/12/2018
It was a great stay, loved the atmosphere
92%
Jasmine T 27/11/2018
A beautiful place to stay! Clean, friendly and alternative. While it is very convenient with a bus stop next door, you have the sensation of being miles from anywhere.
98%
Adrian S 02/11/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
97%
Location
82%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
84%
Value for Money
88%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL