Port Stephens YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Port Stephens YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (343 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great hostal, super-helpful staff, remote location, some lockers in rooms would be great!
78%
Jonathan H 05/12/2018
It was a great stay, loved the atmosphere
92%
Jasmine T 27/11/2018
A beautiful place to stay! Clean, friendly and alternative. While it is very convenient with a bus stop next door, you have the sensation of being miles from anywhere.
98%
Adrian S 02/11/2018
Lovely setting,nice open kitchen.Possums put on free entertainment,especially on the bunkhouse roof at night.Wandering Chicken give nice eggs.Good local bus drivers help you to get their.
100%
Philip B 22/10/2018
After a morning at the local gorgeous beaches return to the cool rainforest environment of this hostel - a touch of Asia with an abundance of Australian wildlife. Feed a kookaburra, delight in the multitude of possums, spot a tiny sugar glider.
95%
Mel H 09/10/2018
Great atmosphere. Lovely place in the forest. Really nice staff. Super relaxing if you want that. Also, lots of things to do in the area - horseriding, clayshooting, sand dune surfing, wading with rays and sharks, go karting, and much more. Should have stayed a long weekend at least.
98%
Ellen S 01/08/2018
Staff was awesome. There was another guest that was being highly inappropriate. When I informed them about this, they asked him to leave straight away. The facilities (pool table, campfires, swimming pool, kitchen) were cool. Bathrooms were clean.
82%
Dana W 08/05/2018
Nice bushland surrounds, nice cabins and kitchen area, and a pool, but it is slightly remote from the beach and the city (Nelson Bay) so you need a car, especially at night.
90%
Graeme F 21/04/2018
Très bel hostel, très bien tenu dans un joli jardin. Belle piscine et accueil parfait. Espace cuisine ouvert et convivial, bien équipé. Douche et WC impeccable. Je recommande d’avoir son véhicule cependant, parking gratuit, pour plus d’indépendant pour visiter le coin car un peu isolé. Mais sans nul doute l’endroit où je séjournerais lorsque je reviendrai ici:-)
90%
Annelyse B 14/04/2018
I loved how secluded the cabins felt. It's not a typical youth hostel because of the Bush land. Loved the outdoor kitchen and chickens that roamed free.
90%
Christie S 28/03/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
95%
Friendliness of staff
98%
Location
85%
Overall atmosphere
93%
Safety & Security
85%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL