Batemans Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Batemans Bay YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (350 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Unlike most YHAs, this one is not particularly central. However it has character! Plus decent toilets/showers/kitchen.. and free tea and coffee! and a selection of DVDs!
80%
Julia H 23/02/2019
The worst. Mixed up my booking. Wrong dates. Wrong area. They thought I booked a caravan not hostel. Bathrooms weren’t cleaned while I stayed, as same mess was there over three days. Sheets only provided when we asked. Rooms were stuffy and common area smelt. Sorry not much positive to say here.. :/
28%
Sarah 11/01/2019
Have stayed there twice before ; facilities ,value for money & service very good. Everything we required was available. Would stay there again & recommend!!!
100%
Mark M 11/01/2019
The hostel and staff were wonderful, we arrived late and when we rang to explain it was no issue and everything was ready for us on arrival. We had an issue with our motorbike which I mentioned at reception, the chap then came to find us later and check how everything was going and check we had everything we needed to fix the bike. He went out of his way to help and was really kind and helpful. I would love to come to this place again very relaxing! Caravan was clean and well equipped.
98%
Stephanie R 30/12/2018
I was the only one staying in the hostel. It was great and very important to have a hostel at this point of the road from Sydney to Melbourne
90%
Lior W 02/12/2018
I don't really think that this can be considered as a YHA. Its more like a camping. The room was either too hot or too cold, we couldn't get access to the wifi in the room, the camping is not close to the city center and there were no activites organised for young people. The cleanliness was also not top. Wouldn't recommend it.
48%
Anouk B 01/12/2018
Few issues overweighed the otherwise pleasant experience. Wi-fi didn't work and the room was freezing with only one small and loud heater to help. Staff was super nice and I liked the look and atmosphere of the place. Short walk from the town.
70%
Akseli K 14/10/2018
The hostel and the location have nothing to recommend them. Hostel was shabby and very basic. Also, it is a challenge to get to for people who don't have a car due to hilly terrain and distance from the bus stop. There is no courtesy bus.
50%
Heather M 11/10/2018
Functional Spartan facilities. Poorly insulated caravans but several blankets provided. Attentive staff, good food recommendations. Would stay again.
85%
Andrew T 17/09/2018
Very nice hostel in a caravan park. Shame I was the only one there, haha!
98%
Tom E 05/08/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

72%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
72%
Condition of facilities
63%
Efficiency of service
78%
Friendliness of staff
84%
Location
71%
Overall atmosphere
68%
Safety & Security
73%
Value for Money
69%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL