Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2027 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Room was tiny and stuffy. Couldn’t move once our bags were in there. Standard WiFi is very slow so you have to pay for the premium WiFi. Showers were rarely cleaned and smelled. We found a huge huntsman spider in our room. So called activities didn’t exist so overall very unhappy with our stay here. Great location though
58%
Dominic M 13/12/2018
This hostel was brilliant! Everyone was really friendly and welcoming which was nice as a solo backpacker. The rooftop is great and has excellent views over Tamarama beach. I would highly recommend.
88%
Jasmine C 11/12/2018
Multiple different staff members I talked to at reception were rude and frustrating. Acted like they would rather be anywhere else than working there. Facilities were abysmal. Most of the toilets didn’t flush and the showers only had freezing cold or burning hot water. Don’t expect to get sleep if you stay here. The outdoor courtyard was loud until 2 in the morning and they did not regulate the common areas. Felt like i was staying in a fraternity house rather than a hostel. Will not recommend.
52%
Liza B 08/12/2018
Clean place. Great view from the roodtop. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Bed was comfy. Floor boards creaky.
85%
Aaron H 06/12/2018
Very friendly & helpful staff. Middle courtyard allowing smoking 😄. Easy going vibe, friendly tourists too. Very close to Tamarama beach & Bondi beach.
90%
Richard S 03/12/2018
Loved this hostel, everyone here was so friendly and welcoming! I would definitely stay here again. Great location, short walk to Bondi Beach and Tamarara Beach. Staff were helpful too.
95%
Lisa S 03/12/2018
Bunk bed(s) are never good, especially in private room. The room situation just opposite to showers and toilets was not good because of noise. The shower in private room was good. Free wifi should be everywhere in the hostel.
70%
Pasi M 01/12/2018
Great
85%
Felipe Jose A 28/11/2018
loved location
70%
Natalie D 26/11/2018
Broken bathroom ( 1 out of 2 available at ground floor), never that clean, shower that is never at the temperature you need, or it is freezing or boiling. Free wifi it’s just ridiculous, it’s like not having it and the premium one is not worth it for the price. It’s located in a nice area even though the building is just old and needs to be refreshed, only 2 electricity ports in a 4 bed room are just not enough. For the price it should be way better.
58%
Nicola B 25/11/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

77%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
70%
Condition of facilities
68%
Efficiency of service
76%
Friendliness of staff
80%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
77%
Safety & Security
82%
Value for Money
75%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL