Search YHA

Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1262 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Safe, quiet enough for all ages and families. Great staff - in particular JP from the UK.
    98%
    Elizabeth N February 2016
    The first YHA that was in a poor condition. The restrooms are dirty, the kitchen as well. I was there for 9 days and the room haven't been cleaned once. The best thing is the top deck and the location of the hostel.
    55%
    Jennifer L February 2016
    Was a great hostel overall- clean bathrooms, clean rooms, good kitchen. However, there wasn't always hot water in the showers. Location was about a 5-10 min walk to Bondi beach cafes and restaurants and to the beach. Would stay here again!
    85%
    Emily L February 2016
    The hostel has a small cleaning staff only in the morning. Once the hostel doesn't worry about it, most guests feel absolutely comfortable to be filthy, really thoughless once they're sharing room and kitchen with others. Therefore, when you get there to take a shower, the toilet is really nasty. There is no way to really use the kitchen, because it's gross. There is never a clean cloth available and they don't offer paper towels as an option. Some guests brush their teeth in the sink... Some halls are stinky. Fans in the room had a thick layer of dust. The hostel doesn't keep staff 24 hours...
    52%
    Simone G February 2016
    I've travelled and stayed in hostels all over the world, this one is really good in comparison. Close to the beach, clean and a good relaxed vibe. :)
    92%
    Daniel B February 2016
    overall the hostel wasn't bad. I enjoyed the roof/deck but it wasn't always open and the kitchen didn't open till 8.. Staff was nice and I enjoyed the 4 person to a room
    65%
    Josie E February 2016
    Great location good price
    88%
    marguerite r January 2016
    This hotel was not as bad as other cheaper hostels, but I stayed in a few yha across australia and they usually have a certain standard. This is definitely the least quality yha hostel that I have stayed in so far
    60%
    Gonzalo L January 2016
    Had room 215 with windows facing into central courtyard which is a designated smoking area! Felt like I was smoking too! As a non smoker it was horrible having to breathe this smoke filled air !
    82%
    Josephine A January 2016
    Very friendly and helpful staff the two days we were there. do not be fooled by the photos as they make the place look better than it actually is. (don't know why they have the picture of those pools...pretty sure they belong to another hotel) it is clean and tidy although a few things need fixing up around the place. cost was $90AUD for two of us per night and that got us a room with a semi comfortable bed and a budget fan that didn't do much to cool us down although it helped and was better than nothing.Use of their facilities, the showers have very good pressure although they do not supply any soap. not a biggie i guess. i would recommend this place to someone but would tell them they don't actually have a pool their.........
    75%
    Russell S January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    73%
    1262 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    60%
    Condition of facilities
    62%
    Efficiency of service
    74%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    72%
    Safety & security
    75%
    Value for money
    69%