Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1698 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Easy to get to and find with road signs and regular buses. Slight walk up hill to get to but good location overall. Good communal area and facilities. Only one bathroom on level 2 but other toilets available not and inconvenience by any means. Laundry facilities and good wifi. Lots of information, offers and deals advertised in reception.
    85%
    Leanne P April 2017
    The best one in Bondi beach
    98%
    renata s April 2017
    Had a bit of an issue one night but the front desk crew took care of it immediately and were awesome. Our room smelled disgusting, but other than that, the place was great and we'd stay again.
    80%
    Todd M April 2017
    Over all the stay was really good, the bathrooms just were not very clean. The view from the upstairs deck was incredible and they offered a barbecue one of the nights which allowed you to meet new people, it was a great idea!
    88%
    Bailey C April 2017
    Très bon rapport qualité:prix; J'ai eu la chance, car j'avais demandé une chambre individuelle, d'avoir la 309 que je recommande! Une chambre avec double orientation sur les plages. Une bonne ambiance dans la salle commune, pas trop bruyante. Très sympa! Une cuisine grande et fonctionnelle où chacun officie tranquillement. Du thé, café et sucre gratuits dans la cuisine! Une grande gentillesse de la part des personnes derrière le desk.
    95%
    Marilyn D April 2017
    Clean rooms, very comfortable bed. Only let down was the toilets. One male and one female to share between the whole floor. Constantly busy, especially in the mornings.
    95%
    Laura O April 2017
    Great location. Super friendly and helpful staff. Older facilities, but everything is clean. Wifi was a bit funny, but can pay for extra wifi which is great. Would highly recommend!
    90%
    Lisa S April 2017
    The hostel is very run down, it needs some touching up done. There is only one bathroom/ shower per gender for the entire floor. Their condition is very poor, it seemed like they cleaned them maybe 1 a week 😔 Kitchen is small and there is a not a lot of fridge space. Rooms were fine but small. Staff seems alright. I wouldn't stay here again even though the location is great. Wouldn't recommend it.
    48%
    Julie B April 2017
    I have stayed at a lot of YHA, including some from overseas. This one has loads of potential but seriously needs an upgrade. The bathroom facilities were unventilated, smelly and dirty. There were not enough sinks in the bathrooms. They really needed a good scrub and some bleach. The kitchen facilities were also lacking. A lot of the carpet, especially on the stairs was thread bare. The room itself was adequate, with a comfortable bed, and had a fabulous view. The bus stop was close by and the hostel is very convenient.
    72%
    Jennifer F April 2017
    I would recommend but would advise it's not the best.
    58%
    Patrizia L April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    76%
    76%
    customer rating, based on 1698 reviews
    Cleanliness
    65%
    Condition of facilities
    64%
    Efficiency of service
    79%
    Friendliness of staff
    80%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    75%
    Safety & Security
    80%
    Value for Money
    78%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!