Search YHA

Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1393 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staff are local Australians and are friendly and knowledgable. Bondi is a beautiful place to stay and beats the City hands down with the beach and coastal cliff walks on the door step and fishing. Buses every 10 minutes to the City centre which is 30 minutes only.
    98%
    Stuart v J July 2016
    Hello, if you are planning to go to Sydney and you want to stay in Bondi beach this is a very nice place to stay!
    82%
    Sergio Meana M July 2016
    I think the facilities are poor for what should be a premium hostel. Only 2 showers and toilets for a whole floor of bedrooms seems ridiculous, I'm just glad I wasn't staying in peak season. The rooms weren't cleaned properly between guests, and I think the whole place had a tired feel. There didn't seem to be any pride taken in the place. Considering you pay a premium for a YHA establishment, I know that better hostels can be found elsewhere in Sydney in the same price bracket.
    62%
    Judith G July 2016
    Always happy to stay at the Beachouse!
    100%
    Bridget M June 2016
    For the money doesn't worth, when I arrived the receptionist went to do some other stuff making me wait so long. Then he gave the keys without indications (check out time.. That have to paid for cutlery that other guest told me.. where is my room, etc) Then next morning I asked in the reception what can I do today (would suggest on my visit to Sydney) and he saw the weather and said "you can watch a movie".. Seriously? Really bad stay and this YHA.. So move to another hostel.
    52%
    Alejandra H June 2016
    It's a pretty cool budget stay for a couple of nights to explore the beautiful beach and get around Bondi.
    75%
    MINDY C June 2016
    Staff was very friendly, kitchen was clean and well stocked, location was very close to the beach. Would stay again!
    90%
    Jessica B June 2016
    Whilst the view was the best factor for this YHA, the facilities, the service and comfort was poor. The staff at the reception was friendly and efficient. The man in charge was not good enough. There was one night when it was cold and there were no heaters in the whole of the YHA. When asked why he said "what do you expect, you a paying a low rate." The kitchen was to be made avaiable till 12pm daily. One night I wanted to get some water. The kitchen was closed. When I asked the male staff in charge he said 'the kitchen is closed and to take the water from any bathroom." The batrooms were not clean and I am not sure if the water is drinkable. After 10minutes he came and said he will open the staff kitchen for me to take water. There was only one light per room. There were no individual lights per bunk bed. This made it difficult when one came in late at night. The whole building looks very dated and it is time that something is done about the general appearance. Also in order for one to use the kitchen utensil one had to pay a deposit of $5 for a bag containing a plate, one mug and fork, knife and spoon.I felt we were treated worse than a school kid. It felt very humilating to be treated this way. It is time the YHA did something about this hostel. Many others were complaining as well. We took it as we did not have to stay long in Sydney.
    58%
    Hari N June 2016
    Good location. 5 min to the beach. Near bus stop to the city. Nice neighborhood area. No electric socket for each bed. I had to use one at the corner of the room, and there're only 2 sockets for 4 people in 4-bed room. Not enough and not convenient at all. Few lights in dinning room worked properly. Not sure if it's an energy saving policy. Staying dark every time I ate there. Two shower rooms. And one of them has no lock. Every facilities close too early, or open too late. Laundry room close at 9 pm. Kitchen open at 8 am.
    60%
    KANISORN N June 2016
    I enjoyed my monthly stay in the hostel because of the people who I met. The facilities aren't that well, cold water downstairs in the bathroom, living room only contains chairs and one couch. The kitchen is very small. In my opinion they could have organised some more activities for the guest. The hostel is quite clean and has a good location.
    62%
    Iris O June 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    80%
    1393 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    75%
    Condition of facilities
    70%
    Efficiency of service
    80%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    78%