Search YHA

Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1465 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nanim Q October 2016
    Good hostel, but fairly basic. Kitchen not really big enough for the amount of people there. My room key card stopped working twice, once at 7:45am so I was locked out of my room with nothing until reception opened at 8am! Wifi terrible and only available in communal areas. Otherwise have to pay for 'premium' wifi. Mostly surprised by the disrespect shown by other guests - shouting loudly in the corridors throughout the night and early morning, shaving/make up in the bathroom sinks and not cleaning up after themselves, not doing dishes in the kitchen to the point there are no pans left for cooking, smoking pot on the roof terrace at 7:45am!! Surprised YHA are not more strict on these things and reinforce cleanliness and quiet time rules.
    Rachel W October 2016
    Great friendly hostel, balcony is amazing! Make sure you take out the free body board and flippers. BBQ night is a must Best hostel in the bondi area (trust me we tried them all on bondi beach)
    Matt m October 2016
    Staff was really friendly and helpful. Location is good, with the view from the terrace being amazing. In general very clean in regards to rooms, bathrooms and showers.
    Oscar J October 2016
    I only stayed two days but was very good. cleanliness of the hotel is very good, both bathrooms and kitchen, bedroom and living room. and the atmosphere and the friendliness of all people is very very good. fully recommended
    Sonia E October 2016
    good people and easy stay. Nice all round ;->
    Salazar K October 2016
    Smallest room I've ever stayed. You have to pay for the locker room. Cold shower downstairs. The second day I took a shower in other floor and was good
    Laura S October 2016
    Great location and nice people. The friday BBQ for 5 $ is perfect. The kitchen could be larger and the internet faster but overall a cool place to stay.
    Christian T October 2016
    Kitchen is far tooooo small with only 1 sink. I wasn't able to cook dinner because of this. Went to bed hungry. Free wifi doesn't work at all. Had to use my 4G data plan for my laptop. They expect a deposit for basic dishes and cutlery(???) where nowhere else does this. I don't expect too much in a backpacker either.
    John M October 2016
    Great location, friendly staff, reasonably priced & bus routes are less than a 5 minute walk. Word of advice: if you're looking to score free parking on the limited streets that allow it near the hostel, your best bet is to go rock up late at night/very early hours of the morning (it is Bondi after all, and is ALWAYS busy!)
    Keisha S October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1465 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money