Search YHA

Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1507 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great location but wouldn't hurt to invest some money into it. No nice communal area to sit and enjoy.
    65%
    Dagmar S November 2016
    Good hostel but nothing special. Pretty huge with a maximum of people, lack of atmosphere, wifi is shitty even the premium!
    65%
    Laura November 2016
    I had a nice time at Bondi Beachouse. The 4 bed room was nice, maybe a bit small. The bathroom could have been cleaner, but it was ok in general. Also a bit too small as there are only two showers and two toilets for 1 floor. The room floor could have been cleaner as we were four girls in one room who all lost plenty of hair. Wouldn't even take 3 minutes to wipe the floor every morning. The hostel itself had a nice atmosphere. Nice people hanging around in the common room and kitchen.
    90%
    Carina P November 2016
    This hostel has a really cool and welcoming vibe unlike some more 'clicky' & 'traveller run' hostels I've stayed at. Must also mention the friendly staff at reception who offered me good advice about where to go & different options for getting to the airport. I ended up getting the shuttle bus which was a success & hassle free. Location is excellent if you want to have option of beach close by & also close enough to the city. My only regret is that I didn't find this place earlier. If I come back here I would definitely stay here again. It's also clean and the room I stayed in had extra sockets. Really impressed, thank you!
    100%
    Amy H November 2016
    Perfectly located between bondi beach and other beaches along the coastal walk . Amazing views from the rooftop terrace
    80%
    Siobhan D November 2016
    Being a solo, female backpacker I wasn't really sure what to expect in this Hostel. I was pleasantly surprised to find the whole place filled with kids around my age, 18-25. It was very clean, beds pretty comfortable, staff so helpful, AMAZING placement, about a 10 minute walk to the beach along the gorgeous ocean facing boardwalk. My roommates were pleasant and respectful, and overall a really awesome experience.
    98%
    Michelle C November 2016
    I think it was a gross place, cockroaches really? In my room I have seen 2 and even in the common room. Kitchen too small to use and it was just not a great hostel.
    52%
    Haley v November 2016
    No hot water in The showers down-stairs for safety awful our beers were being stolen. They never clean the rooms you have to ask for it. The kitchen is extremely small and the staff kitchen is alsmost as big as the normal kitchen But couldn't be uses by guests and the staff would get extremely mad when you would even take a peek in there. So in other words a dump hostel
    52%
    Jan K November 2016
    Probably the worse place in general and worse among any other YHA I have stayed in. We found cockroach in our room, which was nothing unusual considering poor cleaning and filthy condition. I was not expecting as good as YHA Blue Mountain but the place is definitely worse.
    52%
    Pankaj Y November 2016
    Overall nice place to stay. Only complaint was that there was a loud party my first night that went late.
    100%
    Orino N November 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    77%
    1507 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    67%
    Condition of facilities
    67%
    Efficiency of service
    76%
    Friendliness of staff
    80%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    77%
    Safety & Security
    78%
    Value for Money
    74%