Search YHA

Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1436 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We needed to be near Bondi for a wedding and the family /twin accommodation offerings were just fantastic value for money. We all enjoyed our time at the hostel and the surrounding area. The staff were great. The only negative is parking. It can be tricky at times.
    100%
    Lyn September 2016
    The room smells like cheesy feet. The showers are dirty and a strange lay out, pretty much unisex. The tap has no pressure to clean you're teeth . The bed sheets in a private room had stains all over them, we slept fully clothed with a towel over our pillow. The kitchen was always filthy so we had to eat out. Only good thing going for this place is the roof view and the location. We have stayed in a few YHA hostels and they have been good, this was the worse one I have been in.
    62%
    Laura l September 2016
    I stayed here with my Mum over the weekend, in an en suite room. It was very clean and the bed were very comfy! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - terrific location!
    98%
    AnnLouise B September 2016
    Helpful staff
    82%
    Annie B September 2016
    very good and satisfied
    88%
    mohdrushdan M September 2016
    We booked a private room and the bed sheets were not clean (found hairs and sticky stains). Cutlery was supposed to be provided at reception, I requested 2 forks, and they didn't even have one! Instead I got a sticky, dirty spoon. Really disgusting!
    55%
    Mónica R September 2016
    The hostel is too old, it needs a modernization. The bathrooms are terrible, and the carpet is terrible.
    70%
    Rafaela T September 2016
    I would recommend this hostel in spring and summer and autumn but it's very cold to stay here in winter as there is no heating. Bedding is inadequate for a place with no heating and when I arrived at the start of July I had to sleep fully clothed in bed. The staff here are very helpful and friendly.
    88%
    Stuart J September 2016
    Quite basic and very few organised events during this time to help solo travellers socialise.
    68%
    James S September 2016
    Was very outdated and old interior! We stayed in a twin share room. Extremely quiet which is good. The room was really cold (no heating in the room) made it hard to relax.
    60%
    Kate M August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    1436 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    76%
    Condition of facilities
    71%
    Efficiency of service
    83%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & Security
    87%
    Value for Money
    80%