Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (1002 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I stayed in this place because it was the nearest place to where I was going to do my internship. Even though Collaroy beach is not my cup of tea, I had a wonderful experience in this hostel, and would recommend this place to friends and world travellers. Great atmosphere with lots of of nice and good looking people.
90%
Edson B 05/12/2018
The friendlines staff in The world😉
92%
Jaimy v 03/12/2018
I think what this hostel really need is a repair of the pretty broken down facilities such as the broken cabinets in the room. A new coat of paint would make the whole place fresh, somewhat.
55%
Si Min G 30/11/2018
I was attending a conference at the Collaroy Centre and was unable to get a room to myself there. I thought the location of the YHA was perfect as I could walk back quite late at night after the last talk. In my twenties I travelled all over Europe staying in youth hostels and so always feel at home in any YHA
100%
Ann H 30/11/2018
Big common areas, bright courtyard. Lots of restaurants and shops around, and just a short walk (one block) to the beach.
75%
Caitlin B 29/11/2018
Average ratings for Eco-friendly and Speed of Wi-Fi are not average, just chose them because no N/A not applicable options (didn't use Wi-Fi, don't have enough information to comment on Eco-friendliness).
90%
Shan W 28/11/2018
One keycard issued from the outset didn't work. Another stopped working after the first day. Rooms need more powerpoints and powerboards. Would have like clearer and more visible plus just more evacuation noticed in case of fire. Didn't use wi-fi. Would like to know what eco-friendly measures were used. I'm sure they're there. Just don't know what they were.
82%
Shan W 16/11/2018
Most of my disconfort came from the noisy guests at the dining room, making a racket, which led a few talking loudly on long phone calls downstairs, close to rooms. One of them was sitting on the floor right in front of my door on the phone. Also there'd be dirty tables, counter tops, dirty dishes in the sink, dirty pans on stove and people would move your belongings around without asking. Hostel staff would do nothing to control the situation. Once they were even cleaning at 5am, with tunes on.
65%
Fabio G 27/10/2018
Great coffee and shop and bakery around the corner!
80%
Diana L 09/10/2018
Friendly, efficient staff and a great location near the beach. Facilities are clean and good. Recommend to those looking for a beachside stay.
92%
Jann M 30/08/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

82%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
80%
Condition of facilities
76%
Efficiency of service
84%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
87%
Overall atmosphere
81%
Safety & Security
81%
Value for Money
78%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL