Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (982 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Friendly, efficient staff and a great location near the beach. Facilities are clean and good. Recommend to those looking for a beachside stay.
92%
Jann M 30/08/2018
Staff very helpful
100%
Leo F 26/08/2018
Excellent location, a stones throw from the beach where a pod of dolphins swam for most of the morning, just brilliant. Lovely staff that even checked us in outside reception hours.
95%
David S 15/08/2018
This hostel has seen better days. 4-share room was so small people had to leave to change. One storage locker had a broken door and no shelf so was unusable. No key lock on the women’s shower room and door did not close properly. Door lock on the room did not work properly so the door was very hard to open. No staff at desk for 2 hours from noon to 2 so luggage room was unlocked and insecure. Hall was full of work boots and the odor was palpable the minute you stepped off the elevator.
70%
Cheryl Jean W 13/08/2018
Was a great stay, the only thing i could recommend is to offer lock hiring for the lockers in the rooms. i came in and had to go and buy one for my week stay, where it would have been better to have a bond system in place where you pay ace amount to use it for your stay, then get your money back when returned.
88%
Britney H 30/07/2018
The linen is very clean and crisp. Cleaning happens very discretely early in the morning. It was warm which is good as it was freezing outside. After hours card worked without fail.
100%
Laurence L 16/07/2018
I had a lot of fun and I think the location is great nearby the beach and public transport. The staff is really friendly and helpfull.
90%
Anna G 12/07/2018
Being a returning native to the area (I used to live two streets up), I find this hostel well located for all the attractions that are in this region. It is safe, friendly and very close to major transport routes. Given that we were in the middle of winter, it was quiet but welcoming. There is a secure carpark with limited spaces within the grounds of the hostel and also a free car park next door which is open to the general public and open all hours.
88%
Mark H 05/07/2018
It was a great stay. I would defineatley stay there again,
98%
Julie W 04/07/2018
We always get a warm welcome when we stay here (which we have been doing on a fairly regular basis for at least 10 years). The staff are always helpful in a multiplicity of areas for the well-being of all guests including multilingual skills when required. Always cheerful.
100%
Lesley C 19/06/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

82%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
80%
Condition of facilities
75%
Efficiency of service
83%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
82%
Value for Money
78%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL