Search YHA

Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (603 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Half of the guests consists of dutch partypeople. Plates and cutlery only per deposit at reception. Kitchen is very dirty and closes from 10 pm to 6 am. Only 2 minutes from the beach, free surfboard rental.
    Simon H September 2015
    The staff were great, super helpful and friendly - especially Lisa who really helped us on our first day. Unfortunately the hostel wasn't very clean. The common room and kitchen were very dirty and there were cobwebs all over the room. The location is good, right on the beach, would be great in summer with nice weather. Overall, we've definitely stayed in better hostels and it was quite expensive for what it was.
    Katie N September 2015
    Its would be a good hostel only for people who comes from the Netherlands.
    Axelles P September 2015
    We were after a shower and comfortable bed after a day of walking. Our expectation were met.
    Tracy C September 2015
    Awesome hostel! Great location and super friendly helpful staff. Just like bondi beach without the crowds and only a minutes walk to the beach. Great stay!
    Kylie M August 2015
    Great place, Friendly and inviting with great facilities.
    Todd B August 2015
    This hostel could greatly improve if someone policed the keeping clean of pots, pans, kitchen and dining room. I felt it was just too dirty to attempt any cooking. Also because it has a lot of people there who are there for longer they do not mix with new people.
    Miranda B August 2015
    Absolutely primo location with spacious facilities, great extras- bike hire, free body board hire- and the organised event each evening was a cool thing for me as a solo traveller. Nice friendly and helpful staff too. Would come back in a flash.
    Clayton M August 2015
    what a great place to stay in sydney
    Wayne N August 2015
    The staff were very accomodating of my food delivery requests and were very helpful. Cheers
    Nick M July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    603 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money