Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (837 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I think that the YHA needs some serious repairs: eg the last room I slept in room 307 the door handle needs to be replaced, the door is very tricky to open from the inside and my key card had to be re scanned and/or replaced twice over the 24 hour period. Moreover, the hand dryers didn't work in the toilets and there were dripping taps throughout the hostel. Plus the communal dinning and pool side area needs some more control re cleanliness as people left filth and cigarette butts everywhere. Plus the kitchen needs more cooking pots and pans.
    75%
    Michaela L April 2017
    I'm 36 and stayed 3 nights with my mum in a private twin room. The hostel is great with it's location and helpful staff but the constant noise just means it's impossible to get a good sleep. I even went back to the hostel after lunch one day hoping it would be quieter through the day and I could get a few hours sleep but it was just as noisy through the day unfortunately. I guess it would be great for a 20-something looking to party everyday and night but I was there specifically for the cheap accommodation, not to make new friends and stay up all night partying. There were also a heap of young kids aged around 12 and under.... they were running around the entire hostel until late at night aswell. It looked like they were having a great time which is lovely for them but again it meant a lot of noise for those who wanted to sleep after driving for 11 hours (Or who needs sleep ahead of another 11 hour drive) It's only due to not being able to get descent sleep that I'll never stay there again. Apart from that it was a good place to stay. Walk to the beach, restaurants and shops, private car park at the back (although not many spots but I was lucky enough to get a spot each night I was there). If you're a heavy sleeper and can sleep through the shouting and laughter outside your room, or you like the party atmosphere then this is a great option. If you are like me and find it hard to sleep through the noise, you may not like it so much....
    85%
    Danielle M April 2017
    We weren't really told anything about the hostel when we checked in (like, how to find our room). Floor of the room was covered in sand. Everyone else on the floor had their doors propped open and shoes / surfboards in the corridor (fire hazard, surely). There was constant noise until about 2.30am, the communal areas were pokey and unfriendly (though the bathrooms were nice & clean). Just not a very welcoming place and we couldn't wait to check out.
    55%
    Liz P April 2017
    We were greeted by someone less than friendly, the room smelt like old dirty socks and whatever you do don't look at the doonas inside the cover. 1 single bed was remade not freshly changed. It'd do if you were backpacking for a night but not for someone who likes half decent accommodation.
    62%
    Vern D April 2017
    We found the first floor carpet unclean and the womens bathroom old and unattractive. The room smelt musty. However our friends stayed on the ground floor and had a much better experience. They had aircon and reported a clean newish bathroom! The car park could do with a cleanup also . There were old mattresses,pallets etc piled up making it difficult to park. It's a shame because it is a great location!
    75%
    Debora K March 2017
    Very average hostel with good enough facilities but nothing special!
    62%
    Hannah L March 2017
    The building is a bit run down. Corridors are smelly. Time for a good clean, especially the carpets. Location is great, value for money is reasonable. I would stay again, but would not rush back.
    72%
    Allen B March 2017
    Stayed here for a night on way in to Sydney after staying in many hostels over preceding 2 weeks. This was the worst hostel so far.......a crockery/utensils pack must be obtained from reception for a $20 deposit as there is nothing in kitchen. No atmosphere in hostel but it's very close to bars/restaurants and the coffee shop next door is lovely and offers people staying at the hostel a 10% discount. Parking is a problem - hostel has space for a few cars only. I parked in car park on main road but had to be up before 7am to pay day time tariff. Receptionist wasn't particularly friendly or welcoming and we were very glad to move on the next day.
    68%
    Joy T March 2017
    i enjoyed staying there in a good location not far from the beach
    80%
    Shane H March 2017
    Adelaide Central YHA is way better. Hopefully Collaroy Beachouse YHA will one day too.
    75%
    Martin V February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    75%
    75%
    customer rating, based on 837 reviews
    Cleanliness
    69%
    Condition of facilities
    68%
    Efficiency of service
    76%
    Friendliness of staff
    81%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    72%
    Safety & Security
    76%
    Value for Money
    71%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!