Search YHA

Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (699 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I was safe and comfortable, but it seemed quiet after my stay at Bondi Beachhouse. The location makes it more suitable for people working in Sydney than for young travellers. Would happily recommend this YHA the staff are great
    90%
    Michael I May 2016
    Location is not everything
    52%
    Manuel G May 2016
    Coffee, beach and friendly people. You can get jobs if you need one, which is nice idea.
    92%
    Filippe May 2016
    The beach is so close! And it is warm in autumn! Very helpful staff too.
    95%
    Bon B May 2016
    Great location and staff, I always stay there in Sydney as its on the beach, away from the city, but with easy access to the city
    92%
    Brenton M May 2016
    First time hostelling with a toddler. The staff were great helping us get the room and portacot set up but the room and facilities are overpriced. The hostel is due a bit of redecoration but generally it's ok. The public transport links and access to shops, food, local ents are great!
    75%
    V L April 2016
    I found the room and amenities to be very clean and tidy.The staff very helpful and the position to food ,beach and social spots within walking distance very handy.I will stay there again and recommend this hostel to others.
    98%
    Lionel F April 2016
    Showers were a mess, with sand and rubbish all over the place. Room was clean and functional, if not bland. Didn't sleep well, as I had to choose between having the window open and being kept awake by outside noise, or closing the window and drowning in a pool of my own sweat. A $10 wall fan would alleviate this. I know it's meant to be cheap, but as an Aussie who has stayed in many hostels overseas, it seems our own do not meet the same standard. It was adequate. No more.
    80%
    Andrew S April 2016
    was woken up throughout the night by loud drunk people, decided to leave early and got refunded which was a positive.
    70%
    J H March 2016
    Best Hostel in the world
    100%
    Dennis M March 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    78%
    699 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    71%
    Condition of facilities
    67%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    74%
    Safety & security
    79%
    Value for money
    72%