Search YHA

Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (660 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staff very welcoming and helpful at checkin. Really appreciated the upgrade too.
    92%
    Rosemary O January 2016
    Very friendly staff. Had everything we needed for our one night stay. Great location. With a pool and free parking a huge bonus
    95%
    Georgina A January 2016
    Good Hostel if you're Dutch, otherwise I would go somewhere else
    65%
    Marcello V January 2016
    Very helpful in providing for a family
    100%
    Rosslyn R January 2016
    Nice staff and very helpful! I could borrow surfboards for free which was awesome! Just the overall customers staying in this hostel were really young, and it was not easy making contact with them as a solo traveler... But I didn't mind much...'cause the beach and the place is really nice! Thank's to the staff for being so friendly and helpful!
    88%
    Ly F January 2016
    I have stayed at quite a few YHAs and this was the worse of the lot. The room was kept in a filthy state and while that could be the other occupants fault the hostel shares responsibility because they allowed it to be kept in such as state. However more importantly my room was infested with bed bugs several of which I caught and showed to the front desk staff.
    60%
    Cory M January 2016
    A very pleasant stay.
    98%
    Alan G January 2016
    Cleanliness: marked downn not as a reflection on the cleaners, but on the residents. Early one morning i found some dark-haired fellow's complete beard clippings occupying two basins. Early another morning, all three basins in the gent's bathroom were full of shiraz-coloured vomit. I have also marked down security, because I lost my key card and had to request a replacement. This was done extremely quickly - so quickly, in fact, that there was not even an ID check to verify I was the occupant of room 314 - as I said I was.
    75%
    Jeremy L December 2015
    I found the location of the hostel to be excellent. It was minutes away from the beach and walking distance to nearby bars and restaurants in a quiet neighbourhood. There were certain things that I didn't like including, having to rent out a set of utensils and plates, the lounge area being untidy at times and the outlet being placed in an awkward area of the room. While I think YHA is a great company to stay with, I would not rate this location as one of the better hostels.
    65%
    Jazz December 2015
    Normally this hostel is a good place to stay. Maybe because of the season more and more young party people arrived, this is why the manager organized security on weekends. The kids vomited into the toilets and never kept the kitchen clean. They should buy new pans and it would be better if the kitchen has open till 11pm and not only 10pm. But normally it's a good place to be, near the beach :)
    62%
    Ann S December 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    660 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    75%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    87%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & security
    83%
    Value for money
    77%