Search YHA

Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (758 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Real like there, clean and good location.
    100%
    Jian K December 2016
    Room was ok, everything cost money.
    60%
    John Roger B November 2016
    Our family stayed and had a great time at Collaroy Beach and ate great food in the nearby area for all meals. A great spot.
    95%
    David B November 2016
    Finally a clean hostel in Sydney! Nice place
    85%
    Alessio Z November 2016
    Check in member of staff made us feel like we were a hinderence. We asked if we could have four towels - he sighed and bought us bath mats to use.... we pointed this out and he suggested this was okay!??! Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with 3 friends. Room was clean but VERY small and cramped. Windows did not open and a/c didn't cool the room down and we were all very hot. Other guests were particularly noisy, though the layout of the hostel means that even if people were having a quiet conversation you would probably hear every word. Smashed glass in the foyer from drunken other guests was not swept up by morning. Showers were hot and clean. Location is good and on street parking at weekend. Would not stay again as hot a loud nights sleep!
    65%
    Eleanor B November 2016
    Older hostel, a bit tired by friendly. I'm super surprised you can smoke cigarettes by the pool just outside the dining area, smoke wafts through the eating area... If you're asthmatic like me, go out for meals rather than eating in. Pub at the beach is superb!
    90%
    Christina R November 2016
    Location top, dorm not really clean (eg old wrappers and socks under bed). Toilets in good condition, showers could use some repairs. Big hostel with mainly long-term working guests. Single room: very spartanic - for this price I would have expected more. Eg a table, reading light, ... Glad the first room was not clean yet (kind of cell like) so I had to switch to another room. Staff super-friendly !
    72%
    Christina November 2016
    No music, no pool, no chill outside after 9pm
    60%
    Erik November 2016
    stayed in a comfortable double room with a balcony. Fabulous location. Friendly staff.
    88%
    Da S October 2016
    Basic accommodation but clean and equipped with utensils and crockery. Other guests were pretty loud late at night. Good location near the beach and cafes, shops.
    75%
    Melissa H October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    758 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    76%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    83%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & Security
    81%
    Value for Money
    77%