Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (894 guests have reviewed this hostel)
we stay once a month over the summer period and love the location and the facilities
88%
David E 12/12/2017
Nice clean hostel with friendly staff. The beach is soo close and so are other shops and restaurants. When I left they were putting up the christmas tree whilst singing, all is fun at Collaroy's Beachouse!
90%
Annemarie R 28/11/2017
Very hot and stuffy, chlostrophobic rooms and halls with no airflow. Nobody’s fault just building design.
72%
Fiona M 27/11/2017
I did not like the hostel, as it was dirty and filthy. Wouldn't neither reccomand or considering staying there ever again.
40%
Fab D 17/11/2017
unfriendly staff and the room was dirty and smelly - never paid that much for such a poor hostel
40%
Alex 13/11/2017
Super noisy, full of disrespectful people who kept making noises throughout the night. Very noise door closing too! We didn't sleep all night, would never come back or recommend it to anyone I like.
45%
Etorne S 12/11/2017
friendly staff a great place to stay
92%
Kenneth D 06/11/2017
Was impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms but the other guests were very noisy until after 11:30pm and again at 3:30am. We also had to wake up the night manager to open the kitchen in the morning
78%
Penny N 05/11/2017
For this hostel needs to have events on every day to keep it socialable especially being so far away from the city.
52%
Antony T 26/10/2017
This is an excellent and well-established hostel on the northern beaches of Sydney. The buses (L90, L88, E88,...) from Sydney CBD stop at the top of the road (Collaroy stop) making the hostel very accessible. The rooms and common areas were clean and tidy. You could tell the bathrooms and toilets were also cleaned regularly and kept in good working order with plenty of hot water in the showers. The staff were friendly and efficient. I would recommend this hostel for a better quality, friendly stay.
90%
Marcus Z 25/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

80%
customer rating, based on 894 reviews
Cleanliness
77%
Condition of facilities
72%
Efficiency of service
83%
Friendliness of staff
86%
Location
90%
Overall atmosphere
76%
Safety & Security
82%
Value for Money
73%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL