Search YHA

Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (786 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Ideally located, only 2 minutes from regular transport services to both the city and Manly, as well as up and down the peninsula, with the added attraction of Collaroy beach just across the road for surf and pool. Several family suites available as well as dormitory facilities, with a good kitchen and dining room area, as well as a nearby supermarket and other dining options available along the shopping precinct on the main road. Staff are willing to actively assist backpackers comply with work visa requirements and there is plenty of opportunity to improve language skills in this vibrant community
    100%
    Lesley C January 2017
    We booked 3 weeks in advance to share a room. We turn up and we're in different rooms. One of our rooms is actually full of people so we had to change rooms, and they found us a room together. Some of the bathroom locks didnt open. Front door was broken and didnt close. Bathrooms are ok. Bit gross that the duna doesnt get cleaned between people. Ive stayed in many hostels in many countries. Would have expected australian hostels to be better quality than this
    62%
    Sophie C January 2017
    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the Side Street cafe had an excellent breakfast.
    90%
    Bruce G January 2017
    Its a nice place too start youre trip through australia
    90%
    Johan A January 2017
    Staff were super friendly and accommodating beyond expectations. We had asked to rent a fan/if this was possible and the guy behind the reception desk sorted us out with the best fan he had at no extra charge (not something we had esperienced in other hostels before) close proximity to the beach, free parking, 24 hour access in and out. Clean, plentiful showers and toilets etc meaning that you don't have to wait in line and disrupt a late start to your day/plans. 100% would stay again and recommend to friends and family.
    100%
    Kaitlyn B January 2017
    The reception staff were friendly, very helpful, efficient and a pleasure to deal with.
    92%
    Bruce G January 2017
    It's alot cleaner and organized these days then it used to be. Good improvement!
    88%
    Joshua V January 2017
    Overall a good stay at this hostel. It's clean, friendly and helpful staff but our double room only had a window out towards the reception area which meant we couldn't open the window or the curtains.
    85%
    Siri T January 2017
    Verry friendly receptionist- we got a familyroom because there was not enough space to but all 4 of us in one dorm. You can get survboards for free and they have bikes to rent... we didn't use the pool because auf the weather- but they have one :D and the beach is around the corner... all in all - verry good.
    90%
    Nadja L January 2017
    This place is sadly an perfect example of how the staffs "I don't care"-attitude is making this hostel way worse than it could be. Facilities are good and the location is great but the service is just awful. I really hope that the managers/owners change their employment strategy and start employing people that are service minded.
    60%
    Oliver L December 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    786 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    76%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    81%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    77%