Search YHA

Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (807 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Location was good. It is just off the main road, which faces the beach. Booked Family Room for 5. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Security-wise, it was good. Found office open daytime, till about 7pm. Night Manager can only be contacted by phone; his room number would be more helpful. Lots of bicycles available for rental.
    78%
    BHOOPINDAR Singh S February 2017
    A lot of people stay long term in this hostel, so the rooms were pretty messy. Good surf beach though, but don't expect a lot from the surfboards of the hostel.
    55%
    Iris February 2017
    Great spot for the price.
    85%
    Oliver J February 2017
    My home away from home...
    95%
    Max January 2017
    Sydney beach hostel in collaroy was exceptionally located. The facility was in average modern condition. Staff were engaging and good with service although seemed over the mononity. Facilities even included a pool etc! Bedroom was very clean in terms of linen and towels. The one thing that turned me off was although they are now hitting the family market; you're still contending with alcoholic fights and drunken disorderly which is a turn off. 6/10
    80%
    Abraham S January 2017
    Very friendly staff and helpful, great facilities, location and outside facilities really great.
    100%
    Marian D January 2017
    Average YHA great for who want to go to the beach. Limited facilities around for food and groceries.
    65%
    F C January 2017
    Ideally located, only 2 minutes from regular transport services to both the city and Manly, as well as up and down the peninsula, with the added attraction of Collaroy beach just across the road for surf and pool. Several family suites available as well as dormitory facilities, with a good kitchen and dining room area, as well as a nearby supermarket and other dining options available along the shopping precinct on the main road. Staff are willing to actively assist backpackers comply with work visa requirements and there is plenty of opportunity to improve language skills in this vibrant community
    100%
    Lesley C January 2017
    We booked 3 weeks in advance to share a room. We turn up and we're in different rooms. One of our rooms is actually full of people so we had to change rooms, and they found us a room together. Some of the bathroom locks didnt open. Front door was broken and didnt close. Bathrooms are ok. Bit gross that the duna doesnt get cleaned between people. Ive stayed in many hostels in many countries. Would have expected australian hostels to be better quality than this
    62%
    Sophie C January 2017
    Excellent hostel for young ones. Only minutes from the beach and main bus routes. Staff (including the lady housekeepers) are wonderful!! First time Ive been home for 8 years.... Have stayed at hostel on and off since she was built!!! :-).
    85%
    Gail S January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    807 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    73%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    81%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & Security
    80%
    Value for Money
    75%