Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (823 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We found the first floor carpet unclean and the womens bathroom old and unattractive. The room smelt musty. However our friends stayed on the ground floor and had a much better experience. They had aircon and reported a clean newish bathroom! The car park could do with a cleanup also . There were old mattresses,pallets etc piled up making it difficult to park. It's a shame because it is a great location!
    75%
    Debora K March 2017
    Very average hostel with good enough facilities but nothing special!
    62%
    Hannah L March 2017
    The building is a bit run down. Corridors are smelly. Time for a good clean, especially the carpets. Location is great, value for money is reasonable. I would stay again, but would not rush back.
    72%
    Allen B March 2017
    Stayed here for a night on way in to Sydney after staying in many hostels over preceding 2 weeks. This was the worst hostel so far.......a crockery/utensils pack must be obtained from reception for a $20 deposit as there is nothing in kitchen. No atmosphere in hostel but it's very close to bars/restaurants and the coffee shop next door is lovely and offers people staying at the hostel a 10% discount. Parking is a problem - hostel has space for a few cars only. I parked in car park on main road but had to be up before 7am to pay day time tariff. Receptionist wasn't particularly friendly or welcoming and we were very glad to move on the next day.
    68%
    Joy T March 2017
    i enjoyed staying there in a good location not far from the beach
    80%
    Shane H March 2017
    Adelaide Central YHA is way better. Hopefully Collaroy Beachouse YHA will one day too.
    75%
    Martin V February 2017
    Dirty and smelly rooms, doors left open at random with rubbish bins.Long term residents with dirty clothes struin over the dorms.
    48%
    Michael P February 2017
    Just pick another hostel in Manly and take a bus to see Collaroy.
    40%
    Dylan S February 2017
    Location was good. It is just off the main road, which faces the beach. Booked Family Room for 5. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Security-wise, it was good. Found office open daytime, till about 7pm. Night Manager can only be contacted by phone; his room number would be more helpful. Lots of bicycles available for rental.
    78%
    BHOOPINDAR Singh S February 2017
    A lot of people stay long term in this hostel, so the rooms were pretty messy. Good surf beach though, but don't expect a lot from the surfboards of the hostel.
    55%
    Iris February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    78%
    78%
    823 customer rating, based on
    Cleanliness
    72%
    Condition of facilities
    71%
    Efficiency of service
    81%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    75%
    Safety & Security
    79%
    Value for Money
    74%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!