Search YHA

Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Collaroy Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (737 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel's wifi was so slow, it might've well have been non-existent. The dorms were very basic: lockers that were falling apart, good solid bunks, but no bedside lighting, and a shortage of plugs for all the electronic devices people need to charge. To stay there you must sign a blanco credit card form and pay a deposit for cutlery, crockery and a food storage box. The hostel appeared to be run on mistrust. And reception hours were unfriendly in relation to returning these things. It was nice to be able to sit outside by the pool. The kitchen was well-equipped, if under-dimensioned, but many guests seemed to expect their mothers to come and wash up after them! TThe cleaning in the bathroom was done well, but needed to be done more often. Other guests seemed to find the hostel helpful in finding work.
    Simon H October 2016
    We had no sleep due to other drunken guests of the hostel who partied through to next days daylight without a thought for others. There was no one on duty to control them dropping boxes of beer outside swearing and yelling ,then yahooing inside all night into the morning. I understand its a backpackers but at sometime guests need to be made aware to respect others who are paying and staying there also.
    Michael October 2016
    If you must visit Collaroy for a purpose only then you should stay here. The hostel itself is good but not ideal for tourists who just want to explore as it's very far from everything else in Sydney. The hill top of long reef beach has a stunning view and I rented a bike to go cycling in the bushes in a sanctuary close by. The hostel is clean but lacks some amenities. Like the 6 bed dorm has only 2 plug points for charging. The rooms are slightly small. The kitchen and Internet are good. Overall it is better than other hostels but the location is no great. The beach is just one minute but the beach is not fit for swimming. There is a pool attached to the sea at a little walk and it's very cool as it's shallow and even kids can swim there. It is filled with the sea water maybe
    Minali T October 2016
    Great location, family rooms good. Shower head broken and spraying across the room and key cards constantly not working and having to be reset otherwise fantastic.
    Noelene W October 2016
    Would recommend hostel to a friend but with reservations. We expected a youth hostel and we got a backpackers. Had we known, ratings above would be better because, as a backpackers it was better than I would have expected but that's not how it advertises itself. Also, I do think staff should tell you at check-in that crockery needs to be hired - and it would have been nice if the crockery received had been intact and clean.
    Rebecca H October 2016
    The key cards for the door deteriorated quickly and then did not work. Not good if it happens after hours. Otherwise good.
    Peter B October 2016
    The key cards for the door deteriorated quickly and then did not work. Not good if it happens after hours. Otherwise good.
    Peter B October 2016
    Excellent position big airy feel lots of space nice and modern and clean
    JULIE L P September 2016
    Nice and clean hostel with friendly staff:)
    Kim K September 2016
    A very nice hostel to stay at with good staff fairly good location and very clean
    Howard W September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    737 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money