Search YHA

Sydney, Cronulla Beach YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Cronulla Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (247 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We had booked six into a room together and when we got there we were split into different rooms. The room my friend and I were in smelled terrible and was very messy. There were also drugs fully visible in the room by someone's bed. It was impossible to sleep because the room was adjacent to the courtroom where there was a party going all night. There was no way to escape the noise. The people at the hostel were friendly enough, but the environment was poor.
    Robin L October 2015
    It's a magical place you'll never be able to understand but always want to be. Experience it yourself!
    Sebastian P September 2015
    Convenient, quiet, friendly.
    Laurel M September 2015
    I made this hostel my home for over half of my two years visa in Australia. The staff will bend over backwards for you, especially mike the owner who personally spent over $1000 on the traditional Aussie Christmas dinner last year for all the homesick backpackers, and Renee, Danny, and bones who were like my Australian family. They WILL find you work if you're like me, too lazy to jobhunt, even if it's just some chores around the place for a few days rent. The guests all work hard and play hard, every weekend turning the laundry into the infamous club Cronulla. You're free to do as you will without hastle in this hostel. It's location is perfect for those who want to be in the city without being in the city. The beach is 2minutes away, incredible surfing, and the royal national park ferry is about 7minues away. If you want to have fun while you work, if you love people, if you like to party on the weekends, or everyday during Christmas break, there's no better hostel on earth.
    Adam R September 2015
    the private room is expensive and not clean and old. In this hostal you have a mixte of poor worker and backpacker, it's a little strange but atmosphere was good. Its smells cigarette in all the hostel and room, sheet, etc...
    Romain A September 2015
    The YHA was easily in the top 3 I've stayed at in the Greater Sydney area. If I ever need to go to Cronulla or its surrounds again, this is where I'll stay. It was a bit of an adventure trying to find the private rooms (even with the directions provided by the front desk), but all in all it's a great place. 50m to the main shopping strip, 500m or so to the beach - make sure you bring your bathers/swimmers/trunks and a towel.
    Guy H August 2015
    Best thing I've ever done
    Greig B July 2015
    I stayed in Cronulla beach yha hostel for 6 months working and didn't want to leave. It's awesome! You meet so many cool people. This is a great place for long term working backpackers. The staff are kind and helpful. I will never forget my stay at Cronulla. It became home and it's the best hostel! It's pretty clean as the cleaners work everyday but sometimes there is a bit of a mess but it's alright.
    Ida N June 2015
    Pleasant room mates. Family vibe. One girl is quite Hostile, otherwise a great place to call home for a while.
    Joshua C June 2015
    Good hostel, good location and friendly staff but very bad kitchen equipment and noisy hostel at night.
    Alicia C June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    247 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money