Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (5938 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great hostel cleaned everyday, the staff amazing and very welcoming with telling you about dinner events to meet people.
85%
Lisa May J 16/02/2018
Great location, great facilities, friendly staff, unbelievable at the price!
100%
Luke H 15/02/2018
The hostel was super clean but there was absolutely no atmosphere! The reception staff weren't very helpful at information giving and didn't seem to be anything going on even though I asked about it, the most helpful guy on reception was the one who normally worked at a different hostel!
80%
Bianca Faye B 15/02/2018
I had a great time staying in the hostel. It was clean, air conditioned and very well located. The only minus was the apatic welcoming by the receptionist who acted like he was doing a favor to chek me in.
88%
Itay D 15/02/2018
The outside railway room carriages should be soundproofed. If not for my room change to the main building, I would have left accommodation here and gone elsewhere.
75%
V W 14/02/2018
Excellent location. Make sure you’ve got an Opal card to get around the city. A stones throw from the bus, train, or light rail.
85%
Owen d 12/02/2018
I love trains so this was a great experience.
100%
Michael W 11/02/2018
The hostel is great if you want to be near Central Station: quiet, clean, friendly, and I felt very safe.
95%
Christina K 10/02/2018
I have stayed at many youth hostels this was a very good one. As an observation, organisations morf over time and evolve, now that it seems YHA'S have raised the bar in accommodation & rules ,they in my opinion are missing a much more profitable wider market, by not marketing themselves as "Hostel World" Australia! HWA. "YHA" ,branding gives the impression only youths are welcome? Families and travellers, no longer youths,but for discrimination laws, traveling YHA's would be excluded otherwise
100%
Timothy M 10/02/2018
Very clean, great location close to Central station and everything you need.
85%
Danielle F 10/02/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
86%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL