Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (6387 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Always stay here. Great location, most of the staff are very friendly. Good vibe.
98%
Lance O 19/10/2018
I liked staying at this facility, the rooms are clean and beds comfortable. The towel I purchased for $1 however was terrible, the quality was very poor and it wouldn't even dry my body, it was a terrible material. Otherwise enjoyed my stay
92%
Kate G 19/10/2018
FOR A ON THE SPOT BOOKING I WAS VERY RELIVED I HAD A ROOM FOR THE NIGHT THANK YOU AGAIN VERY MUCH
98%
Michael J 18/10/2018
Clean , comfortable and good location in South Sydney . Staff are friendly and helpful . Another good stay at the Railway YHA.
82%
Wazza 17/10/2018
I loved the laid back artistic atmosphere of the hostel and the cleanliness of it. My only concern is maybe the music being so loud haha (taste of music) that's slightly less of a priory but that I got really terrible sleep one night where I needed to wake early due to loud shouting from someone in the hostel (probably drunk) and loud location being near trains and doors closing loudly with bright lights. That was my concern as me and my friend only got 2 hours sleep and were wrecked for ages.
70%
Alaska D 17/10/2018
Loved it. Perfect location, excellent toilet / shower facilities, good security. Would recommend to my friends. Will definitely stay here on my future trips to Sydney.
92%
Carmelia M 16/10/2018
Staff was friendly and facilities were decent
75%
Adam B 16/10/2018
I thought it was good, I wish the wifi was quicker. And a couple of free things had been cancelled which was a shame. But overall not a bad experience. I probably would stay again but for a shorter amount of time.
85%
Clare L 15/10/2018
Overall, good. Suggestions: The hallway should be free of any footware left there by the guests for safety (trapping hazard in case of evacuation), health... There should be personal lockers inside each room (one per person). The beds should be numbered for the ease of finding assigned bed when checking in. Clearly spelled out instruction to remove all own bed linen and place at appropriate place when checking out. Thanks for the opportunity to leave the feedback. Rgds, Tom
85%
Tomislav R 15/10/2018
DESK STAFF WERE RUDE AND DID NOT ATTEND TOME RATHER THEY WERE BUSY TALKING,MANAGER SAW THAT I WAS NOT 18 AND DIRECTED OTHERSTAFF TO BOOK ME IN WHO WAS ALSO VERY RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL (CUSTOMER SERVICE & REQ'D) ESPECIALLY HIGH PRICE AT 45$!!!. AIRCONDITIONER SHOULD BE IN ALL RMS, 214 HAD NONE, ONLY WINDOW ONTO RAILWAY AND NOISE! RAILWAY ADDRESS SYSTEM STARTS AT 6AM & AFTER 36 HRS OF TRAVELLING = NOT GOOD! COULD NOT SLEEP IF WANTED, PLUS LOUD MUSIC UP TO10PM. FRIDGES OVERPACKED -MORE REQ'D.
48%
Vic 13/10/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
86%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
89%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
86%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL