Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (5485 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Woken at 5.50am by a staff member. Opened the door turned the lights on and started asking who rented the room. I had rented the whole room for six people so when I replied to her she simply said 'well it's not on own system' and then walked out! The room was rediculously hot, no fresh air and none of us could sleep, especially after been woken by the rude staff member. The staff member apologised when we were checking out and offered a full breakfast to all of us. That sounded good until we went and had a look at what was on offer.
    58%
    Todd B June 2017
    Great location. I was catching a train to the airport early the next day so it made things very easy
    93%
    Kirsten H June 2017
    Central location is great; friendly helpful staff; good facilities; liked the idea of sleeping in a railway carriage.
    91%
    Joy D June 2017
    We are two visitors over 60 years old, who loved staying in this friendly place.... so close to places we wanted to visit and public transport.... we enjoyed being around visitors from lots of different countries, lots of different ages mingling happily together.... and yes, enjoyed the variety of good, inexpensive food that was available in the nearby cafes and restaurants.
    96%
    bente v June 2017
    Absolutely love this hostel! Very clean with friendly staff. This was my home for nearly 6 months & I will definitely be back in the future!!
    100%
    Hannah L June 2017
    As usual yha is still one of the best hostels...totally recommended. Italian traveler...
    100%
    Nick C June 2017
    I have had an amazing time at the Railway Square YHA. Friendly and staff always there to help with good knowledge about everything to do around Sydney. I felt really safe and enjoyed the great atmosphere!!
    100%
    Celina T June 2017
    Staff extremely helpful. Location superb.
    91%
    John M June 2017
    Very convenient for take the train to airport!
    100%
    YuShan L June 2017
    Great staff! Especially the guy who helped adn assited me to carry my big-heavy box as i come back in Philippines today. Thank you very much YHA!had a great stay. And always will ❤️
    96%
    Nina J June 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    91%
    customer rating, based on 5485 reviews
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    92%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & Security
    92%
    Value for Money
    88%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!