Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4903 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Had the best time ever in this hostel. I stayed here for three months and everyone in this hostel is so nice it really was a home far from home. Thank you YHA
    Roxane z October 2016
    Room 204 noisy very till very late. And then they vacuumed kitchen always an issue. How do we get our kids to clean up after themselves
    Lynne A H October 2016
    Convenient place to stay, close to tram station and supermarkets But noisy at night
    Carmen October 2016
    Verandah could get a little noisy at night and needs to be closed at late hour. Otherwise very nice friendly hostel.
    Philip B October 2016
    We found this accommodation suited us very well due to its locality for transport options, but noise from the entrance/social area was particularly bad on our last night. Noise should stop at 10pm and be monitored to ensure quiet.
    Gail M October 2016
    Good and it was close to the markets and train station
    Charlie S October 2016
    A great place to stay for cheap convenient accommodation that is centrally located.
    Jade W October 2016
    rooms near the entrance will be annoyed by the noice outside all over the night. And the fire alarm accident at 3am is terrible.
    KIT CHUN W October 2016
    The room was cluttered & full of long term ' residents ' clothes, bags, shoes and equipment. No power point free to use to charge device as the long term residents were using them all. The room had lockers but because they were living there, they had too much equipment .... Didnt appreciate a 3.30am false fire alarm (due to...?) I would stay there again but i would ask to be housed in a non long term resident room
    Justin k October 2016
    great place to see Sydney and meet new friends
    Veda B October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4903 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money