Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4576 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very nice hostel in an amazing atmosphere, old Waggons.. Good wifi! Nice kitchen. Friendly Staff.
    95%
    Silke H May 2016
    First time in a youth hostel and it was very convenient and comfortable. People kept more to themselves than I expected. The one real negative was when another guest helped herself to my (labelled) food. I caught her and confronted her and she tried justifying it and didn't even apologise. That was a bit of a dampner as I thought guests in the same boat would be respectful.
    88%
    Tania G May 2016
    Had a lot of stuff taken from my room. Reported it to staff they didn't seem to care or try do anything about it.
    62%
    David T May 2016
    The YHA Railway Square is a nice and clean Hostel in the very central of Sydney. The location is perfect and the central station is literally two minutes away. Unfortunately most of the receptionists are unfriendly and rude, the only names that come to my mind right now who are not this way are Tom and Johnny who have always been polite and helpful. At the end of the day it is a very nice place to stay at with a pretty chill atmosphere, 245$ per week is pretty expensive for a backpacker facility though. 8/10 would visit again
    68%
    Till B May 2016
    Great place, great people... can seem a little cliquey but if you just sit down with people or say hi they are very welcoming. Its also easy to not be sociable if you want to. Great layout, great space
    75%
    Jade R May 2016
    If you are in the train cars you will hear the train announcer every 15 minutes. Stay in the actual hostel.
    78%
    Dan K May 2016
    Great stay, met amazing people there
    100%
    Tommy S May 2016
    it´s a nice hostel if you don´t want to party. there are a lot of people who just arrived in australia and are just sitting on their own so it´s hard to make new contacts there. But in general the hostel is one of the cleanest i´ve ever seen with a nice kitchen
    75%
    Robin May 2016
    Very noisy. Sfaff not overly friendly. Beds hard
    62%
    Sean B May 2016
    Needs more fridge and cupboard space in the kitchen I found it hard to find room for my food, and I had very little. Room was very hot, only one small window that when opened had cigarette smoke coming in it. Had some of my food stolen, and got told that it was my fault and nothing could be done about it even though it was labelled properly.
    80%
    Emma May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    4576 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    85%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & security
    89%
    Value for money
    84%