Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4526 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The railway carriages are not dark enough in the evenings. There was not much space to put my stuff as there was a few long stayers and there stuff was everywhere. This would be fine but makes you think when was the last time the place was cleaned. One girl moved out and you could see how dirty the carpet was. Carpet was not vacuumed and dustbin was not emptied while I was there (1 week). The bathroom floor is always wet and the soap dispenser leaks so how can the bathroom ever stay clean.
    68%
    Gail S April 2016
    The atmosphere is not very relaxing there because of common areas being bright, sterile and loud with music all the time. I had a hard time finding a place to unwind and read a book except for in the dorm room. The staff did not show me around or tell me anything about the hostel when I checked in so I had to find my way around myself and later ask about any activity that were posted on the notice boards. Everything was clean and new though.
    80%
    Gabriel E April 2016
    This is an excellent YHA!!!
    85%
    YuFang L April 2016
    I only stayed for one night before my flight out, but it was great. The recreation staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. The room was clean, roommate was a bit strange, but what can you do. It was very cool to sleep in an old train carriage, even if it was just one night!
    100%
    Keesha S April 2016
    I love the no noise after 10.30 policy. It means you can have a great sleep. Beds are really comfy too - a real bonus
    100%
    Prue W April 2016
    The hostel is okay and like the most big hostels more anonymous. Harder to get in contact with people then at smaller places. Staff is very friendly and the location is good if you need a place close to the central station.
    78%
    Tobias M April 2016
    Short stay but intense. Your personnal was very professionnal and helpfull. Nice experiance with my familly.
    92%
    Serge A April 2016
    i enjoyed staying all of the YHA. hostel because their very safe, clean, locations were perfect for my age.
    80%
    Linda K April 2016
    Stayed in this hostel for 10 months and absolutely loved it. It's perfectly located, has clean rooms and showers and everything you need. The staff are all great, they are always helpful and friendly. Hopefully I can go back to Australia and stay in this hostel again at some point!
    100%
    Oliver O April 2016
    Very good atmosphere here. Nice staff. Great efficiency of service. Left my gauration flower at the door to may everyone a nice day:)
    98%
    Yunru W April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    4526 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    83%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    84%