Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4169 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I stayed in a private room by myself and used the shared bathrooms. I was a bit sceptical after reading some reviews about this place but my room was a decent size and it was nice and clean. The bathrooms were pretty clean but the sinks were a bit gross. People didn't properly rinse of tooth paste and hair blocked the drains. Their was a lot of noise at night but mainly drunk people being too loud but that is expected if you stay in the city as no where is going to be quiet. I would stay again at the railway but I like the rocks YHA better.
    Emma November 2015
    Good hostel with friendly staff in the center of Sydney! The bar for breakfast, coffee, hot choc, and so on was very nice. To bad the pool wasn't there anymore, but normally there will soon be a new one. Also the airco in the common room / dining area and even the rooms was a bit too strong and made many people sick. That was a bit the downsite..
    Jill D November 2015
    The Free-WiFi AND Premium as well sucks.. Everything else is perfect! ;)
    Fabian M November 2015
    This is my affordable and quality place to stay when in Sydney on business. Very handy to the train, superb restaurants and china town. See you next time.
    Brigitte B November 2015
    Hostel is inaccessible for people with mobility issues or heavy bags. I had to haul my heavy bags up numerous stairs as there were either no lifts or if there were they were poorly sign posted and not to be found. Doors are heavy and do not stay open when pushed, which is an issue for the same people. Service was average, I had to wait for conversations between staff to finish before being assisted to both check in and check out. Not poor service, they just weren't interested in going out of their way to provide good service.
    Kate November 2015
    We had a great time at the YHA and would really tell about this place to friends.
    Mei Li L November 2015
    Ideal location and great rooms. Loved the ensuite but pick a room away from communal dining area. Very noisy the nights we were there which I'm assured isn't normal. Pick another YHA if you have kids if you can.
    Allie B November 2015
    Alles in allem ein gutes Hostel. Badezimmer, Küche und Waschraum meist recht sauber. Nettes Personal, dass sich gut um einen gekümmert hat. Leider ist es in meinem Zimmer abends sehr laut gewesen, da die Ruhezeit ab 10 Uhr vor dem Hostel leider nicht eingehalten wurde.
    Alexandra W November 2015
    Clean, safe, great location, good air conditioning, comfortable bed.
    Marnie W November 2015
    I know I'm an old fart and probably should not be staying at YHA, but the noise up to about midnight was ridiculous. Allowing guests to party outside the hostel (adjacent to the rooms) means that we could not get to sleep. Girls screaming, Blokes singing "You'll never walk alone" at the top of their voice outside our room was bloody irritating. All else was good, but we will not be staying again.
    Marcus L November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4169 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money