Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3987 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Here our roommates were all young girls who like to talk with others. I like my roommates here most!
    90%
    Jingning Z September 2015
    The hostel is located in the heart of Sydney with supermarkets and restaurants within 15 minutes. The people are very nice, staff answered all questions friendly. The atmosphere is great, people are open to talk. Only disadvantage: Since it's located next to and over the Central Train station, you here some sounds like announcements depending on the location of your room, but it's nothing that keeps you awake if you close the window. Apart from that, it is highly recommendable.
    95%
    Sven C September 2015
    FANTASTIC, PERFECT! Ótimo lugar.
    100%
    Alex S September 2015
    Staff on duty on Saturday evening were very helpful and professional . Will use services again.
    100%
    Nathan O August 2015
    Liked its close proximity to everything
    100%
    Barry C August 2015
    Fab classic experience staying in an old railway carriage. Much more interesting than in a generic room somewhere!
    95%
    Graeme F August 2015
    always a pleasant stay at this hostel, very convenient in the city and good atmosphere, only pity is that it is rather expensive..they could provide tea bags for later in the evening for those not self catering, the counter closes early
    98%
    thomas f August 2015
    Love the security measures taken
    88%
    Norashiken A August 2015
    Great location. Heating could have been turned down or off overnight.
    85%
    Leah W August 2015
    No lift!!!!
    70%
    Hiu Y August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    3987 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    88%