Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4844 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The train carriage room is amazing, friendly staff and clean facilities. A home away from home. It can get a little noisy with train announcement as the room is literally next to the train platform. But it is not bad at all. Breakfast is good too.. And bathroom in good condition and clean, but the water pressure in a few shower room wasn't great, but a few have excellent pressure and hot water. Keep up to good job railway.
    92%
    Kian Hong L September 2016
    Really enjoyed the experience. Something different sleeping in a railway carriage. Lovely people
    98%
    Jessica K September 2016
    Been to Railway Square YHA many times. Love it!!!
    100%
    Andrew B September 2016
    My 7 year old son and I stayed for 2 nights. I felt 100% comfortable with him staying at this hostel. We will definitely return on another trip to Sydney.
    100%
    Anna W September 2016
    My room was not clean and it was so messy because of other roommates. One of staffs came and inspected the room but he told me there is no empty room to change my room.
    68%
    Arash M September 2016
    This hostel by far is the cleanest,friendly,hostel I have stayed in. I really enjoyed the BBQ kangaroo burger night. The place is centrally located,excellent staff. To bad you can only give very good on the survey, I would give them a 10 (excellent). I would gladly recommend this place to my friend. I"ll be back.
    100%
    Armin B September 2016
    Clean and good location. Heritage building no elevator. Luggage can keeping in Pay Locker.($5 for 4hrs). Free wifi not available in the room.
    80%
    Fran S September 2016
    Thanks my friendly roommate Amanda and Andrew (?the French cool guy). And good luck:)
    90%
    Yu Kai C September 2016
    Great central location
    90%
    Rod W September 2016
    The last time I stayed at Sydney Railway Square Hostel, there was loud rock music playing in the common area at breakfast time. I complained to one of the desk staff that such loud rock music was really not enjoyable so early in the day. I was told that everyone needed to be woken up! So I was pleased to find that the playlist for the morning music was now not rock music - tracks of various good singers instead, such as Michael Buble.
    92%
    Merrall G September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    4844 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    90%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    89%
    Value for Money
    85%