Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4067 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I love staying here.
    Sally B October 2015
    feel good here
    WENHAO L October 2015
    Checkin was a breeze and staff were friendly. Room was fantastic and location next to Central Station was great for my needs.
    Helen S October 2015
    Excellent hostel with only points to make 1. Power points in locker or near bed would be great 2. Ensuite facilities would be nice, but your shower/toilets were great, never crowded! Super efficient staff, thank you for making my stay so enjoyable. Mario
    Mario M October 2015
    Internet wasn't great (paid for)..... Room was stuffy, beds weren't the comfiest and squeaked every time you moved at all..... Can't fault location. Plenty of showers/toilets.... Would stay here again for location but nothing else.
    Naomi A October 2015
    This is a great place to stay, when in Sydney, and I will definitely stay here again. So handy to transport and with everything at your fingertips.
    Kathi W October 2015
    The room was clean and tidy. And the location is very convenient.
    YUANYUAN W September 2015
    Issue with showers on second floor, 3/8 were operationnals. god ones had spreaders in bad condition. Could have been fixed now. room locker doors to be checked/fixed as mentionned to reception. However, I spend good time, with friendly staff in a good/convinient atmosphere. To be recommended
    Frédérick F September 2015
    Great location, helpful staff. Thanks very much!!
    Madelaine J September 2015
    My firs time at a Hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Was a great location for me. Facilities were great, all I needed was a bed and a shower. Shared a room but I was out most of the time for a conference. Will stay there again. Thanks for having me.
    Tyson W September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4067 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money