Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4153 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Hostel is inaccessible for people with mobility issues or heavy bags. I had to haul my heavy bags up numerous stairs as there were either no lifts or if there were they were poorly sign posted and not to be found. Doors are heavy and do not stay open when pushed, which is an issue for the same people. Service was average, I had to wait for conversations between staff to finish before being assisted to both check in and check out. Not poor service, they just weren't interested in going out of their way to provide good service.
    Kate November 2015
    We had a great time at the YHA and would really tell about this place to friends.
    Mei Li L November 2015
    Ideal location and great rooms. Loved the ensuite but pick a room away from communal dining area. Very noisy the nights we were there which I'm assured isn't normal. Pick another YHA if you have kids if you can.
    Allie B November 2015
    Alles in allem ein gutes Hostel. Badezimmer, Küche und Waschraum meist recht sauber. Nettes Personal, dass sich gut um einen gekümmert hat. Leider ist es in meinem Zimmer abends sehr laut gewesen, da die Ruhezeit ab 10 Uhr vor dem Hostel leider nicht eingehalten wurde.
    Alexandra W November 2015
    Clean, safe, great location, good air conditioning, comfortable bed.
    Marnie W November 2015
    I know I'm an old fart and probably should not be staying at YHA, but the noise up to about midnight was ridiculous. Allowing guests to party outside the hostel (adjacent to the rooms) means that we could not get to sleep. Girls screaming, Blokes singing "You'll never walk alone" at the top of their voice outside our room was bloody irritating. All else was good, but we will not be staying again.
    Marcus L November 2015
    I was very suprised when on arrival of checking in the staff provided me with sheets for the bed which was very different but puts your mind at ease knowing you are using fresh clean sheets for your stay. The beds were very comfortable. Definitely value for money. I will definitely be making this my number one hotel to stay at when I decide to stay in Sydney as it is so convenient and close by to both trains and buses with lots of shops nearby to eat at and buy some goddies and don't have to carry your parcels to far. Much better experience at this hotel compared to other YHA hostel closer by I stayed at. I was a bit unsure of staying in a dorm with 4 other complete strangers but the people were lovely and plus it makes it alot cheaper to share.
    Donna-Jo D November 2015
    Shame the spa pool was not working, I bet they have fixed it up by now. Otherwise a great location, so close to everything, safe and relaxed.
    Sally T November 2015
    I had a great time at Railway Square YHA! The location is excellent and the people are friendly. If possible go for the weekly rate since you get a discount on the room, free breakfast, plus discounts on activities. I would definitely stay at Railway Square YHA again.
    Brett L November 2015
    I always stay at the Railway Square YHA when I visit Sydney and it has always met expectations. The staff are so friendly and happy to help, the rooms and facilities are always clean and the general atmosphere is always welcoming.
    Zoe L November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4153 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money