Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5171 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    My first experience travel alone n stay in dorm. Overall everything is good no complain. Well recommended to all female travel alone. Enjoyed the yummylicious breakfast n drinks.
    82%
    KEXIN Y February 2017
    It's is in a good location with decent facilities... However, service from a lot of the staff came across as rude and condescending. The railway carriages were hot, poorly ventilated, smelled and the blinds didn't shut out light dry well from the station platform through the night. Insufficient storage space in the kitchen. Maybe for some people, but a little disappointing for me.
    55%
    Johnny R February 2017
    I love this hostel, it's location and the railway carriages. For a train fan it's a must as you can hear the announcements at central station right next door all night long! For light sleepers it may not be for you!
    82%
    Lc W February 2017
    Nice place to stay and jus behind the station. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. Carriage rooms were abit small for my liking but otherwise good stau
    90%
    Asma B February 2017
    Stayed in a private room, it was simple but clean and comfortable. Best part was the excellent location.
    78%
    G T February 2017
    I have been a YHA member for many years now. The hostel at Sydney Central is just the best place to stay. What more is there to say!
    100%
    Julie W February 2017
    People were rather unfriendly.
    70%
    Marcia J. B February 2017
    Very impressed with how clean this hostel is. Love the quirkiness too!
    98%
    Meldy T February 2017
    Staff with amazing, the atmosphere of the hostel was awesome. Will recommend to friends as first choice when visiting Sydney.
    100%
    Troy B February 2017
    Bed is not very clean. When you check out, you have to pay for keep your bags.
    60%
    ZHANGXIAOYU Z February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    5171 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    85%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    80%