Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (6158 guests have reviewed this hostel)
June 15th &16th 2018 Night Manager, very courteous, polite & accommodating. Most guests of all ages, friendly. Hostel next to Central Station to Blue Mountains, Light Rail to Darling Harbor, Maritime Museum, Chinese Friendship Gardens & walking distance Daimu & Chinatown. In other words, you can go anywhere from here.
78%
Leith T 17/06/2018
Very friendly, and great location.
100%
Robyn S 15/06/2018
1) no organics bin 2) couches a little rough looking with stains, but great outdoor patio 3) near railway carriage dorms (even if you can hear the announcements), great usb/lamp by beds and lockers 4) open common area with games, good activities but some ended early, like burrito night. Should have end time on the board 5) wish there was a full bathroom but furthest railway car
70%
Rachael F 12/06/2018
The hostel is very clean. The staff was VERY FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. The staff spoke English very well. The organized activities (free wine and cheese mingle, and free party bus to a Casino) allowed me to meet and hangout with new people, since I was traveling alone. The location is very central, and quiet. I will happily stay at this hostel when I visit Australia in the future.
100%
Sonja Dee R 12/06/2018
Excellent overall, and good breakfasts. Air conditioning was a little on the warm side, but not really a problem for sleeping. Quiet rooms, esp. given the central location.
90%
Ken P 12/06/2018
Good location
82%
Hsuan Hung C 11/06/2018
We loved the location, atmosphere and layout, room, facilities and staff were lovely. Would highly recommend!
100%
Sharni H 11/06/2018
Always stay here in Sydney when available. Great atmosphere, character and welcoming feel. Hope to stay here again in a few weeks on my return trip. Short walk to Oxford Street, and Surry Hills. Try out the Maddison Hotel, just 5 min away in Surry for genuinely great meals for only $10-00. Railway Suare is my favourite spot to crash. Cheers!
100%
Lance O 09/06/2018
The hostel was nice, great location being within walking of everywhere and next to central station. Nice and warm too!
90%
Holly H 07/06/2018
Love staying here-Location is perfect for exploring Sydney, rooms are clean & comfy. There is a USB charger & light at each bed & bathrooms are clean. The hairdryer in the bathroom was a welcome bonus! As I stayed mid-week, it was quieter than usual, so I was able to check in as soon as I arrived: direct from my 730am long distance train. Very grateful 😀 I came up for Vivid (third year in a row) & coming back late at night, love the 24 hour reception. Thanks & see you in November!!🖐
100%
Joanne B 06/06/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
91%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
90%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL