Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

87%
Sydney, NSW

Sydney's most laid back hostel, Railway Square YHA adjoins Central Station and offers railway carriage rooms in the heart of the city.

$33
Check availability
Right now in Sydney...
02:09 AM
|
14°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3917 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    A friend recommended this to me. It exceeded my expectations.
    100%
    Ann F July 2015
    So nice!
    100%
    SOL A July 2015
    One of the best hostels i have stayed in so far! Great facilities and atmosphere. They even have enough hooks in the shower to put your clothes. :)
    100%
    Moritz R July 2015
    Great and honest.
    98%
    Niki S July 2015
    This is an excellent facility at a very affordable and welcomed rate. I always enjoy the experience and relaxed atmosphere. I use it for its convenience to the transport hub when travelling home to Sydney or when leaving early. And it obviously does an excellent job in allowing people coming from everywhere to travel to this fine country and to enjoy it and do it at an accommodation rate they can afford when otherwise they may not be able to afford it. Congratulations for being the provider of excellence James
    100%
    James G July 2015
    Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this hostel. While the general facilities are all perfectly nice and the rooms were clean and well kept, for me the huge downfall was the extreme lack of connectivity. Both in the atmosphere and also in terms of wifi. As a lone traveller looking to set things up for my study exchange it was important that I had wifi, however the unbelievably terrible connection in the hostel was a constant source of frustration. I was even compelled to pay for the premium service 'wifi plus' and soon discovered that this was equally staccato and cholesterol raising. It was alright because I had my book to read but if you need to get work done with Internet then I would advise reconsidering this hostel. Also as a lone traveller I found the general atmosphere quite closed which was a shame and there is constantly music being played which makes it very hard to find a quiet place to read or concentrate. Most of the time I went to the library just for a bit of quiet. I'm Sorry to give it such a review but that was my experience. It wasn't a great start to my stay in the lovely country of Australia.
    55%
    Benjamin T July 2015
    My friend and I got about 20 minutes sleep the whole night due to loud and persistent noises including revving motors and horns blaring at 4am from the train station which was immediately adjacent to our room. Also I do not understand having reception open 24 hours but not being able to check in after 11pm seeing as checking in consists only of getting a card and linen and being pointed in the general direction of the room. The staff were also not at all helpful in finding parking near the YHA, that information should available for guests to avoid people wondering the streets trying to find parking... how hard is it to know which street has the closest public parking garage!!
    42%
    Serena S July 2015
    Takes away the feeling of loneliness giving that positive feeling away from home.
    90%
    Kumar L July 2015
    I have stayed in a few of the YHA's and so far I think this was one of the best. It was clean and felt like value for money. However, I don't think people staying here were that friendly. So if you do want to make friends maybe staying somewhere where it is a bit more social would be better. However, I would choose cleanliness over socialising any day. It's in a really convenient spot.
    82%
    Casey S July 2015
    It's a great experience in railway square YHA.
    90%
    Yen-Lin Y July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    3917 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & security
    92%
    Value for money
    86%