Search YHA

Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Sydney Railway Square YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4725 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Being the fourth time I have stayed at Railway Square YHA, this has been the friendliest and best time I have stayed. I have made new friends that I will stay in contact with, and I will definitely be back again in 4 weeks!!
    92%
    Ethan G July 2016
    Yummy free Pancakes !
    85%
    Leon D July 2016
    I love the Sydney rail system and this hostel was so close to it. I only stayed one night but could see there were lots of entertainments for most nights if people wanted to join in.
    100%
    Shirley C July 2016
    Only stayed one night at this YHA as we had an early coach departing from Central Station. The hostel itself is nice and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. However, the demographic of the other guests meant that the hostel wasn't very clean. Our dorm resembled a bomb site and the attached bathroom wasn't very clean. The kitchen was the same, so much so that we didn't use it. I honestly don't think that it is like is because it isn't cleaned - I just think the guests don't look after the environment as much as they have done in other YHA's that we have stayed in. Good location within the city and the dorms built into old train carriages looked incredible.
    78%
    Katherine S July 2016
    Frequent stayer and always have a great time.
    100%
    Andrew B July 2016
    modern, switched on place very clean
    82%
    john g July 2016
    Great staff... both times I've stayed they have given me bottom bunk and a room that's not full!! Love the showers and are they heated bathroom floors? Also love staying in the rail carriages...so much character and unique ness..plus bonus that I can be up ,showered and to the airport in only 30 minutes!!
    92%
    tracey m July 2016
    Really great staying here. Staff are really nice and facilities are good. Kitchen was big and cleaned regularly, a great location and just a great hostel. I was staying for two weeks too and could've stayed longer :)
    95%
    Emily G July 2016
    Near to most of the best of Sydney.... I really enjoy it, big spaces, and the best is the staff, always helpful, I get a free coffee for my birthday!!!!!
    90%
    Ivan O July 2016
    DJ Bob, Bill and Sue seem to have varying ideas about what music to play, when to play it and how loud it is. You have no option when in your room trying to rest or sleep other than a forced session of someone else's favourite tunes, at a fair volume. I would refrain from any attempt to complain about your "room mates" watching vidz at 3am and keeping you awake as the desk jockeys are probably mates with them and how dare you complain about no sleep, filthy room covered in food, only to be moved to another room where its almost as bad.
    62%
    Dean B July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    4725 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    86%