Search YHA

Kings Canyon Holiday Park

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Kings Canyon Holiday Park

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (177 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Initially booked a backpacker lodge (from yha.com)which sleeps four but when we check in, couldn't find our booking and the backpacker lodge was full, so we've got free upgrade to the resort double room with ensure!!! Well done yha.com and thanks for the upgrade!
    88%
    Wing S August 2016
    In general we enjoyed our stay, but the guestkitchen was pathetic. It was impossible to cook there ourselves. The free water in the bar had a strange smell and taste.
    82%
    Stef C August 2016
    It is not really a classic hostel. It is more like a room in a motel, but without a bathroom. You need to share the showers and toilets with the camping people.
    78%
    Sofie P August 2016
    The camp kitchen facilities were very basic. A microwave, stove (2 of 4 burners didn't work) and sink was all there was and a small fridge. No cutlery, cookware or crockery.
    80%
    CHRISTOPHER H June 2016
    We were in a share room and lucky enough to have the room to ourselves! Room was fantastic with tea and coffee facilities and car parking right in front of the room and toilet blocks close by! The kitchen was terrible if you are self catering - no pots or pans, plates, cups etc, just a stove and microwave. Overall facilities are clean and comfortable!
    88%
    Dayna T May 2016
    We are a mature aged couple. Stayed in an onsuite unit with nice balcony and view of Kings Canyon. Pleasant swimming pool and friendly staff. Very enjoyable resort atmosphere and walks at King's Canyon great.
    100%
    Peter B April 2016
    The location is great for Kings Canyon walks which are amazing. However, the room had not been cleaned for a while. There was a snake near the swimming pool and lots of dingos roaming around the resort which we met on trips to the shower blocks and restaurant after dark (literally right outside the door to our room). There are no utensils in the kitchen - you need to hire these from the resort. The restaurant was nice but extremely expensive and there is very little to purchase at the shop - so come prepared if you are self catering. The sunset spot had a wheelie bin over flowing with litter and bottles which were blowing around the area clearly one of the reasons why there is an issue with dingos.
    65%
    Kim N March 2016
    Turned up to have reception advise they didn't receive our booking from YHA. Still provided us with room we had booked. Rooms were dusty on floor due to gap under door. Room did the job. Swimming pool and kitchen facilities a nice addition.
    62%
    Aneale U January 2016
    No Wifi available, would be nice to add this Service. "Kitchen" (or better "room with an oven") could have been cleaner. Rooms were clean and big enough. Hostel is very close to everything in this small town.
    78%
    Kathy January 2016
    We didn't knwo that we have to grab the kitchenstaff at the fuelstation because there was no sign. As we wanted to start cooking we hadn't anything so we must go to the restaurant.
    68%
    Franziska T January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    80%
    177 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    69%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & Security
    85%
    Value for Money
    72%