Kings Canyon Holiday Park

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Kings Canyon Holiday Park

What travellers think
Reviews (207 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Good had a great stay
90%
Chengappa B 03/01/2019
it was very enjoyable
100%
Deborah W 22/10/2018
rip-off "resort"-style just like in Yulara e.g. no free wifi, makes you feel like you are a poor/unreliable person by getting a dorm. They even charge $10 for kitchen ustensils (on top of deposit)
60%
Dee P 17/05/2018
Thanks for the help with the burnt hand. Free wi-fi would be good.
90%
Sharyn J 12/05/2018
Reception is welcoming; rooms, showers, pool are good. Shared kitchen is basic though you can rent utensils ($10) if you know to ask. Biggest disappointment is quality of food & service. Bar staff clearly do not want to be there and toxic relationships were on display. Tables left uncleared, water coolers unfilled, ice & napkins provided with a begrudging snarl. Run by DNC, which caters in US prisons and stadiums, so they specialise in captive customers. Sadly this shows. Kings deserves better.
60%
Frank C 09/04/2018
Nice campground and room is fine and clean. People are nice too. All the ingredients for a nice stay. Except: the kitchen was really dirty, not what we've expected for this kind of place/price. (Yes, we know it is remote, but that doesn't mean you can not keep the kitchen clean, the room is also clean) And last but not least: everywhere are signs: don't do this, don't do that. As a guest, you don't feel very welcome.... It can easily be changed by using more welcoming language for a better Customer Experience.
72%
Claire v 24/08/2017
Relaxing and clean. The accommodations are basic, but much better than similarly priced rooms in Yulara (Uluru) and very close to Kings Canyon which is what we went for. On-site food is overpriced, but you're in the middle of nowhere so you don't have any other options.
82%
Claudia B 23/08/2017
It was so disappointing that you had to pay such a large deposit for any kitchen equipment. I was very surprised by this and it was different to all other hostels I have stayed at (except in Ayers Rock resort.)
78%
Charlotte M 21/08/2017
Staff quite happy to provide extra blankets when we realized temperatures at night were to -1C. Good and friendly place quite in sync with the outback concept. One point though, is the kitchen does not provide a communal eating area so that the guests have a chance to mingle with each other to share experiences.
90%
Claire H 11/08/2017
Loved the area. Should let people know about the Giles walk as a day walk, you could walk out and back as far as you like. Go for an hour or two. Need to name the plants in and around the resort. More information about the walk at the resort. Rubbish!!!! Need to be recycling
92%
Maryanne J 08/07/2017

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

81%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
73%
Efficiency of service
79%
Friendliness of staff
85%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
80%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
73%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL