Search YHA

Kings Canyon Holiday Park

  • Customer reviews of Kings Canyon Holiday Park

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (159 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Turned up to have reception advise they didn't receive our booking from YHA. Still provided us with room we had booked. Rooms were dusty on floor due to gap under door. Room did the job. Swimming pool and kitchen facilities a nice addition.
    62%
    Aneale U January 2016
    No Wifi available, would be nice to add this Service. "Kitchen" (or better "room with an oven") could have been cleaner. Rooms were clean and big enough. Hostel is very close to everything in this small town.
    78%
    Kathy January 2016
    We didn't knwo that we have to grab the kitchenstaff at the fuelstation because there was no sign. As we wanted to start cooking we hadn't anything so we must go to the restaurant.
    68%
    Franziska T January 2016
    I'm sorry to have to say that the hostel, and indeed the whole resort, is looking very tired and ordinary. As an architect based in Alice Springs, showing the place to an overseas friend, I was somewhat embarrassed. The place could do with a total design re-vamp, not in an expensive manner, but in a style be-fitting the beauty of the canyon drawcard. The place presently looks like it was designed (and built) by a handyman. The pool area in particular was a great let-down.
    52%
    Domenico P December 2015
    peu de choix dans l'hebergement à kings canyon. nous avions une chambre en dortoir partagé pour nous 2 car les gens semblent dispersé dans toutes les chambres quand c'est possible. mais le lit était sous un gros tuyaux de climatisation tout poussiereux (à déconseiller si vous faite de l'allergie) et il faut aller emprunter contre caution les ustensiles de cuisine.
    70%
    sophie p August 2015
    Lodge room located in the campground sharing campground facilities, which were clean and plentiful. Coffee making in the room was a bonus. Friendly and helpful staff. Resort has its own ridge walk which is a good warm up for the canyon itself, and a lookout for watching the sunset (complete with bar facilities)
    98%
    Sherelee S June 2015
    The surroundings of the youth hostel is rather nice.
    75%
    JINLONG Z May 2015
    Very helpful staff!!
    88%
    Weike Z May 2015
    The position is quite good, and the service as well. My room was really clean, with tea and coffe available for free. The position of the reception is near the petrol station, but the room is half a km away :). The only problem i found is the kitchens cutleries, that you must rent for 50 dollars. Nobody told us about that at the reception
    75%
    Marco V January 2015
    It's not really a YHA and you can feel it as soon as you get there. Giant spiderwebs in the room and overpriced. However it's the only accomodation near Kings Canyon, which explains that it's overpriced IMO. Kings Canyon itself is unforgettable !
    68%
    Stephane W November 2014
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    159 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    70%
    Efficiency of service
    80%
    Friendliness of staff
    83%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    76%
    Safety & security
    84%
    Value for money
    70%