Search YHA

Darwin YHA

  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (457 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Accomodation in general seems to be overpriced in Darwin. The YHA is probably the best deal one can get. The small kitchen is well-equipped; rooms are clean, functional and somewhat spacious. The staff we were in contact with is helpful and mostly friendly.
    82%
    Simon C August 2015
    We had a free upgrade to a private room so that was well recieved :p Only stopped here for a night but it ticked all boxes.
    78%
    John H August 2015
    Our dorms were a little grubby, could do with fresh curtains. Linen is supplied, we had to go back and ask for towels for showers. Bathroom was just OK,floor was pretty much wet all the time due to poor drainage from shower. Kitchen was exceptionally well stocked with crockery & cutlery, great for preparing own food Close to Supermarkets, shops restaurants Would definitely stay at YHA again.
    78%
    Helen L August 2015
    Great hostel just far enough away from party central. Stayed in four female dorm and my critique would be lockers for luggage needed. Also stayed in private double - which was perfect. Probably not do good for disabled travellers as stairs to most rooms. Overall great, peaceful, clean stay
    95%
    Tricia V August 2015
    I was really positively surprised! I booked a 6 bed dorm and the atmosphere was great! Own bathroom in the dorm was just perfect! The location is just right, not directly in the 'party-zone', but close enough to walk in less than 5 min. The staff was really helpful organising day trips and with general questions too! Thank you!
    100%
    Aniko U August 2015
    Clean, well-run with fantastic staff, and altogether I had a most enjoyable 11 day stay.
    98%
    Catheryn J August 2015
    I stayed at this hostel for a few months and I had a great time, staff were great, all was good.
    100%
    matthew a August 2015
    Very clean rooms and located in the main street of Darwin close to everything. They organized airport shuttle for us with no dramas. Friendly staff always helpful.
    95%
    Ruth M August 2015
    Great hostel to stay in.Enjoyed my stay.Was too short there.The only disappointment was that there was no lockers in the rooms
    88%
    Guy J August 2015
    very loud place but (most of) staff very helpful and friendly
    68%
    Britt P August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    457 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    77%
    Condition of facilities
    72%
    Efficiency of service
    85%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    77%
    Safety & security
    83%
    Value for money
    75%