Search YHA

Darwin YHA

81%
Darwin , NT

Located in the heart of the Northern Territory's tropical capital, Darwin YHA Backpackers Hostel offers all the e...

$27
Check availability
Right now in Darwin ...
04:06 PM
|
29°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (431 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    very loud place but (most of) staff very helpful and friendly
    68%
    Britt P August 2015
    I was having a bad start to the day until I checked in at Yha, Max gave me a free bottle of water and sat down and talked to me about my troubles. The whole staff is very friendly and helpful, the kitchen needs work and the rooms get crowded but overall nice hostel in the heart of Darwin.
    70%
    Nathan G August 2015
    nice staff, nice location, nice pool, nice kitchen and eating area, nice hostel! not too loud, not one of those party places :-)!! room has an ensuit bathroom, not really clean but really nice to have your "own" bathroom. good value for money! I would come back :-)
    82%
    Sabine K July 2015
    I am a big fan of YHA hostels in general, but that one is not the best - seems like all I like about other YHAs is missing here - staff don´t look like they enjoy to help travellers, common areas are neither sufficiently big nor welcoming and they are closed early, no lockers, chair or tables in rooms, no nice smoking area, no recycling bins in the kitchen... Having "private" bathroom at room could feel luxurious when there is two of you, not six - especially when there are no common facilities. Swimming pool is not going to fix it, location between kitchen, those few places to eat and noisy sport bar is not really happily chosen. Plus warning signs suspecting you from "bad behaviour" everywhere and the fact that it was the most expensive and also the most unfriendly YHA I ve been to - never more!
    45%
    Eliska V July 2015
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times- nothing was too much for them
    100%
    MALCOLM S July 2015
    Need a chair to sit and put the shoes on Provide free towel and soap Need Lockers to put the valuables in
    68%
    Demuni D July 2015
    Basic accommodation in a location close to the action but far enough away to not be too noisy. Good having a pool, but some bathroom features needed repairing.
    78%
    Jen B July 2015
    Great value for money, ideal if you need a 2/3 night stay! Even got upgraded!
    88%
    Demelza M July 2015
    staff well informed about where to go, what to see, and very helpful
    95%
    Peter F July 2015
    Nice place to stay, very central, extremely noisy, need night staff to tell noisy guests that midnght is time to shut up, especially when leaving early. Kitchen bit small, need more teatowels ensuite was perfect for us seniors
    90%
    Helen M June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    431 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    76%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    76%
    Safety & security
    81%
    Value for money
    74%