Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (173 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The staff talked to me friendly. Rooms are clean.
    84%
    Aki H July 2017
    The pool was gorgeous, the location was amazing. It's convenient because it's open 24hours. The staff were helpful but I've been places that were friendlier. Tourist information flyers were super helpful, Litchfield Escape day tours was advertised there and was a highlight of my trip! Generally pretty good.
    71%
    Samantha H July 2017
    Good location, near Coles and restaurant, but the bar on the first floor is too noisy, can't sleep well
    51%
    Wen W July 2017
    Was very central which made it easy to access the City.
    76%
    Emily G July 2017
    Cairns was good
    53%
    Markus B July 2017
    This hostel is really good but the bad point is about the communication beetween the people who work there.
    80%
    Jouan N July 2017
    The location on Mitchell St is absolutely perfect! Right in the middle of all the great bars and restaurants so super easy to get home from a night out. But if you're not looking to party that's also fine and I couldn't hear any partying from my room when I went to bed so I could still get a good nights sleep. There is a cool bar and pool area on the first floor which I wish I had more time to explore. There are also kitchen facilities. The shared shower/bathroom facilities were nice and clean. The front desk is open 24/7, the staff were really friendly and helpful and there is a luggage room if you need to leave your bags to pick up later.
    98%
    Nicola E July 2017
    The bathrooms were filthy!!! Great location however loud at night.
    76%
    Una N July 2017
    I had a good stay at this hostel. There was a lot of partying happening, but I didn't want any part of it because I was getting up for 6 am tours. The rooms were really quiet and I really appreciates the all female floor. The only thing lacking was common spaces for those who didn't feel like partying.
    80%
    Cassie D July 2017
    I paid $100 for my single room and it was grubby, noisy and the sheets & bedding /mattress were horrible. I didn't sleep a wink.
    49%
    Fiona H July 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    73%
    73%
    customer rating, based on 173 reviews
    Cleanliness
    68%
    Condition of facilities
    68%
    Efficiency of service
    74%
    Friendliness of staff
    82%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    70%
    Safety & Security
    74%
    Value for Money
    67%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!