Search YHA

Darwin YHA

  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (493 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It is a run down hostel and not what I expected from a YHA hostel. I definitely wouldn't recommend staying there, we stayed one night and moved to Melaleuca on mitchell that was cheaper and way better.
    Johny H October 2015
    It is a good hostel but the private room is quite expensive. It is though a good room and we were happy about it!
    Stéphanie K October 2015
    The rooms are a real mess and the kitchen is way too small for the number of people cooking at the same time. Better use the bbq area outside and cook alfresco!
    Benoit B October 2015
    Had a pretty good stay at the YHA, rooms were clean and roomy, but the bathroom had no soap or any hooks to hang stuff up which was really annoying. Staff were helpful but some were grumpy and unfriendly. Kitchen is small but does the job, location is good.
    Gillian O September 2015
    Staffs are very kind,and nice location.
    SEI I September 2015
    Lovely hostel. Could have done with more tables and chairs for people to eat on. Staff were either really friendly or really miserable. Good location away from the noise but still close enough to walk to. I thought it was very much over priced, but then the whole of Darwin is very expensive. Overall an enjoyable stay.
    Joanne H September 2015
    Great location, pub part of the building, well recommended tours. But 37 degrees is hot! The air con. Was well used.
    William C September 2015
    Overall good, rooms are clean and beds are correct. The swimming pool is nice. Staff is nice and very helpful, they can help you organise trips, shuttles, etc. However reception is understaffed. You'll have to wait if you need something during "busy" hours. No lockers in bedrooms.
    Yann G September 2015
    Cheap and basic, but no surprises. Reasonable value.
    Ken L September 2015
    The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful
    Thomas D September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    493 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money