Search YHA

Darwin YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (554 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    checked in no problem, friendly helpful staff. But then after that wasn't so good. My room (all female) didn't smell very nice and I couldn't find a bathroom other than the ensuite so if someone else was using it you just had to wait. There was a walk way through to toilets of the bar next door but that is closed off at 10pm. One morning I was in my room when house keeping came round and it was a very poor cleaning effort. I went into the bathroom after to find that any hairs etc and just been mopped to the side. Also the kitchen was very small (I decided I wasn't even going to bother using it) and you had to go through the kitchen to get to the pool which was a bit impractical.
    75%
    Isla M April 2016
    Very friendly and helpful staff. (Please say hello to Simon for me.)
    100%
    Janette T April 2016
    The staff of YHA are friendly and helpful.
    88%
    Kam Fong T April 2016
    Nice and quiet hostel. Really relax
    100%
    romain f April 2016
    The staff were all helpful before and during my stay. It lacked a bit in atmosphere, compared for example, with Alice Springs YHA, which has a great layout with central communal areas. I wanted a quieter hostel though, so was very happy. My room was great and I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to a solo traveller like me.
    85%
    Anne S April 2016
    nice staffs
    68%
    Anita H March 2016
    Nice hostel. Very good quality bunkbeds that don't squeak, rattle or shake and very cool rooms (AC and fan simultaneously). Automatically locking doors would be nice though and better free internet (only really works in reception). Ridiculous thing is that there are no security lockers, even though room has ample space (and a luggage rack of security locker stack size). You need to carry around your valuables or keep hassling staff to look after them.
    85%
    Dave G March 2016
    It's a little walk from the greyhound drop off point (about 10-15 min) - a courtesy pick up would have been nice. I missed lockers and storage options in the dorm rooms. Great to have a fridge in the room, though. Good mix of long term stay (worker friendly) and short term stay. Good facilities with clean kitchen, laundry, swimmingpool, indoor airco dining room and tv room with free wifi. Overall good stay.
    80%
    Vanessa v February 2016
    the lace to stay in Darwin. Clean and friendly staff. Close to everything. Bar downstairs plus pool!!! try it!
    98%
    Sean Charles R February 2016
    Staying at the Darwin YHA was one of the best hostel experiences I've had. Very clean room and facilities and very friendly staff. I would recommend staying here.
    100%
    Anne A February 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    554 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    74%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    73%
    Safety & security
    78%
    Value for money
    75%