Search YHA

Darwin YHA

84%
Darwin , NT

Located in the heart of the Northern Territory's tropical capital, Darwin YHA Backpackers Hostel offers all the e...

$27
Check availability
  • Darwin YHA - Exterior
  • Darwin YHA Hostel - Pool Chairs
  • Darwin YHA - Pool (1)
  • Darwin YHA - Common Area
  • Darwin YHA - Kitchen
  • Darwin YHA - Private Room
  • Darwin YHA - BBQ Area
  • Darwin Mindil Markets(1)
  • Darwin Cullen Bay Marina
  • Darwin YHA - Double Room Ensuite
  • Darwin YHA - 6 Share Mixed
  • Darwin YHA - 6 Share
Right now in Darwin ...
04:03 PM
|
32°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (406 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nice place to stay, very central, extremely noisy, need night staff to tell noisy guests that midnght is time to shut up, especially when leaving early. Kitchen bit small, need more teatowels ensuite was perfect for us seniors
    90%
    Helen M June 2015
    Very Good Loved it closed to most things
    92%
    Elenore B June 2015
    Excellent value for money accommodation during a Darwin High Season. When other hotels/motels jack up their prices significantly in June the YHA continue to offer value for money accommodation. Friendly, helpful staff!
    95%
    Scott N June 2015
    find another place to stay
    62%
    Kay M June 2015
    As far as YHAs go, it is not the best. It is rather expensive and has a motel feel to it. The female front of house staff are lovely and also have a smile. It you don't want a party hostel, stay here. It is away from the bars and clubs and you get a peaceful nights sleep. The door locks are not brilliant and many people forgot to lock them.
    68%
    Amy L June 2015
    This was my second stay at the Darwin YHA and overall, it was again an enjoyable experience. The hostel is conveniently located along a main street of Darwin City with a variety of shops, pubs, restaurants, supermarkets and tourist information nearby. Its a nice touch to have a small bar fridge in each room. The pool looked great although I didn't manage to get around using it this time around. The kitchen is very small so it would be helpful if you can plan your lunch and dinner times properly out of the rush hours. Should I return to Darwin in the future, I would definitely stay at this YHA again, without a doubt.
    82%
    Hsiao Lin L June 2015
    Excellent en suite room
    98%
    Ronald M June 2015
    Only 5 minutes to the action on Mitchell St., so quite here, which is what I wanted. On the bus route and the staff was most helpful in all matters requiring assistance.
    78%
    Douglas M June 2015
    No lockers in rooms, too small rooms for 6 people, cleanliness is ok, nice and friendly staff, good location
    78%
    Melanie S June 2015
    The first few days I took cold showers.. then I found out that the hot and the cold water cranes were switched. So the hot water was actually the cold one.. Room 12, maybe time to repair this :) Further it was really pleasant and no complaints.
    98%
    Stephanie R June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    406 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    76%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & security
    82%
    Value for money
    78%