Search YHA

Darwin YHA

  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (522 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Simple and nice. Room was spacious and clean for a 4 bed dorm. Everything i used was sufficient. Just an observation, the pool might need an upgrade soon.
    82%
    Ravi R January 2016
    Well situated, with minimal external noise, with only short walk to convenient super markets.
    100%
    Elaine B January 2016
    Nice staff, very helpful when my flight got cancelled and I had to figure all of my logistics out! Nice, clean dorms and really convenient en suite bathrooms! Atmosphere is a bit lacking as there's really no area for everyone to convene except for at the bar next door
    80%
    Niamh D January 2016
    No free locks, bad looking air conditionning, didn't smell good in the bedroom, dining room very durty. If it had been cheaper, I would have been more satisfied, but for 31$ / night for a 4 female bedroom (and this is discounted, as I'm a member), I'd really expect more...
    58%
    Caroline J December 2015
    This was the second time for me at Darwin YHA. Hasn't changed much in 5 years. The tv room now has chairs, thats an upgrade, haha. Overall the hostel could do with some updating, but other then that it's fine. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
    80%
    Ulrike E December 2015
    The location is good if you want to experience all aspects of Darwin, close to all the bars but far enough away so you can sleep too! Close to shops and transit as well. The hostel needs a lot of work. The ac didn't work in 2 out of 3 rooms we stayed in.
    62%
    Claire O November 2015
    It's dirty. No clean bathroom. Not recommended.
    42%
    Pedro m November 2015
    Staff is really friendly and funny! The room is really clean but the air-con is too weak even though turn it to the lowest temprature! And it is a bit far to supermaket comparer to other hostel. But overall it is a good experience to stay DarwinYHA
    82%
    YUK LUN November 2015
    YHA is always a secure place,its clean and the rooms are also,the counter staff are excellent, always helpfull,and happy in their work,recommend this YHA always cheers.
    100%
    Paul H November 2015
    our room didn't have kettle, cups coffee etc as in the picture . i was in a 4 bed girls room - which needs a cupboard for each person , clothes bags etc on the floor. The air con runs 24/7 needs to be quieter. No hanging hooks etc for towels . Very helpful staff. GREAT location, next to the Darwin Entertainment Centre and great restaurants . Bus's in Darwin easy - i recommend buying a day ticket rather than one trip ticket if going to markets, museum, sunset at Mindil Beach . Clean,Room & Bathroom good .Pool good .
    98%
    pamela s October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    78%
    522 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    74%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    80%
    Location
    84%
    Overall atmosphere
    75%
    Safety & security
    80%
    Value for money
    71%