Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (233 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nice hostel for enjoying and share with many people.
    87%
    Enrique A August 2017
    Excellent 4 travelling with bicycle. Great all round
    100%
    chris o August 2017
    Our room 53 was perfect, the disabled toilet just opposite us stunk though not because it wasn't clean but I think there maybe a leak/plumbing problem as it smelled very musty/mould like. Cheers for the stay your staff on front desk all spot on.
    78%
    Marion P August 2017
    It was very central and clean.
    100%
    Bev B August 2017
    Fantastic central location. Small room but clean, cool & functional. Good economical stay in Darwin. Didn't use the bar or pool area as only a short stay. Good parking available too.
    82%
    Karen G August 2017
    It was a very good and nice hostel! I had some problems with my key but the staff helped me by opening the room door for me!
    82%
    Nicole V August 2017
    It's alright, be aware that it's definitely a party hostel. It's quite noisy, but so is the whole area there. I slept in the 3rd floor (just girls) just for one night and in my room I didn't hear a lot of the partying outside. So it was okay to stay there. It's not the best YHA I've stayed at, but definitely not the worst either.
    87%
    Marianna S August 2017
    We were in room 11 and it STUNK. There was black mould on the wall below the airconditioner,this is a serious health hazard. Communal kitchen was great.
    60%
    Ken G August 2017
    Location is great. Some double / twin rooms are in adjacent building ... these are very quiet ... more a hotel atmosphere. The dorm facilities could need better cleaning and maintenance.
    73%
    Bjoern S August 2017
    Good location, we did two day trips to the national parks and we were picked up around the hostel.
    73%
    Lisanne J August 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    78%
    78%
    customer rating, based on 233 reviews
    Cleanliness
    72%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    80%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    76%
    Safety & Security
    79%
    Value for Money
    78%