Search YHA

Darwin YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (566 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    All the staff was nice and friendly
    78%
    Masahiro N May 2016
    Regarding the price this hostel is good. A litle old, need a refresh. Some mates of the staf are not so friendliness as they must to be. Many workers lives ther. It's Very quite in de nigth. The kitchen is small but if you choose some hours you Willis be no problem... it's Very hot inside.
    80%
    Alexandre N May 2016
    Cons There were no lockers in the rooms. You can't turn off the aircon and there are no blankets just sheets so its freezing at night. The rooms are very dark and the dark sheets make it only darker. The kitchen is very small and there is no sitting area only two picnic tables and a shabby dinning room. Pros The location is great. There was a fridge in the room.
    50%
    Viviane May 2016
    free bbq on tuesdays. very very clean private room. slow free wifi available. reception of premium upgrade ($5 per 24h) is not good all over the hostel as adverised (eg. climatised common room at the pool). well equipped kitchen.
    92%
    Manuel H May 2016
    Staff was of great help even before we arrived by booking us on a tour to Litchfield NP in advance. Thanks for letting us into our room 1 hour before official check-in time!
    85%
    Monika K May 2016
    checked in no problem, friendly helpful staff. But then after that wasn't so good. My room (all female) didn't smell very nice and I couldn't find a bathroom other than the ensuite so if someone else was using it you just had to wait. There was a walk way through to toilets of the bar next door but that is closed off at 10pm. One morning I was in my room when house keeping came round and it was a very poor cleaning effort. I went into the bathroom after to find that any hairs etc and just been mopped to the side. Also the kitchen was very small (I decided I wasn't even going to bother using it) and you had to go through the kitchen to get to the pool which was a bit impractical.
    75%
    Isla M April 2016
    Very friendly and helpful staff. (Please say hello to Simon for me.)
    100%
    Janette T April 2016
    The staff of YHA are friendly and helpful.
    88%
    Kam Fong T April 2016
    Nice and quiet hostel. Really relax
    100%
    romain f April 2016
    The staff were all helpful before and during my stay. It lacked a bit in atmosphere, compared for example, with Alice Springs YHA, which has a great layout with central communal areas. I wanted a quieter hostel though, so was very happy. My room was great and I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to a solo traveller like me.
    85%
    Anne S April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    566 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    74%
    Safety & security
    79%
    Value for money
    80%