Search YHA

Darwin YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (629 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staff are really nice and everything was clean etc...
    98%
    Manon H July 2016
    I much preferred this Hostel over Maleluca on Mitchell. There was a nice mix of young ppl, families and middle age like myself. It was great meeting everyone by the pool and tasting all the great and different foods ppl cooked up in the kitchen and on the BBQ. BTW the kitchen was really nice and well stocked! Lots of power outlets in the rooms!! that is wonderful. LOVED having a chair in the room. especially when your up on the top bunk. gives you a spot to put on your shoes! now all we need is a small table and the room is perfect! also like the ensuite bathrooms. ppl seems to keep them much cleaner!
    95%
    Michele W July 2016
    Very friendly staff, great opportunity to meet Australians and others traveling internationally.
    85%
    Chai B July 2016
    Worth the rate due to location & atmosphere. Within walking distance of shops & the waterfront, but further away from the other hostels and noise. Ensuite can be difficult with 6 people in a room, and the kitchen is a bit small.
    85%
    Kylie T July 2016
    bit pricey compared to others, but a great location and good atmosphere
    70%
    Charlotte C July 2016
    Love the hostel, but extra payment for wifi is too much.
    82%
    Carlotta S July 2016
    The hostel requires a lot of maintenance in both the rooms and the surrounding areas of all parts of the hostel It is very run down and pool area is filthy In general the hostel is in need of upgrading Smokes alarms are not working
    68%
    Susan M July 2016
    It was not very clean and the older staff are not polite or helpful. The younger staff is nicer though. And the location is good but almost all the other Hostels are in the same place.. So why stay in this one when you can choose a better one..
    50%
    Walkiria P July 2016
    YHA Darwin is a good hostel. They clean the room/bathroom and kitchen everyday. Which I think is a big plus! They even cleaned the filter of the airco during my stay, something you don't see often. Staff is friendly and helped me figure out some things about a tour I booked online.
    85%
    Roxanne R July 2016
    The staff is very rude. This opinion were almost all backpacker that I met at the hostel.
    65%
    Regina S July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    629 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    75%
    Condition of facilities
    71%
    Efficiency of service
    79%
    Friendliness of staff
    81%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & Security
    83%
    Value for Money
    72%