Search YHA

Darwin YHA

  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (508 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It's dirty. No clean bathroom. Not recommended.
    Pedro m November 2015
    Staff is really friendly and funny! The room is really clean but the air-con is too weak even though turn it to the lowest temprature! And it is a bit far to supermaket comparer to other hostel. But overall it is a good experience to stay DarwinYHA
    YUK LUN November 2015
    YHA is always a secure place,its clean and the rooms are also,the counter staff are excellent, always helpfull,and happy in their work,recommend this YHA always cheers.
    Paul H November 2015
    our room didn't have kettle, cups coffee etc as in the picture . i was in a 4 bed girls room - which needs a cupboard for each person , clothes bags etc on the floor. The air con runs 24/7 needs to be quieter. No hanging hooks etc for towels . Very helpful staff. GREAT location, next to the Darwin Entertainment Centre and great restaurants . Bus's in Darwin easy - i recommend buying a day ticket rather than one trip ticket if going to markets, museum, sunset at Mindil Beach . Clean,Room & Bathroom good .Pool good .
    pamela s October 2015
    We stayed in this hostel because all the others in Darwin had such bad reviews, and this one had better reviews. Its more expensive, but we figured for a good hostel it would be worth it. Unfortunately it wasn't. There was nothing terrible about the hostel, but it just wasn't that great either, so I don't think its worth the extra price over the others. Having said that I didn't go inside any of the others with the bad reviews, so maybe they really are terrible, but from the outside they all looked better than the YHA. The free parking is a good point though and I'm not sure if the other hostels have that. That might make it worthwhile if you have or are hiring a car, as otherwise there doesn't seem to be much free street parking around the city (although if you're there on a weekend I think the street parking is free).
    Kiri L October 2015
    It is a run down hostel and not what I expected from a YHA hostel. I definitely wouldn't recommend staying there, we stayed one night and moved to Melaleuca on mitchell that was cheaper and way better.
    Johny H October 2015
    It is a good hostel but the private room is quite expensive. It is though a good room and we were happy about it!
    Stéphanie K October 2015
    The rooms are a real mess and the kitchen is way too small for the number of people cooking at the same time. Better use the bbq area outside and cook alfresco!
    Benoit B October 2015
    Had a pretty good stay at the YHA, rooms were clean and roomy, but the bathroom had no soap or any hooks to hang stuff up which was really annoying. Staff were helpful but some were grumpy and unfriendly. Kitchen is small but does the job, location is good.
    Gillian O September 2015
    Staffs are very kind,and nice location.
    SEI I September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    508 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money