Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (77 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great location with lots of eateries and transport nearby.
    82%
    Anthony B May 2017
    This was one of only two hostels I stayed at in australia where I didn't enjoy it. The kitchen was small and poorly equipped compared with others and the hostel seemed only to exist to sell alcohol to partygoers.
    72%
    Ron S May 2017
    Great place, great mix of people, killer local!
    80%
    Simon N May 2017
    Personally I find the hostel too huge. I prefer to stay at smaller and more personal places. The staff was friendly and helpful. And young people who like to party are here at the right place.
    78%
    Claudia E May 2017
    This hostel is a all joke. We came here for one night because of the good reviews, but we just lost 71$. We booked a double bed room (with a bunk bed included) and we had to sleep at two in the lowest single bed of the bunk beds because the double bed was half broken (if you like rabbit holes or giant holes, this place is for you) and the top bed of the bunk beds was just under the air con (and we're not allowed to turn off or to adjust it), so perfect to be sick ! Anyway, when we checked out, we signaled it to the staff who "couldn't refund us because we hadn't signaled the issue at the time we have found it". It could have been a good argument, unfortunately it was 1:00AM when we found out the bed was half broken, and we were just too tired to do anything else expect sleeping. And, really, isn't it a joke to say that to your customers ? Please, be responsible for your own shit and don't try to make the customers guilty. If you offer a double bed room in your hostel and If people pay for it, just verify that the bed is not half broken ! Isn't it the staff's responsibility ? The bed has been made before our arrivals so someone must have noticed the room wasn't decent ! Anyway, it is a real pity and a real shame to have to write this review. Especially when the manager didn't even show his face to say sorry, even if he was just next to us, in his office. All of this is a joke. So, to all the people looking for accomodations in Darwin : Don't go to this hostel, really, you can have much better in Darwin for the same price. Don't be misguided because of the good reviews : except parties and drunk people, this hostel has nothing. Thanks for... nothing.
    48%
    Sarah F May 2017
    I found the staff and management very helpful having arrived early hours of the morning I would highly recommend it
    100%
    Maxwell S May 2017
    Party hostel! Overall it's clean. Kitchen is way to small. You have to pay a deposit to get a plate and cutlery, there is not a spot in the hostel where you can just relax and have some relaxing time for yourself.
    70%
    Mylene M May 2017
    This hostel is great if you're looking for a party atmosphere, and is generally clean. However paying for wifi, lack of power points (2 in a 6 man room) construction noise, little indoor chill out space and general loud behaviour meant it was a pretty average stay with a poor nights sleep.
    62%
    jade m May 2017
    Cheap, friendly and clean place to stay.
    98%
    Amy L May 2017
    Great place o party and meeting other people
    82%
    AmeenAlexander J May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    75%
    75%
    customer rating, based on 77 reviews
    Cleanliness
    66%
    Condition of facilities
    67%
    Efficiency of service
    76%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    73%
    Safety & Security
    75%
    Value for Money
    69%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!