Search YHA

Darwin YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (712 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel is a bit old and not alike the other YHA on the city like Sydney, Melbourne or Brisbane. But the staff is really trying to make you enjoying your stay and the bathroom in each bedroom is very enjoyable.
    Allan C October 2016
    Nice and clean stay in Darwin. Good staffs and a silent hostle.
    Achim H October 2016
    Awesome hostel!! Great location, facilities and service!! Overall really good value for money! Staff were super friendly and always very accommodating and helpful. We really enjoyed the atmosphere in the hostel!! All types of people and of all ages stay here which makes it a pretty cool place. We met some awesome people staying in this hostel and are so glad we choose YHA over the other hostels on Mitchell street! 10 out of 10!
    Fiona K October 2016
    Facilities are alright, but definitely not worth the price. A very expensive hostel that doesn't offer too much. Except for one member of staff everyone was very unfriendly and I felt like a nuisance everytime I had to ask something at reception
    Katja H October 2016
    Quiet, centrally located hostel. Spacious dorm rooms with good size ensuite. Only negative was that the air conditioning unit was not adequate for the size of the room and the room was really hot to sleep in.
    Al J October 2016
    The manager is really not friendly. But the rest of the staff is very nice.
    Elsa B October 2016
    Great location. Quiet, relaxed atmosphere. First YHA I have been to that has daily housekeeping which was very efficient.
    Belinda Lee A October 2016
    The staff was really nice, welcoming and helpful. Even when I asked for sightseeing advices they know where to go. They also have nice specials like free pancakes on Sunday (really yummy) or free yoga classes. It is also great that it is on Mitchell street but a bit further down so you can go out but you don't have the noise of the pubs if you want to sleep.
    Ti G October 2016
    The receptionist this morning was extremely rude, unhelpful and some what threatening in his manner. My brother and I waited for him to leave before returning. Not what I would expect from a youth hostel.
    Caroline September 2016
    Very basic hostel. Was nice having a private bathroom in a four female dorm. The best part was the helpful staff who were very welcoming and helped book tours and shuttles. Location was also good as it is close to several restaurants, bars and grocery stores.
    Lindsey R September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    712 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money