Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (122 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staff friendly and helpful but building interior badly needs refurbishing. eg shower nozzle kept coming free from pipe. 'Hot' water temperature fluctuated between ambient and warm. Bedroom and corridors smelt stale. Carpets stained, door frames rusting, paint in poor condition etc
    58%
    John S June 2017
    To much like Spring Break for me. Probably staff was good 60/40. Probably depends on what one is looking for. I believe the staff sets the tone of a facility.
    58%
    Baine P June 2017
    Great location and friendly staff
    87%
    Stephen O June 2017
    Love it- perfect!
    87%
    Adam G June 2017
    Excellent hostel, excellent location, excellent staff!
    100%
    Nina D June 2017
    Perfectly located to shopping, bars, restaurants, takeaways and all sorts of eating.
    98%
    Trevor C June 2017
    First time at the new Darwin YHA location and I think I prefer the former location better. If only because it's just that little further away from the noisy nightspots that bang on loudly to all hours of the morning on Fri/Sat/Sun. Lovely staff though and quite comfortable. I'd nevertheless stay again despite the noise.
    84%
    Scott N June 2017
    The air conditioner was too loud and disturbed our sleep. The mattress was not comfortable. Usually I don't mind, but the amount of money that you spend it's just not worth it.
    82%
    Maya C June 2017
    I enjoyed the room and my stay. The only complaint would be that the television did not work very well. I could not get the volume down and was forced to turn it off completely. Otherwise the room was tidy and the staff very friendly. I would stay here again. The location was perfect although a little noisy but is to be expected staying in the party area of Darwin.
    93%
    Linda F June 2017
    Excellent location with friendly staff.
    100%
    Diana E June 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    82%
    customer rating, based on 122 reviews
    Cleanliness
    79%
    Condition of facilities
    76%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    74%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!