Search YHA

Darwin YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Darwin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (668 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very friendly staff and comfortable beds.
    85%
    Kerstin T August 2016
    Well located hostel - close to the city and buses, but in a quieter part of Mitchell Street which I appreciated. Facilities were decent and rooms were very clean, but I would have preferred if there were lockers in the room. Staff were very helpful and also let you keep your bag in luggage storage if you were going on tours to Kakadu etc. The main downside is that the common areas weren't very big so the atmosphere wasn't the same as in some other hostels.
    90%
    Sarah I August 2016
    We all enjoyed our stay and found the location was brilliant and the desk staff extremely helpful in answering queries and making bookings. Will certainly recommend this hostel to others
    95%
    Wendy F W August 2016
    This hostel is great if you're looking for a quiet place to stay, but I would not recommend it if you are looking for a social hostel. There were no social activities planned for the whole time I was there (4 nights). The hostel has a pool area and TV room but there was never anybody using these spaces. It was hard to meet people here. Organised activities would really help improve the atmosphere of this hostel. A simple pub crawl or games night can really make a place feel more welcoming and improve people's experience overall, especially if they are a solo traveller like myself.
    78%
    Claire B August 2016
    Very expensive compared to other YHA hostels. Needs updating, the room had a funny smell and the bathroom was literally falling apart. The TV room furniture had stains on and was so uncomfortable. I chose this hostel as I stayed in the YHA in Adelaide and thought they would all be the same but this is definitely not the case. Good points are location, kitchen area is clean and plenty of plates etc and it's quite so you can get a good sleep.
    65%
    Clare M August 2016
    No locker, no bed light, no sockets beside my bed, but clean and staff was OK and can be helpful.
    70%
    Dorothy K August 2016
    The location of the hostel was ideal as we were able to walk to most of the places we were interested in. The kitchen is quite small so it it a good idea to get in there early before the crowds. Good idea to have a free sausage sizzle. We made friends with a nice German family. A good stay.
    92%
    Lynette S August 2016
    Staff was quite unhelpful and uninterested. Staying here was disappointing since I stayed in many YHA's before and had much better experiences. Also the lack of hot water or lockers in the rooms are basics that surprised me.
    60%
    Mirre V August 2016
    I think the best part of this place was meeting interesting people and having good conversations with people staying here.
    72%
    Ben W August 2016
    i found all the other roommates travellers very friendly .great that this is not a party hostel it allows you to still have a good time but get some sleep early too if u wish .the kitchen facilities were excellent and were well equiped i really liked the pool hammock and bean bag chill out areas were very relaxing and the bbq tables were a great way to socialise .good laundry facilities .great location on mitchel st close to cafes and coles .free bbq on tuesday night were great too. beds were comfy also.it was also good having a fridge and bathroom in the room which most hostels dont have allowed me to store food in a safe place
    85%
    sally s August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    668 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    82%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & Security
    83%
    Value for Money
    74%