Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

What travellers think

Reviews (359 guests have reviewed this hostel)
YHA Melaleuca is perfect for any new comer into Darwin. The reception and atmosphere is welcoming, relaxed and easy going. It’s smack dab in the city. Bars, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets literally next door.
95%
Michael R 13/02/2018
Had a good experience here- the facilities are a bit dated but I think that's just part of the deal here in Darwin. Great location. Bathrooms and kitchen were regularly maintained. The mattresses are worn and stained but you get clean sheets when you arrive. There is a bar and pool area so I could hear faint music from my room, but it wasn't an issue for me to sleep through. Service was friendly. Keep in mind there are only 2 outlets per room, so bring a power strip if you can! Would recommend!
95%
Dymarie P 12/02/2018
24h reception desk; lockers; nice common areas
78%
Giovanni 08/02/2018
Not the cleanest, Some of the staff were friendly and helpfull. Others definitly not. Large rooms with sometimes weird set up..so you have to climb up a bunk Like a parcours. Ensuite bathrooms were not the newest, but fine. Get’s really wet. Outdoor area was cool, kitchen small but clean.
65%
Maria S 29/01/2018
We enjoyed staying here. The facilities were very good, although we found our double room (with ensuite) a bit small. Very pleased that the room was air conditioned. The idea of a bar area was good, but a quiet lounge room would be most welcome. Staff were very attentive ie. Had unsafe light switch, which was fixed after reporting it; also asked for an extra towel to use at the pool and request was promptly attended to.
95%
Anne N 28/01/2018
It has been perfect for our stay, thank you very much
100%
ANA l 24/01/2018
The hostel was nice. We didn't use the facilities upstairs as they sounded a little too upbeat for us. There was a problem with our double room but the desk staff rectified it straight away by giving us a 4 bed dorm to ourselves. The cleaners were wonderful and the desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There were occasions where there were a number of drunk/loud inhabitants but our room was fairly soundproof. Would stay again if we ever came back to Darwin.
90%
Emma M 24/01/2018
Centrally located, very convenient.
98%
Geralyn F 16/01/2018
Loved staying here the staff are fantastic. Yonni from the bar was awesome. Can't wait to go back.....
92%
Wendy F 15/01/2018
Hostel staff was great provided me with a lot of comfort thank you very much will recommended to others
100%
Fengki T 15/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
77%
Condition of facilities
76%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
81%
Safety & Security
83%
Value for Money
84%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL