Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (4132 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Fab staff, very friendly after a very testing day - thank you! Clean and modern bathrooms, were also a big plus! Air con worked and bed very comfy. Cairns... Good to get out to the reef, but is a party town. Stay in Port Douglas if you're past hostels.
80.0%
Emily S 19/10/2017
Besides the cleanliness we did not have a pleasant stay at yha! We booked this hostel because of free WiFi and free Airport Transfer. Neither of these were available for free!! In the end we paid TWENTY Dollars for Airport Transfer and had zero WiFi outside the reception. After we complained about the Airport Transfer you deleted it on hostelworld - too late for us!!! None of your workers (Besides the brown-haired man yesterday at reception) were friendly or willing to help us!! Thanks for nothing! We will give bad reviews on hostelworld and tell all our friends about your missleading information! We booked yha in byron bay, cairns and Brisbane because we had hoped a company as big as yha would be trustworthy and reliable - it is not!! Yha Byron Bay is a catastrophy! Brisbane is okay, but also has no "free WiFi" except bad working WiFi in reception. It is at least missleading if not fraud, to claim to offer "free WiFi", If it is only at reception! Then you have to write "partly free WiFi", "free WiFi in some areas" etc. Same with "free Airport Transfer" - 20 Dollar is NOT free!!!Thanks for nothing!!!
20.0%
Kim R 17/10/2017
It only takes one staff member to spoil stay don,t know person name worked everyday during day wore a beard solid built stand over guy whe should be not seen by guests that why on surevy you receive lower rating
40.0%
John P 16/10/2017
The staff were so incredibly helpful and kind. They helped me make the most out of my stay and were always checking in to see how the adventures went. The facilities were also very well kept and had everything you could need! Being across from the mall is great for any quick things you need as well!
100.0%
Michelle C 15/10/2017
The staff was lovely and I really liked that everything was thought through. It is always an amazing experience when a hostel supplies all of the amenities you might need (under water camera / tour info / sunscreen)! Also I forgot something at the hostel and the bus driver and the person working at reception were able to work together to find it and bring it to me at the airport! Xoxox forever grateful
80.0%
Elena S 13/10/2017
great location, clean room, great facilities. It was a nice quiet place to stay
100.0%
Jordi D 12/10/2017
Lovely staff who dealt with your issues in a friendly and professional manner.
100.0%
Nevan B 10/10/2017
Great hostel for couples, FREE pancakes were a welcomed bonus. We stayed in 6 bed dorm and it still was quiet and pleasant, everything very clean and facilities like the TV Room, Pool and nightly social activities were awesome. Will definitely recommend to friends and will stay again.
80.0%
Stacy F 09/10/2017
I like the ambiance and the free pancake the morning that's pretty good. Thank you for the nice host in Cairns. See you soon 😉
100.0%
Benedicte N 08/10/2017
The hotel is in an excellent location and it is particularly convenient to be able to have secure off-street parking
100.0%
Marlene Ruth B 06/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91.0%
customer rating, based on 4132 reviews
Cleanliness
93.0%
Condition of facilities
91.0%
Efficiency of service
93.0%
Friendliness of staff
91.0%
Location
94.0%
Overall atmosphere
87.0%
Safety & Security
95.0%
Value for Money
87.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL