Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (4423 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The team that work there are really friendly and gave a lot of local advice. They helped a lot with tours and give some helpful advice and recommendations. The team were always happy and said hello to you when walked in and you could have a laugh with them.
100%
Celeste H 21/05/2018
Great facilities, fantastic location, A bit pricey, 4 share way to small, 6 share better.
68%
Anthony B 14/05/2018
Everybody is super friendly and the staff members are polite and welcoming. I loved my stay at the Cairns Central YHA and would highly recommend it to anybody looking for quality accommodation at a good price!
100%
James B 14/05/2018
One of the best of at least a dozen YHA stays
95%
Ray D 13/05/2018
Always a pleasure to stay here when in Cairns. My teenage daughters love the atmosphere & the location is very convenient.
100%
Laurence M 13/05/2018
Cool spot, new appliances, and bathrooms, clean and friendly. It’s a hostel, it’s fun! Can be cheerful till late ;)
88%
Katarzyna S 09/05/2018
Great place!
100%
John K 07/05/2018
All staff are really friendly and kind when I asked them. Good access to the shopping mall helped me a lot as well.
98%
Maria 05/05/2018
The staff were the best I've encountered at any YHA in Australia and they've all been great. The accommodation is good but I had a twin room to myself and I think if two people had been in there it would have been very cramped. I liked the activities arranged each week and the pool and Jacuzzi are a lovely addition. The location in town is great for amenities but as a woman travelling on my own I did feel more vulnerable on the street at night than in other cities.
82%
Erica M 05/05/2018
Like it but I would appreciate the magement was more quicker to respond with loudly and irrespectul backapapers.
92%
Enzo G 03/05/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
94%
Condition of facilities
92%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
91%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL