Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (4222 guests have reviewed this hostel)
❤️From the moment I entered YHA Cairns I felt at home! Twan (sp?) knew who I was, carried my bag up many flights of stairs and always had a smile and a friendly comment. He answered all my tour questions and was just THE BEST! Dean, Rachel and other staff members were very helpful as well! Aside from the dense humidity, I really enjoyed my time in Cairns! I will definitely recommend this hostel to my US hostel friends! Once again, THANK YOU! Merry Christmas and a Happy 2018 to you and yours!!!❤️ Joanne Greig🇺🇸
100%
Joanne G 11/12/2017
I loved my stay at Cairns Central YHA. It was my first hostel experience, and I think it was great! The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly, honest and helpful. They really take the time in case you have any questions/issues or would like some information about what to do in and around Cairns. Would definitely stay there again. Also, there was a good atmosphere in the hostel and I met a lot of nice people!
100%
Lisa 10/12/2017
YHA never disappoints but cairn central was particularly great. Friendly staff, swimming pool, clean rooms, $2 deposit for beach towels, free pancakes, wifi and help booking our day trips were just spot on! Thanks guys!
92%
Lois M 09/12/2017
Loved my stay here it's very open and relaxed, would definitely stay again. It is across the street from the mall and their is a shuttle to and from the airport. Everything else is an easy 15-20 minute walk away.
95%
Mackensea L 09/12/2017
Loved it! Everything that you need for an awesome price. Lovely staff who go above and beyond to make sure you have a good stay, great/new facilities, private room was comfy and clean and they offered many free activities and food deals. Highly recommend :)
100%
Amelia R 07/12/2017
The staff was REALLY helpfull!
85%
Neseli K 04/12/2017
It was great to have a bathroom in our room. Also excellent laundry facilities, including a clothesline with clothespins 👍👍 which is great for backpackers. Comfortable beds.Stores and train station were within easy walking distance . Short walk to the esplanade. Free pancake breakfast is a bonus. Definitely would recommend this hostel.
100%
Margaret B 02/12/2017
Wonderful, superb hostel. Excellent.
100%
Frances R 01/12/2017
Layout of the facilities is very good. Swimming pool.
90%
Adrian K 01/12/2017
I found the staff most helpful and very friendly. Always had the answer to any of my questions. Thank you.
95%
Sandra B 29/11/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

93%
customer rating, based on 4222 reviews
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
92%
Efficiency of service
95%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
92%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL