Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3392 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Reasonable price , good location , very clean everywhere, staff is good and helpful
    Andrew Y October 2016
    Staff at hostel were very friendly and helpful. Pool and spa were a bonus!
    Audrey L October 2016
    I stayed one night in transit at the YHA. At first I was a bit concerned that the noise from the communal area would keep me awake. Much to my delight everyone respected the noise curfew and I had a quiet sleep. The central location is fabulous. My only issue was being used to sleeping on a pillow-top mattress the bed was really hard.
    Ann C October 2016
    First time at this hostel and you couldn't fault it. Spacious design with a lovely courtyard and pools. Friendly staff and great value for money.
    Scott N October 2016
    I always stay st this hostel when I'm in Cairns, Erin was particularly helpful helping me book trips and ongoing YHA accommodation. We had an issue with the pass key to our dorm (407) this was a minor inconvenience but all in all good stay as always.
    Alison M October 2016
    Seems to be a party/drinking culture developed here, had to ask someone to move his loud drunk conversation from a 10 bed dorm to one of the many communal areas. Not typical of other YHAs I've stayed in.
    Danny October 2016
    I really enjoyed my stay, wish I could stay longer. On my list if I come back.
    Monique B October 2016
    Really good hostel. Showers and toilets are really modern and clean. I especially enjoyed the movie night on the big screen and the free popcorn/ morning pancakes. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Only problem is there are little bug (small ants) in the rooms/ kitchen. Not sure what they were but I think they were attracted by the food area.
    Emma October 2016
    Great place to stay, clean facilities, the pancakes for breakfast were very nice, Thank you!
    Tanya S October 2016
    Considering that it's right in the city it's really nice, great pool, best and newest bathroom!
    Lisa October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    3392 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money