Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3343 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    very helpful staff at the reception for planning the trip. everything was organized and planned professionally for me. the kitchen was used by many guests so it wasn't always cleaned and tidied up (dishes weren't cleaned and stored). it was e good stay to start a trip at the east coast.
    88%
    Sarah H September 2016
    Come to Cairns, you will love it.
    95%
    Marc H September 2016
    I stayed for a day. But my experience was very good as I booked a single private room so I can't comment on dorms.
    100%
    Saurabh K September 2016
    Stayed here with teenage children, extremely friendly, clean & secure. Great location right opposite Cairns Central. Very quiet & relaxed atmosphere.
    100%
    Laurence M September 2016
    Did not know there are many stairs to room with private bath. Glad husband is strong to carry our luggage up. We are older and hostelling is for the young. This YHA has nice communal areas and a pool but sometimes uncomfortable when the drunk jerk guys were loud and saying terrible things about women and swearing. That should not be allowed!
    82%
    susie m September 2016
    I found the staff very helpful and friendly during my stay and provided were able to provide some great tips. The room I stayed in was clean and I wouldn't have an issue with staying Cairns Central again if I was to be in cairns again.
    98%
    tricia H September 2016
    We booked the twin room. A basic but clean room. Staff were helpful and the facilities were good. Excellent location.
    82%
    Gracie E September 2016
    Wonderful Place, everything perfect
    95%
    Werner R. r September 2016
    Very friendly and helpful staff, from tips about things to do, to doing bookings. Quiet at night, perfect for those who wish to rest. Excelent pancakes in the mornings. I was only surprised to pay for daily storage luggage - other YHAs did this for free. A little bit far from Greyhound bus stop for those who carry heavy backpacks. Overall, great stay, recommend to everybody.
    95%
    Anamaria S September 2016
    Chosen for location relating to my travel requirements this time. Always reliable and you know what you are getting. Pancakes are a real bonus too when you get in late. Cheers Christine
    95%
    ChristineChristine S September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    3343 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    91%
    Efficiency of service
    97%
    Friendliness of staff
    97%
    Location
    93%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & Security
    93%
    Value for Money
    90%