Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2888 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Parking too expensive
    100%
    George G February 2016
    The first 2 rooms I was told had a free bed in them were completely full. The 3rd room had a bed available. It's nothing serious to me but I feel it still should be noted to help prevent future confusion. Overall however, my stay was quite wonderful. The staff was friendly and the location offers many forms of entertainment in and around the YHA. 10 out of 10 well earned.
    98%
    Shawn M January 2016
    Bed was broken so I could feel something sharp on my back whole the time in the bed. They didn't keep my luggage after check out, even one to two hours! They said use the paid lockers but it was too expensive. 8 dollars for 4-6 hours. Wi-fi is too slow. And it works only in front of the reception. And they charge 5 dollars for one day use of high speed internet. No Airport pick-up. There's some accommodation with free airport pick up. You can stay hotel with this all the money.
    48%
    Jinkoo Y January 2016
    Very nice stay. I enjoyed coming back to the pool when the Cairns lagoon got too crowded. Free pancake breakfast is ok( but it's free!). Hostel is very clean, staff was helpful
    90%
    Keara January 2016
    Jackie at the Tour desk is the best! Go and book all your tours with her!!! You will not regret it! The free pancakes at breakfast was a lovely treat and surprise :-)
    100%
    Turid C January 2016
    it was an excellent place to stay in. it is centrally located, near the Cairns station, coles, K mart etc. lot of activities on offer. the shuttle service is good and cost effective. very friendly staff. the pancakes are tasty. a must stay place for singles, buddies and families. the best backpacker of its kind in Central Cairns
    100%
    Shreelaalit J January 2016
    Especially for Japanese ,some stuff (including Japanese ) speak Japanese and give us good information about YHA,town , Tours ,etc .It nwas very good.And I knew in Cairns City ,there are some many B&B type good acomodations,so YHA have to win this conpetition and they are successful I supposed.
    85%
    Haruo I January 2016
    They also offer free pancakes for breakfast which after travelling for 3months was a nice bonus!
    92%
    Caroline M January 2016
    It was nice and fresh. They had i pool with specific opening hours and checkout time at 10:00. (I dont know if any of these times are true, it seems to be a bit "island time"-ish. They didnt serve breakfast until 09:00 for example, even thou they told us the day before. Which led to that we didnt get any breakfast.) The bed and sheets where really good. Although they dont seem to change the "nordic cover" on the quilt?! Best sleep we had in 3 months! The room was small and felt a bit like a prison cell (as they look on american movies at least). I liked it, but if you dont like small spaces maybe you should have a look first. The ppl working there where really nice, but the pancake lady seemed a bit tired.
    62%
    Hampus H January 2016
    Next to the Cairns Central RailStation, it was easy to find and the location was ideal for our needs. We stayed only one night due to a timeshare not available till the next day. Staff very friendly and we were able to achieve all we needed to do, including a reservation for a snorkeling trip.
    100%
    Vicki Jo S January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    2888 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    86%