Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3401 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great stay. Need to improve customer service. Upon checkin and checkout no formal greeting or personal touch at all.
    Nicholas B October 2016
    Was always good, with clean towel and morning pancakes has become excellent. As Australian residents traveling by car, we like the hostel with its secure parking.
    Henny and Hette K October 2016
    After a bumpy first morning (it was dealt with really nicely by one of the lovely ladies on reception) I really enjoyed my stay at YHA. The staff were friendly & happy to help & answer questions. I'd recommend here to people for sure.
    Leah W October 2016
    Great YHA very well located and a special thanks to Romi who's been so helpful for the rest of my trip.
    Nicolas B October 2016
    Great travel service and facilities, handy location, relaxed, friendly, excellent deals with other businesses.
    Naomi S October 2016
    Nothing to fault and plenty to praise. A great hostel stay!
    Fiona N October 2016
    The hostel was very clean, which is most important to me, but also had lots of fun events and opportunities for free food! The staff were very friendly and very helpful, and I would certainly stay there again.
    Emma W October 2016
    Simply amazing ...
    Wasnik M October 2016
    Reasonable price , good location , very clean everywhere, staff is good and helpful
    Andrew Y October 2016
    Staff at hostel were very friendly and helpful. Pool and spa were a bonus!
    Audrey L October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    3401 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money