Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3081 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Right in the heart of Cairns, handy and within walking distance of pretty much everything! The perfect "jump off" point to everything around Cairns as well! great value for money!
    100%
    Alan B May 2016
    Good hostel; would recommend. First YHA hostel I stayed at and it left a good impression. Set an expectation for other YHAs! Staff friendly and helpful in booking tours!
    100%
    Emily T May 2016
    Really nice low key place to stay in a clean, safe environment,the staff were always friendly and efficient,highly recommend.
    98%
    Matthew P May 2016
    An excellent hostel in a great location in the Cairns CBD. The kitchen facility was outstanding in its cleanliness.
    100%
    Marlene Ruth B May 2016
    Does not have any computers to use with a YHA Connect card, but otherwise met all my needs fully.
    92%
    Allan L May 2016
    Great stay here, the bathrooms are the nicest I've come across whilst staying in hostels in Oz! The walk to the front isn't too bad and everything is around you.
    95%
    Aimee K May 2016
    location is good and have a nice price
    80%
    LONG C May 2016
    A very Big thank you to YHA Cairns Staff, Erin, Tarli, the 2 young Ladies who prepare pancakes for breakfast and the young man at reception when I arrived for check-in ... Many thanks to you ... Have a great day ! : )))
    100%
    Michael J May 2016
    helpful and kind reception! appreciate them
    82%
    Aliza T May 2016
    Lockers in the rooms too small, can't fit a normal sized suitcase holding 20 kgs. Not enough light in the rooms , no windows that you can open and let some air in. I was in a room of 10, not enough plug sockets in the room. Not enough room for 10 people to stay in the room. It was a real squeeze. Door card did not work after the first day. Every day for 3 days I had to go to reception about 3-4 times and each time they gave me a card, the card did not work. In the end the receptionist had to keep going up to let me in.
    58%
    Shazia a May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    3081 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    90%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    91%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    89%