Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

91%
Cairns , QLD

Winner of the 2014 Best Backpacker Awards in the Queensland Tourism Awards, Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel has all a backpacker needs for a comfortable stay.

$21.50
Check availability
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Entrance
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Swimming Pool
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Dorm Room
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - 4 Share Dorm
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Family Room
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Kitchen
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Hammocks
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Pool Table
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Tour Desk
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Dining Room
Right now in Cairns ...
10:04 AM
|
23°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2469 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nice Youth Hostel which has a pool and a jacuzzi inside.
    78%
    Jongbok L July 2015
    I deliberately chose a single room because I needed a good night's sleep; however, every 30 to 60 seconds there was an awful noise right outside my window (room 111), which I discovered was the gas outlet (or something). Finally slept from about 2am.
    92%
    Heather H July 2015
    Stayed 2 x in a week. Both times, next to my room window, a [i think] compressor motor cycled-on for about 10 seconds every few minutes. Had to wear ear plugs (fortunately, I had with me) both nights. Diabolical! Everything else about the hostile was perfectly acceptable, but I won't stay here again on account of that disturbance.
    82%
    Charles F July 2015
    I was in r.115 and appreciated the silent,efficient Daikon airconditioning after staying in Darwin with the noisiest old rattlebox of an aircon. Cairns r.115 aircon was so effective I had to ask for a second blanket. But my room mates were from Europe and Aussie heat + humidity hit them harder than me (an Aussie).
    88%
    Adrienne L July 2015
    i been go few time 2002 2005 , verry nice place , i very enjoy moment ! little bit far about sea , for finish my favorite place is Cairns!
    100%
    martin b July 2015
    Great location
    88%
    TERRI B June 2015
    Ein sehr nettes Hostel und wer nachts gerne schlafen will hat hier seine Ruhe (im Gegensatz zum BackpackerHostel). Die Atmosphere ist sehr angenehm und relaxed. Freie Pfannkuchen zum Fruehstueck -total genial!
    85%
    Linda B June 2015
    I had such a great stay at this YHA! I met wonderful people from all over the world over free pancakes every morning. There was a big sense of community and the staff was very helpful & friendly!!
    95%
    Misty S June 2015
    One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Great location and facilities. Can't beat the value for money. Free wifi was great considering a lot of local resorts charge insane prices for wifi.
    90%
    Mick C June 2015
    Great location for shops & travel connections
    98%
    John S June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    2469 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    88%