Search YHA

Cape Tribulation YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Cape Tribulation YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (175 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This hostel is not signposted as a YHA hostel at all; on any tourist literature, maps, or signs. Keep driving until you run out of tarmac. There is no cellular coverage, and the Wifi is unreliable, has poor coverage, and is expensive. The power has a tendency to turn off unexpectedly, and the sound of the generator in the middle of the accommodation block ruins the ambiance at night. There are no power points in any of the rooms, or lockers to secure your valuables. Front desk staff not very helpful and need better training. There is AC in the rooms though, which is good. The beach is nice, but not worth the effort and expense required to get there to be honest. After three hours exploring, you're done. Go to Palm Beach or 4 Mile Beach at Port Douglas instead. Much closer and just as nice. The ambiance at the hostel is nice though, nestled in amongst the rainforest. Was nice to visit despite it's shortcomings, but I won't be going back (I live in Cairns).
    62%
    Daniel S July 2016
    Probably the most awesome hostel I have ever been to. Staff is outstandingly friendly. Really. Thank you so much!
    100%
    Julian D July 2016
    This hostel is a bit further north of Cape Tribulation "down town" just next to the beach where the sealed road ends. With friendly staff and a location right in the jungle with separate bungalows (four rooms per bungalow) staying in this YHA was really nice. The on-site restaurant also has some "backpacker deals" like Chili nachos, burger or salad for $16 incl. one drink each. Nice one!
    90%
    Axel G July 2016
    I was unable to stay the night of my reservation due to flight issues and I was able to stay the following night due to the nice staff!
    90%
    Michael S July 2016
    The beds were awful! Mattress was way too old and had a deep imprint. The bar was nice but expensive food for what it was. Staff were friendly and was a great place to stay if you have a car and could get out and about. Would recommend new mattresses for all dorm beds.
    82%
    Tracey B April 2016
    Wonderful spot but realise you are isolated. Do not swim in ocean in stinger season!
    72%
    Diane G February 2016
    Absolutely fantastic location - really magical. Great value for money and super friendly staff.
    100%
    Keri M January 2016
    It was very nice because of the jungle but the kitchen was very bad. we had no electricity for the breakfest and it smellled bad.
    78%
    Frabziska T December 2015
    Gorgeous location right of the beach. Great way to experience the rainforest.
    92%
    Brianna M December 2015
    Great location and friendly helpful staff only let down by a rather basic kitchen area with plastic crockery and very poor (even for a backpackers) quality of kitchen gear.
    92%
    John S August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    175 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & Security
    89%
    Value for Money
    89%