Search YHA

Cape Tribulation YHA

  • Customer reviews of Cape Tribulation YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (163 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Absolutely fantastic location - really magical. Great value for money and super friendly staff.
    100%
    Keri M January 2016
    It was very nice because of the jungle but the kitchen was very bad. we had no electricity for the breakfest and it smellled bad.
    78%
    Frabziska T December 2015
    Gorgeous location right of the beach. Great way to experience the rainforest.
    92%
    Brianna M December 2015
    Great location and friendly helpful staff only let down by a rather basic kitchen area with plastic crockery and very poor (even for a backpackers) quality of kitchen gear.
    92%
    John S August 2015
    I loved this place!!! I am hoping to come back for longer next time. Just perfect!
    100%
    Kasha S August 2015
    This is an amazing get away, hidden in the tropical rain forest, right on the beach. Once you cross the Daintree River by the car ferry, it's another world - no power lines, it's basic but refreshing. Take your own food if you're planning to self cater, but the cafe & bar were great value. Don't bother with the wifi - you won't need it the forest is so beautiful. Do spend as much time as possible at the beach and the forest - you'll probably never get another chance again.
    92%
    Linda B August 2015
    we had a really great experience. We all liked sleeping in the Daintree forest, in the cabins. The place is really nice. I definitely recommend to spend a night there.
    85%
    Ana G August 2015
    The beach house is located after cape tribulation ans 5min of unsealed road (OK fort normal cars). As if you were reaching the end of the world. The place is beautiful and the beach is a paradise!!! But the kitchen is not welcoming: there is not enough stuff and space. And it's a bit expensive fort a YHA. But still, we have enjoyed our stay and have wonderful memories!!
    80%
    Leduc N July 2015
    A perfect location! Matt was great and able to accommodate us for an extra night which meant we were able to participate in their 15th birthday celebrations. What great fun!
    78%
    G T July 2015
    Located nicely in the rainforest and on the beach. The facilities are very basic and old with hippy-like atmosphere. AC old type (noisey) The bar and kitchen is just OK. You will probably need a long walk to your cabin. The adjoining beach while remote and clean is not the best beach for sand. I guess the surrounding activities/tours are all good to do. 1 hr drive from from car ferry ($24)
    65%
    greg m April 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    163 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    80%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    93%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    90%