Search YHA

Cooktown YHA

85%
Cooktown , QLD

Pam's Place YHA backpackers hostel, is located in Cooktown and the hostel provides complimentary tea and coffee to guests. Interne...

$25
Check availability
  • Customer reviews of Cooktown YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (43 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We had a great stay at Pam's Place. Scott was helpful with directions and very friendly (he even educated us about the local crocdiles!). The room was clean and we were plesantly surprised to have a cable TV, fresh towels and soap supplied for us. Much needed after being on the road. We didn't use the kitchen facilities but used the barbecue and it worked great. Overall a very nice stay in cook town!
    100%
    Alexandra K June 2015
    2 bed dorm rooms with TV/DVD & a fridge. Large, well equipped kitchen & dining room, plenty of off-street parking - all backpacker hostel owner/managers should visit to see how it can be done.
    100%
    Paul M June 2015
    This is definitely not one of my favorite YHA's. The bathroom and kitchen did not seem to be cleaned on a daily basis hence they were pretty dirty which was very unexpected for a YHA hostel. The rooms are a bit outdated and could use a face lift. The location is good. It is a low cost YHA, so you are essentially getting what you paid for.
    70%
    Rachel W June 2015
    Pams place is a great place to stay. Staff very helpful and friendly.
    98%
    John & Yvonne D May 2015
    Accommodation is fine but filthy kitchen and not enough sweeping etc around the hostel area. Friends in the motel area had much nicer situation.
    68%
    Robin T July 2014
    Pams place is a pleasant walk to town. The manager was helpful. I found it noisy in the early morning 5am when workers got ready for work and noisy late 10pm on Saturday night .
    78%
    Penelope G October 2013
    The room we stayed in had very good facilities - nice clean shower and toilet, and rooms were mopped daily. Our only concern was the kitchen, which appeared not to be cleaned regularly in the cooking area. There were a lot of people cooking at the time of our visit, so we tended to eat out or have microwave meals. However overall a very pleasant stay in Cooktown YHA, and nice friendly people.
    88%
    Jean R August 2013
    Staff is friendly, hostel was hard to find because entrance is quite hidden. Rooms are nice, but not so clean as I know it from other YHA hostels.
    72%
    Tina L March 2013
    The hostel was a reasonable distance from the main town area, if you don't mind a walk it's ok. The hostel was full of workers from a local bananna farm, so was very busy during meal times but very quiet during the day while they were at work
    80%
    Lysia M July 2012
    this is quite a interesting hostel. Staff was friendly and the bathrooms were clean and tidy. room was very small but all have aircon which is great. however there were heaps off fruit picking people there which made the hostel quite noisy with peopl
    62%
    kristina w November 2011
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    85%
    43 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    79%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    83%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    85%