Mission Beach YHA - Scottys

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Mission Beach YHA - Scottys

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (252 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Nice quiet hostel close to the beach, however it was a bit too quiet, the notice board at reception displayed activities on each evening , bbq, bingo etc but none of these was on the week that we stayed so there was absolutely nothing for us to do. The bus to town was useful but the last bus ran at 6pm which meant you had to come back to the hostel at that time. The young German man driving the shuttle bus and cleaning the kitchen is very friendly and helpful, he is an asset to the hostel!
55%
Sam M 14/11/2019
Wir kamen spät Abends an und blieben nur eine Nacht. Das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis stimmt überein. Es war jetzt nichts grossartiges, aber fürs Duschen und übernachten reicht es vollkommen. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und lustig.
85%
Sabrina S 07/11/2019
Nice rooms, really enthusiastic owners who are willing to help with anything. Guys who are staying long term to work were great fun and inclusive. Great pool.
98%
Daniel T 27/10/2019
The staff is so friendly and obviously loving there jobs. Good tips about what to do in Mission Beach. Location is nice and quiet. Happy with the free shuttle bus. Spent two good days here.
80%
Saskia B 25/10/2019
It is a quiet area but a nice hostel. The staff are really helpful and will go out of there way to help you out.
100%
Toni H 24/10/2019
It okay, but the rooms could be more clean. But Great atmosphere.
80%
23/10/2019
When I got off the greyhound bus there was a transfer waiting to the hostel for us. That was great as it would have been a long walk in the dark. This free shuttle service is invaluable. I only stayed one night but would def come again.
100%
Julie Tracy H 20/10/2019
Staff is so nice and so helpful, I recommend, if you wanna enjoy your stay, this is the place to be in Mission beach, near the beach with a swimming pool !
100%
Romane M 14/10/2019
Great hostel in a quiet area. Right behind the beach, beautiful garden area with pool, lots of space in the common areas. Don't be scared to approach the long-termers, they want to make friends and have a good time as much as you ;). Ask reception for suggestions for walks and day activities!
100%
Chiara T 13/10/2019
Super laid back. Beautiful, out of the way, location. I was there at a quiet time - or maybe it is typically that way. Everyone was very respectful and friendly. Things were clean, and very comfortable. Staff was helpful and it was clear they genuinely care about everyone, but also firm about expectations and 'rules'. Which makes things very comfortable and easier for everyone.
100%
G K 06/10/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
81%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
84%
Overall atmosphere
89%
Safety & Security
89%
Value for Money
88%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL