Search YHA

Mission Beach Retreat YHA

  • Customer reviews of Mission Beach Retreat YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (65 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Lovely staff and a great place to chill out and recharge those tired travelling batteries!
    Sarah P November 2015
    Friendly and welcoming staff; thank you! Pleasant place: near the beaches, the sea and the forest.
    Thibauld d September 2015
    Big improvement over last visit (about 12 months ago) Fridges, freezers & food storage need upgrading, I am sure these are in the pipeline. Fantastic situation. Staff very pleasant & friendly. Clean though showing age of premises. Will return.
    Peta K September 2015
    It is a really nice Hostel, the Stuff is really friendly and the place was clean
    Stefania P September 2015
    Absolutely fab. Friendly staff, really comfy bed, great chilled out atmosphere and a cute little puppy, Plus it is right on the beach with loads of cool little restaurants near by. What more could you ask for :)
    Helena S September 2015
    Would have liked lockers in the dorms to put my belongings in but apart from that I was very happy with this hostel. Friendly staff and a community feel to it all. Great location too.
    Eleanor E August 2015
    Very well run hostel with very caring staff who go the extra mile to help guess and give them a pleasant stay. Very good atmosphere.
    Sylvia B August 2015
    Bon fire on the beach with Blue moon and two guitars makes for a magical night. Pass on the fish bowl challenge hahah
    Scott W August 2015
    It is set in a magical location and we are very fortunate to have a YHA at Mission Beach.
    Victoria M June 2015
    I have been traveling Australia for 8 months I have stayed in many different hostels, Mission Beach Retreat is by far the cleanest and most welcoming, on arrival the staff went out of their way to show me the town and the beaches! They also did free rainforest hikes! Facilities are pretty good a range of showers which I never had to wait to use (massive pet hate when waiting to use bathrooms!) all in all this YHA is very friendly and home like with good bars to eat in and a fantastic atmosphere, I would definitely be returning !!!
    Chelsea M June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    65 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money