Search YHA

Port Douglas YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Port Douglas YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (665 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Excellent
    100%
    Philip B May 2016
    Our deluxe room was the best, worth a 5* hotel: very spacious, comfortable king bed, TV & DVD, fridge, tea & coffee, lockable cabinets, direct access to rear garden, front parking, 15 min walk from shops and marina. The kitchen, swimming pool and shared areas (with pool table) were lovely too. We loved it and we will definitely stay there next time we go to Port Douglas.
    98%
    Elisabetta S May 2016
    Nice updated clean facilities, hosts were very friendly and knowledgable of the area and made great recommendations for excursions! We enjoyed our stay!!
    100%
    Michael T May 2016
    People: Tom and Kasia are so lovely and I can't wait to go back to this hostel. They gave me so many wonderful recommendations for things to do in the area - swimming and snorkeling in the river and hiking to waterfalls. They know all the fun things that are going on and they're always happy to make recommendations. Rooms: The rooms are fantastic, with large storage areas that are lockable. They are clean and a comfortable space for 4 people. The bathroom was fantastic. Space: The lounge areas are clean and comfortable and it's easy to find space to sit on your own or hang out in a group. Bonus: Towels provided!
    90%
    Tzvia I May 2016
    Hotel was great but in a dorm room don't expect courtesy from other roomies. I haven't stayed in hostel accomodation before now I know why. But hey it wasn't anything the staff could do about that. Young rude disrespectful tourists.
    100%
    Jamie B May 2016
    They've nailed what a hostel should be. Clean, well maintained, friendly staff, great relaxing areas, good value. Best yha so far by miles.
    100%
    Fiona W May 2016
    Great place. Laid back but plenty to do. Very inviting place.
    100%
    MATTHEW C May 2016
    This hostel is one of the best I've ever stayed in. It's in a great location - a short walk to the shops and marina, and a couple of minutes from the beach. It's very clean and there are lots of different spaces to relax if you feel like some time to yourself. The rooms have their own bathrooms, a fridge and big lockers which fit suitcases/packs. The pool is great. The staff are very helpful in organising tours for you.
    100%
    Emily R May 2016
    A very great hostel. Really relaxing and very friendly staff. All the facilities are in a very good condition. Everything is clean.
    98%
    Stefan H May 2016
    It was a great experience, one of the best in a YHA. Special thanks to Tom, he made with friendly and open way the experience even better.
    100%
    Alberto A May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    95%
    665 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    94%
    Condition of facilities
    94%
    Efficiency of service
    97%
    Friendliness of staff
    98%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    94%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    96%