Search YHA

Port Douglas YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Port Douglas YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (641 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The 4-share room I was in felt more like a motel! Very modern and our own bathroom which was lovely. Nice big locked cupboards that fitted all our gear. Staff we're very friendly. The only negative was it is quite a walk to the centre of town and not sufficient street lighting to feel safe walking at night.
    88%
    Elise B April 2016
    Incredibly clean hostel! Very nice private bathroom for the four person room. Wonderful staff, tons of amenities. Bikes for hire were great!
    98%
    Taylor C April 2016
    I had an en suite room. Shared kitchen was the only common use area I used as I had a refrigerator and private shower and a queen bed in my room. Front desk service was excellent.
    95%
    Jack R April 2016
    Tom and staff are great! Bit of a walk into town centre but that wasn't a problem for us.
    90%
    Karen L April 2016
    Nice and cozy :) the pool is great for relaxing and watching the big bats fly over the sky and the sunset is almost peaking through the palm trees. And once the sun has set it's time for the moon to enter the stage, clearly visible from the pool. Magical! The staff is friendly and the facilities are good. A nice TV room for good times. The hostel is close to the town centre so when you feel like a great dinner just head to the pizza restaurant on the way to the Main Street. They really do have the best stone oven pizzas. When you feel like fish, head over to Lantern fish and grab the ceviche. It's to die for! The beach is also very near. You can choose two sides of the peninsula :) Everything else you might need is at the hostel. Enjoy, I did :)
    95%
    Maria M April 2016
    Very brief stay here, would have liked to stay longer definitely!
    98%
    Charlotte W April 2016
    We had a double room with ensuite which was large, comfortable, lots of locked storage, table and chair to sit at, t.v., fridge. Best hostel so far in our trip. Friendly staff.
    100%
    Fiona G April 2016
    Really excellent Hostel, just like a resort. I rented a bike and wow, what a beautiful place. Don't try to cycle to Moss creek though as there is little room on the road for the bike-too dangerous. I will be back
    100%
    Dale S April 2016
    Great hostel, everything you need there including a pool, TVs room, free pool table and table tennis table. DVD collection and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly
    95%
    Josh B April 2016
    The staff were very knowledgeable in relation to local activities; they were also very friendly and helpful at all times
    98%
    Geoff H April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    641 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    94%
    Condition of facilities
    90%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    98%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & security
    93%
    Value for money
    96%