Search YHA

Port Douglas YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Port Douglas YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (722 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Good value for money in good central and quite location. Highly recommended.
    98%
    Anton F July 2016
    Hostel managers were very friendly and helpful. Definitely take advantage of their local knowledge.
    98%
    Neil D July 2016
    We stayed at a private bedroom ensuite for six nights. We enjoyed our stay to the fullest from check in to check out. The hostel is located in short walking distance to the beautiful four mile beach, has its own very nice and clean pool area, different spacious and cosy common areas and offers different sorts of entertainment (darts, snooker, table tennis). Apart from that what made the stay really enjoyable was the staff - not only very welcoming and always happy to offer information on what to do around the area, but always carrying a smile on their faces and up to a joke. We definetely recommend a stay at this hostel and would return anytime. Certainly the best hostel of our trip!
    100%
    Imke July 2016
    We stayed in a room for two and the room facilities were excellent, comfortable bed, own shower with a small table and chairs outside to have a coffee or drinks or read. There was ample parking on the premises and town was only 1 km away. Whilst we were probably the eldest there we always find it enjoyable to mix with people from other countries and learn about there culture. Different outdoor rooms for TV or reading excellent idea.
    92%
    Penny W July 2016
    Awesome staff and guests. Everyone is friendly, helpful, and courteous. Very comfortable and clean. Quiet at night, but social all day and evening. Perfect set up. We had an awesome time. The front desk staff were beyond helpful and really allowed us to get the most out of our stay in Port Doug. Thanks guys!
    100%
    Tom T July 2016
    Chose a private room; not cheap for a hostel but then again it was peak season in Port Douglas.
    80%
    Martin D July 2016
    A perfect location in Port Douglas - short walk to main street and/or the beach. Plenty of space to chill out or hang out with other guests and still have a quiet night sleep. Fantastic staff and reliable, excellent local knowledge and recommendations.
    92%
    David R July 2016
    Loved this hostel! Fantastic staff. Perfect location. Has a bike hire which is a great way to see and to get around the town. Very clean and comfortable. Highly recommended.
    100%
    Kate F July 2016
    Kiri was amazing in booking all of our tours and activities for our group. Everything ran smoothly and was one of the best camp we have provided for the young people of Ocean Grove over the past 16 years. Thank you it was awesome.
    98%
    Nicki Dunne O July 2016
    My 3rd stat. The best hostel ever,
    100%
    Steven B July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    722 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    93%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    97%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & Security
    93%
    Value for Money
    90%