Search YHA

Port Douglas YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Port Douglas YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (798 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very friendly helpful management and staff it is a very easy comfortable cost effective place to stay. Will come again
    100%
    Derek E September 2016
    It's my second time bunking down at a YHA. Must say I was very impressed with this one. The staff were very helpful and owner very nice and cheerful. Would definitely stay there again if I go to Port Douglas.
    82%
    Chau T September 2016
    Fantastic stay at Coral Beach. The staff are outstanding!! Go above and beyond to make sure that you're collected on time for tours etc. They even called and booked me on to a tour when I was unable to call as I was snorkelling on the reef! Will definitely stay here in the future if I'm back in Port Douglas.
    92%
    Lindy S September 2016
    Front desk staff very friendly and great suggestions on where to go and what to do in the area.
    95%
    Andrew M September 2016
    We were in a wonderful double room with bathroom. We didn't expect the room to be so big; there was a beautiful bathroom with a large shower, towels, shampoo and soaps were provided. We had both air con and fan, a big tv and a DVD player (they have an endless choice of movies to rent at reception), a big closet and many lockers. Fridge, coffee, tea, glasses, mugs and boiler were also there to save us a trip to the kitchen. Overall the hostel was very quiet and peaceful, staff was friendly, helpful and funny and it was a real pleasure to spend time there.
    95%
    Nadia C. September 2016
    Nice place to stay, very relaxed atmosphere. Will stay again next time I am up this way.
    80%
    Peter L September 2016
    Tom who was running the hostel was charming and helpful and lots of fun. The kids loved the swimming pool
    92%
    Fiona F September 2016
    Nice hostel with excellent facilities and a good location. Nice and calm area.
    95%
    Malin E September 2016
    Staff were super helpful re organising tours, etc. Facilities and cleanliness were great. The beach was only a 5 minute walk away and the main shopping area a pleasant 10 minute walk.
    92%
    Denise R September 2016
    Awesome hostel, great and chilling atmosphere. Guys in reception are super friendly and helpful. I stayed there for 3.5 months and enjoyed every day. As I was working, it was great is not a party hostel. Is great you can use the kitchen 24/7 as I was used to come back late from work (a small detail but super useful). And the last thing, but not less important is the great atmosphere the wall art paintings gave to the whole hostel. It really made a difference. I'm happy they put attention in those things.
    92%
    Lucia A September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    798 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    90%