Search YHA

Port Douglas YHA

  • Customer reviews of Port Douglas YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (417 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Friendly, range of types of accommodation, great location
    100%
    Sarah J August 2015
    Reasonable standard of secure accommodation and self catering facilities in a peaceful location.
    82%
    Richard S August 2015
    Full house on weekends with local workers with 2 days off used kitchen non-stop and only average cleanliness in this period. Staff responded to my comment and made big difference to clean up the kitchen when weekdays were not so crowded.
    90%
    Patricia K August 2015
    Friendly staff. Good facilities, room was wonderful and great location.
    95%
    Susanne B August 2015
    We enjoyed our stay. It was quiet and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They booked a Jungle Safari for us and also gave us local information about what to do and see in the Daintree. It was a very relaxing stay.
    95%
    Kim S August 2015
    During my visit to North Queensland I stayed at a number of venues, and none of them came close to Port O'Call. The staff were fantastic, atmosphere was wonderful, facilities were great, and it was within quick walking distance to beach and facilities. This place has a wonderful friendly relaxed vibe and I will back with friends and family. In fact, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!
    100%
    Jennifer G August 2015
    The room was comfy but if someone is smoking on the terrace outside the room, it drifts into the room (and you need to have the screen door letting air in because it gets hots). Kitchen only has one working tap over 2 sinks, this is very awkward at meal times. Staff were great at finding us great day trips to do. The Yacht Club is just around the corner and great place for meals.
    88%
    Linda B August 2015
    I enjoyed everything about our stay! The bed was so nice!
    100%
    Helen F August 2015
    Beautiful atmosphere, relaxed, friendly and efficient. They've made some great improvements, there's plenty of space to stretch out and relax and to socialise. It really is a tropical oasis now. Backing onto a natural reserve area, it's peaceful and quiet, yet a lovely short stroll to the beach, close to the yacht club and all the downtown restaurants etc in Port Douglas. The staff are super helpful and knowledgeable about the best FNQ has to offer.
    95%
    Meegan Z August 2015
    Great location and facilities. Friendly people. Highly recommendet.
    98%
    Jane Jutta M July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    95%
    417 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    93%
    Condition of facilities
    91%
    Efficiency of service
    97%
    Friendliness of staff
    98%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    95%
    Safety & security
    96%
    Value for money
    94%