Search YHA

Port Douglas YHA

  • Customer reviews of Port Douglas YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (466 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    All was just perrrrrfect! Nice room, good facilities, not far from the beach and the town, always happy and friendly staff. Thank you Coral Beach Lodge for makin my stay in Port so special and unforgettable!
    Maria L October 2015
    Very nice place to stay, comfortable beds, great facilities to spend your time after the day trips. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful with a lot of knowledge about the area. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Port Douglas.
    Volker H October 2015
    Can't say enough good things about this place! Perfect in every way. Such a cool, chilled out bohemian atmosphere - not to mention the awesome location in the Australian tropics! We didn't want to leave. Can't wait to come back next year!
    Maria P September 2015
    Great reception staff especially the Kiri who organised my diving. Thank you
    Belinda L September 2015
    What a brilliant hostel. Clean, friendly and just moments from the beach. The rooms are large with individual lockers for each roomy, the beds are freshly made and the mattresses are super comfy. I'll be back and I will be bringing my friends.
    Jo S September 2015
    parking on site is a bit awkward, good parking offsite. only stayed one night , would have liked a chair or some sort of seating in the unit as there was plenty of room ,as I don't like laying in bed unless asleep. Close to the main drag and nice and quite though I would have liked a room further away for the communal rest/seating area. the couple on the counter were really pleasant
    Michael T September 2015
    I swam in the sea every morning at sunrise. It was amazing. The hostel was very clean and the wifi worked everywhere.
    Jing Y September 2015
    Lay back atmosphere and friendly staff. Good facilities including kitchen and pool.
    Martin R September 2015
    The perfect YHA.
    Harvie Q September 2015
    Excellent stay, but don't smoke around the pool!!
    Mark F September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    466 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money