Search YHA

Port Douglas YHA

  • Customer reviews of Port Douglas YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (508 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Excellent and helpful staff, great atmosphere
    Wong November 2015
    Australia's best YHA
    Peta H November 2015
    Such a lovely place, has the cozy hostel atmosphere but sleeps like a hotel. Excellent facilities, clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff, we were happy to come back for a second and even third night!
    Anna v November 2015
    All staff were friendly and helpful, Tom is a wealth of knowledge and helpful with any questions. the facilities and outdoor set up is one of the best I have ever stayed at. Highly recommended.
    Anthony L November 2015
    Pekný čistý hostel, trochu mimo centrum
    Miroslav T November 2015
    We were greeted by great friendly staff who made us feel welcome straight away! The whole place had a friendly vibe. Tom helped us organise tours and shuttle and gave us extremely helpful tips on the area. Staff are extremely professional. I would definitely stay here again!
    Joyce C November 2015
    We took an ensuite room. All you need when you are out and about most days and, we thought, very good value. Pool is good. Management is welcoming, cheery and helpful. Thanks for all you did for us Tom.
    Christine B November 2015
    Really friendly,helpful staff. Easy living, great pool!
    Polly F November 2015
    Great place to stay in port doulgas, good location - only 12 min from the main street and all the restaurants, the person at the reception was really friendly and super helpful, huge and clean rooms
    Gergana K November 2015
    Air con curfew of 5pm to 8am wasn't great when you want an afternoon nap and the suns on the front windows. We had no hot water at 9.30am in the morning - maybe because it had all been used by other stayers. Asked for 3 single bed accommodation for 3 people and got a double and a single.
    D W November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    508 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money