Search YHA

Port Douglas YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Port Douglas YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (834 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staff were great and very helpful for booking local tours and dive boats. Facilities are in good shape and nice set up/atmosphere .
    David O October 2016
    One of the best hostels we've ever stayed at! Amazing pool, open air concept, plenty of places to hang out and relax or watch movies - they have a huge collection you can borrow from too. Helpful staff that booked and helped with modifications to multiple tours. Had great beach towels you could borrow for no charge. Location was great, quick 10min walk into town and less than 5mins to the beach - you can walk to/from town along the beach too! The sushi spot right next door is good, and the bottle shop being steps away is super convenient :)
    Henry B October 2016
    The room I stayed in had two permanent residents - although very friendly, they did have personal items all through the room (no space on bench tops/in bathroom etc) and did have work commitments and therefore turned lights out fairly early (there is a small lamp on the bed). I didn't have a problem but just something to bear in mind for others who stay here whom this may not suit as I wasn't informed about this when checking in.
    Nat I October 2016
    We are a mid-age and we were in a double-room with private bathroom. These rooms have a pivate frigde and a small terrace and a private hammock. Everything was clean, even the public kitchen. We stay there for 4 nights. We had a very relaxing time. The hostel office give us very good tour tips.
    Ute H October 2016
    Enjoyable stay..nice walk to town and close to beach. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff..would defo use again. Thank you
    Sarah S October 2016
    Enjoyable stay..nice walk to town and close to beach. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff..would defo use again. Thank you
    Sarah S October 2016
    Hostel was clean, and quiet, staff friendly and helpful. I like the murals in common spaces. Had long term people in my room where nice but kept to themselves. Was on a top bunk and having the aircon automatically on all night was unpleasant especially as I was getting over a cold. Room was poorly ventilated.
    Amy P October 2016
    Great place in the green with terrace and many places to relax. Very quiet und friendly. Beach around the corner. Staff recommended good trips and took time for any questions.
    Stephanie S October 2016
    Coral Beach lodge is definitely the best hostel I stayed in so far. The room was comfortable with a small terrace and you can asked to have your room cleaned. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Kev and Tom know all the tours around Port Douglas and gave us a lot of recommendations. If we enjoyed Port Douglas so much it is partly because of our stay at Coral beach lodge. If I am lucky enough to visit Port Douglas again I will definitely stay there again.
    Marine M October 2016
    So impressed with the private room. Very spacious, incredibly clean and some nice considerate touches. The little terrace leading to the lawn area is wonderful. Even though I was near the kitchen it was incredibly quiet. I had spent a night at a competitors and whilst this was more expensive it was a much more pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly.
    Shani D October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    834 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money