Search YHA

Port Douglas YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Port Douglas YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (756 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I came with my partner for 3 nights, it's a bit more expensive than other hostels we have stayed so may be a bit pricey for the budget traveller. However it's was worth it. We had a private room with its own en suite. Both were really clean, the bed was already made up with clean sheets and we were given towels too. Each room has their own patio area with a hammock which wasn't private but was still relaxing. We didn't use the common areas as we had a busy schedule but they looked clean and well maintained from what we did see of them. There was table tennis, pool table which was a bit tired but still very useable for a novice and a swimming pool. The hostel is within walking distance of bars and restaurants and there are lots of tour companies if you don't have the use of a car. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back :)
    98%
    Roxanne S August 2016
    Good room facilities and very friendly staff
    98%
    JANE k August 2016
    Was there during a quiet time, but looks like it would be an awesome hang out on a nice summers night. Staff were nice and accomodating.
    90%
    Amy D August 2016
    This place is a must stay!! Tom (the owner/manager I think) is a true asset to the hostel. I would refer to the hostel as a hotel it is that nice. Perfect location, perfect atmosphere and perfect service! A defo must stay!
    98%
    Holly C August 2016
    Staff was beyond helpful in assisting us with setting up activities and navigating our way around town. They also had hundreds of DVD's guests can borrow which was also great. Super friendly!
    92%
    Emily M August 2016
    This is one of the best hostels we've ever stayed at. Very nice place, friendly, and walking distance to the marina and town centre. If we ever have the chance to return to Port Douglas, we'd stay here again!
    95%
    Debbie F August 2016
    Great atmosphere, very good advice. Staff all reflected the managements positive outlook. Well designed public areas.
    95%
    Tim L August 2016
    As good as they come resulting in a wonderful stay. We will come again. Jim & Jenny
    100%
    Jim M August 2016
    We had a great stay with 3 kids of 11, 13 and 15. Very good room with private shower and toilet and TV with DVD player. Nice, friendly staff. And lots of nice places to relax. Thanks!
    82%
    cathelijne w August 2016
    The hostel has a great atmosphere and great facilities. I loved the film choices and the table tennis table! Each person has there own locker which is huge and feels very secure (no need for your own lock). The hostel is close to the beach but a 10 minute walk from town!
    92%
    Lisa m S August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    756 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    93%
    Condition of facilities
    91%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    99%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    91%
    Safety & Security
    93%
    Value for Money
    92%