Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1860 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The room smells, sheets and pillows are dirty, I covered the bed with towels so I could sleep.
    58%
    Dirar F May 2017
    I got what I paid for. Would maybe stay again under same conditions.
    50%
    Chad T May 2017
    Nearby the airport but quite noisy due to loud aircraft noise even past midnight. The rest of the facilities are average except for shared flush toilets and baths that needed to be constantly cleaned as users are not doing self-cleaning after usage.
    65%
    Dr Tew K May 2017
    However the staff discouraged me from booking a taxi despite having to leave at 4:15am, due to close proximity to airport and response of taxi drivers to a short ride. Did a dry run to the airport and it would've taken around 20mins - I booked a taxi for ease and safety and the taxi driver was fine.
    98%
    Robyn G May 2017
    had a very nice three day stay no problems with any part of the hostel very nice.....
    100%
    walter t May 2017
    No problems
    72%
    Colin I May 2017
    Friendly place,has a number of areas to relax in or eat in.Van runs into Coolangatta several times aday & bus service is very good.
    100%
    Kevin Max W May 2017
    Too far from town and too close to the airport. Very noisy and walls quite thin so can hear every word in neighbouring rooms and doors slamming all night.
    60%
    Christine K April 2017
    It was good for the location but this also meant it was quite noisy with the planes taking off and landing. Bunk beds were squeaky and not very comfortable but otherwise perfect place to have a sleep before an early flight.
    78%
    Fern L April 2017
    Dirty rooms ie sand everywhere.. Showers: not very clean and so basic needs to be updated as its showers that you will find on a camping site have to wait for 10mins for hot water. Private rooms small and budget looking,bed not comfortable just over all disappointed. Other YHA hostels and way way better!
    50%
    Jordan A April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    79%
    customer rating, based on 1860 reviews
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    77%
    Efficiency of service
    79%
    Friendliness of staff
    82%
    Location
    82%
    Overall atmosphere
    74%
    Safety & Security
    83%
    Value for Money
    78%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!