Search YHA

Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

83%
Bilinga , QLD

Coolangatta YHA hostel is located just 500 meters from the Gold Coast Airport. You can check in & be on the beach within 30 minutes of landing.

$26
Check availability
Right now in Bilinga ...
01:50 AM
|
9°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1415 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    One of the, if not the, best hostel/s I've stayed in. Great staff, great location (lack of proximity to grocery stores aside, but the beach just across the road more than makes up for that), great facilities (including table tennis and a pool), great rooms (not one but three paintings hanging in my single-bed room, plus a chest of drawers and a desk and chair; I'm telling you, you get more than you pay for), and an overall "harmony" to the place, it really feels like it was designed from the ground up as a welcoming beach backpackers, rather than, as so many hostels feel, repurposed and retrofitted into one.
    98%
    Laird S August 2015
    It is close to the airport, which saves money and time for transport; but if you are coming or going to Brisbane, it may be a little difficult as there is no direct train service; the best option is taking the shuttle bus from the airport ( e.g. linktransfer for one)
    85%
    Bit Mo H August 2015
    Great location and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Regular free transport into town and back. A couple of minutes walk from gold coast airport!!
    92%
    Trevor I August 2015
    Good place right across from the airport
    80%
    Max K July 2015
    This hostel is super handy if you have an early flight. It is an old building but it is well maintained. The staff was friendly and kind all the times. We stayed during the winter and the night was extremely cold, the room felt as cold as sleeping outside, so be aware of that!
    80%
    Hugo P July 2015
    The hostel was in need of repairs and renovation eg the exterior 'YHA' sign was damaged. The over all atmosphere felt a bit depressing, staff were going through the motions. The location near the airport is poor but they do have a courtesy van.
    65%
    Jon W July 2015
    the family room was perfect for the nights we stayed in
    100%
    Rhyah S July 2015
    - nice atmosphere and staff - clean toilets and shower rooms - hot shower - free shuttle bus services to nearby shopping mall and attractions. recommend it to travellers on late arrival or who need to catch a early flight
    80%
    EMMA S July 2015
    Very close to the Gold Coast Airport. Useful tips for transferring to Brisbane: take Bus 760 to Varsity Lake train station.
    75%
    HUICHEN C July 2015
    Ideal location for people that have to use OOL airport.
    98%
    George C July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    1415 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & security
    82%
    Value for money
    82%