Search YHA

Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1621 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Highly recommend staying at Cooly! The staff were very friendly, helpful and kind. The facilities and other services on offer were excellent for the price paid. Location is good if you do not plan on exploring the Gold Coast - very close to the airport (~10 minute walk), easy to find, and a short ~5 minute walk to the beach. I would definitely stay here again. :)
    88%
    Roza R July 2016
    The location was awesome for travellers!
    100%
    Mohammad Hafiz July 2016
    Too noisy because of airplanes
    60%
    JYUN-JI L July 2016
    Very convenient to the airport for late arrivals into Gold Coast. Loved being able to walk off the plane and over to the hostel. Drawbacks of being so close is the noise of the airport and the highway... Bring earplugs if you need a good night's rest! Friendly staff made everything easy.
    72%
    Kim A July 2016
    We enjoy staying here, close to the airport, buses & beach. We like the friendly atmosphere, also that older backpackers like us don't feel so out of place. We look forward to being able to return here!
    90%
    Mardi M July 2016
    I had arrived at Coolangatta after a 10 hour flight - I had been sick the whole way and just wanted to get to bed. I arrived at YHA and was checked in fairly promptly. Went to the room, it was ok. The bed linen was dirty (blood on the pillow case), usually I would say something but I was exhausted and sick. Trying to get some sleep and I was woken by a lady on the phone yelling explicit and vile language, this went on for quite sometime. I guess if you like to sleep then don't stay here!
    52%
    Emma M July 2016
    Perfect airport location - I stayed for 2 nights before a flight. Near the beach and can walk to the airport. About a 25-30 minute walk along the beach to Coolangatta. Clean but pretty quiet. If you want to see more of Coolangatta and meet new people then this isn't really the place for you. Friendly helpful staff and good wifi in the communal areas. Not many plug sockets in the room I stayed in. A bit pricey but probably paying for the nearness to the airport.
    90%
    Tamsin B July 2016
    I think YHA should model all there establishments off this Coolangatta YHA. It is the best one I have been too!
    98%
    Kevin J July 2016
    A very well located hostel, comfortable & clean. A good base for exploring the Gold Coast.
    72%
    Phil H July 2016
    Staff was very nice, although the location is pretty bad. It is advertised as being in Coolangatta, although it is not. I just don't think this hotel was a good value for your money at all.
    50%
    Amanda June 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    1621 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    82%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & Security
    80%
    Value for Money
    80%