Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2076 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Way too expensive for the room you get... Very hot in the room and no AC. The price for a 6-people mixed dorm is 28Aud which is too much for this bad location, bad WIFI Connection, and no AC in the room!
50%
Dominik B 16/01/2019
Ive stayed in this hostel for first time. overall it was fine. but when it comes down to kitchen,it was shocking, all sinks were full of dirty unwashed utensils,no place left to wash our own used utensils.most embarassing thing was when spoke about unhygenic kitchen to a lady on a reception counter,she did not respond properly and kept on saying and justifying that they ve hired a person to clean all stuff in the sink.Its disgusting and i would never like to turn up to your infectious place.
88%
Shital Ebenezer G 11/01/2019
Normally I don’t say bad things, keep a positive mind but this time I think I have to say something. The building is very old, facilities poor, in regards to my room 104.... please and I beg you, change the mattress, it feels like a whale has been sleeping there once you lay there you go on a whole..... the position of the fan only hits the corner of the down bed where the whole is.....on the bright side, the girls on the reception really nice and good pointers to check out the area......
58%
Alejandro S 10/01/2019
very easy booking service via email and callback offer
90%
Greta C 10/01/2019
Good location for surfers, not much activities. Kitchen is really small. I stayed at room 111 for 2 nights. Very hot, no aircon, only fun is a. It noisy. A shopping center next door. Many restaurants. Easy walk to the beach. Went to swim in the morning.
68%
Jing L 08/01/2019
Yha surfers paradise is one of the best places to be at.. especially i would like to appreciate the staff (Aga and Rafa), there were just impeccable in delivering great service , hospitality and guiding us to plan out our visit.
100%
Rajendra Kumar R 07/01/2019
pretty good!
82%
Katherine Stewart N 05/01/2019
Our room smelled badly and was quite noisy. Every time someone went in or out the hostel gate it banged shut and it was very loud.
70%
Lynn D 03/01/2019
staff friendly and helpful - no staff complaints - bonus using courtesy bus - water cooler and hot water urn in kitchen is convenient
85%
Greta C 02/01/2019
This hostel needs a complete renovation.
30%
Paul Andrew D 31/12/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

74%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
68%
Condition of facilities
62%
Efficiency of service
80%
Friendliness of staff
86%
Location
71%
Overall atmosphere
72%
Safety & Security
82%
Value for Money
72%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL