Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2191 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Felt secure as the door to the hostel itself requires a key. Liked that it was clean, quiet and a minute walk to the beach. Bit out of the centre, but the free shuttle bus is perfect for getting in and out.
90%
Charlotte M 19/05/2019
The facilities in the kitchen and bathroom are a little old BUT work perfectly well. You access the showers through the common area which some people might not like. The shower cubicles had plenty room to get dressed though. The kitchen, dining and living area is one big area with an outdoor balcony which I liked. The rooms all lead on to a wrap around balcony which was lovely. It's not a party hostel, it's very peaceful and relaxed and about 4km outside surfers paradise. I liked this though. Beds were comfy. I had a great stay.
82%
Victoria L 15/05/2019
Very lively place and lots of activities.
80%
Ah Seen O 14/05/2019
very nice positioned location. Staff are friendly and helpful. Great shuttle bus service.
68%
Luke S 12/05/2019
The most important thing to me is cleanliness. This hostel far exceeded my expectations for cleanliness, friendliness of staff (Aga was awesome), facilities (ie. kitchen, dining, bathroom etc. It was perfect for what I wanted. Also, I am not a young backpacker but didn't, in any way, feel I was out of place here. There was a variety of age groups & everyone was friendly & seemed very honest.
100%
Eileen D 06/05/2019
It was great in the share room, during quite time, just one other person in the 6 bed in a room. Located in a good spot.
85%
Fred B 06/05/2019
Very thankful for Aga, which helped me with orientating my journey. Very friendly staff
78%
Sara C 03/05/2019
This is the best YHA stay I had. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
98%
Sai Suman G 30/04/2019
Walked the beaches at sunrise and sunset, went for Kayaking and to Bleach Festival to experience the local culture. Met some good people at the hostel and gained from their experience. Overall I had a wonderful time. Thank you YHA Surfers Paradise - especially the very friendly staff.
100%
Darshan Kumar B 30/04/2019
liked the hostel, I think would have enjoyed it more if Surfers Paradise wasn't my least favourite area I visited while Down Under! Also had an issue with another guest...but the hostel itself is fine!
68%
John Stanley H 26/04/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

82%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
78%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
77%
Overall atmosphere
79%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
82%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL