Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2008 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great location. Super helpful staff.
100%
Stephen G 03/11/2018
I loved the open areas and balcony, but that alowed birds in the kitchen, and a couple of times we found bird poop in some tables were we after had breakefast and dinner. The staff was fast to clean it.. but you know..
78%
Juan Pablo I 03/11/2018
This shouldn’t be called “Surfers Paradise” YHA as it’s not even in Surfers. It’s a 45min to an hour walk to town, and the complimentary shuttle runs at the oddest times (you’d think it would match up with the Greyhound bus, but no?) and not in the evenings at all. I was there over a weekend and it was incredibly quiet, hardly anyone hanging out or any atmosphere in the hostel. The only thing this place really has going for it is that the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.
65%
Chelsea A 29/10/2018
The kitchen is very dirty, I dont thibk is because of your fault, is the customers fault because we were so many, but i would recommend that with this volume of people you should have a cleaning personal the whole time Though everyone in the staff were very friendly and willing to help us with anything.
85%
Paola Cristina B 27/10/2018
Amazing location, very helpful and friendly staff, I would recommend this hostel to anyone
95%
Martin T 24/10/2018
Aga & Team -Thank you for our stay ... Gr8 stay via work area of V8.. Walking everywhere !! Double Room - fan's fine!! No A/C summer would be hot!! Basic & clean ... amenities fine.. Location FAB :) Beach gr8.. See U again..Happy travels :)
85%
Lisa B 21/10/2018
Wasn't good overall. Shuttle svc canceled out of short staff (she said) & motor racing event.
40%
Tae Il J 21/10/2018
We enjoyed our stay.
80%
Kaitlyn A 19/10/2018
Looks a bit tired and hasn’t changed much since the last time I was there about 8 yrs ago. Service and staff were great!!
75%
Vadim G 09/10/2018
This hostel is OK little old fashion the staff do very little to make you feel welcome don't think I would stay more than one night
72%
Gary Stuart R 08/10/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
80%
Condition of facilities
78%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
84%
Overall atmosphere
80%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
85%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL