Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2140 guests have reviewed this hostel)
For the few night I stayed it was so unbelievable hot I could hardly sleep. This is the first YHA I have stayed in that doesn’t have air conditioning and it’s appaling. The name of the hostel also makes its location very deceptive as it’s not actually in surfers paradise but over a walk away from the main area. I have stayed in many YHA’s and this will be the first I will advise people not to go to.
55%
Tate S 24/03/2019
This was the worst hostel I've stayed at so far. The location wasn't great since it was about 4 km away from the town center. They did offer a hostel shuttle, but only 4 times a day. The staff was really friendly, which was pretty much the only positive thing about this hostel. The rooms were very small and stuffy and the little fan was very loud and blowing wind onto my head the whole night (not in a good way). Also, the kitchen was very small and didn't really appear to be very clean.
70%
Verena H 21/03/2019
The rooms are clean and adequate but they have near zero ventilation so it gets damn stuffy. Location is convenient
72%
Michael H 19/03/2019
I really enjoyed staying at the surfers paradise Yha. I specially loved the location as it is away from the crazy party area in Surfers. It is also across the road from the beach- perfect for your morning coffees.. Staff really helpful too.
100%
Fanie B 19/03/2019
I loved staying at this hostel. The rooms are really nice compared to some other hostels I‘ve stayed at. The area is absolutely beautiful and I loved having the beach right across the street. The movie nights were a personal highlight. Everyone hung out together on those, so it was easy to meet new people. The hostel staff was incredibly nice and friendly as well. They listened to every little problem and tried to help as best as possible.
95%
Marlene 18/03/2019
-wifi was not working at all -to far away from the city - shuttle service not often enough -staff very unfriendly -not a nice atmosphere at all
38%
Denise 16/03/2019
Great location to get away from it all, walking distance to harbour and beach, nice cafe right next door to the hostel and ideal for water sports. Staff were friendly and shuttle service was very helpful.
75%
Joseph M 15/03/2019
Thanks for the hospitality and the friendly service!
72%
Andrzej N 13/03/2019
Other YHA's have air conditioners and rooms are in better shape regarding cool weather and larger space and there had no carpet floor. Here the opposite. The weather was hot and the air conditioner did not exist in rooms and living room area, the kitchen did not even have fan on. Two fans were not working in the Living room. I did not sleep well for 4 nights and was not happy at all.
62%
Sinem K 13/03/2019
Your vending machines in hot & humid climates (anywhere in Australia) should be refrigerated !
92%
John R 12/03/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

70%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
64%
Condition of facilities
60%
Efficiency of service
78%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
62%
Overall atmosphere
64%
Safety & Security
78%
Value for Money
62%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL