Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1862 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The kitchen could be a bit cleaner and the rooms were a bit smaller than expected
72%
Seth B 17/02/2020
I absolutely loved every minute of my stay! It is super cheap and I couldn‘t have asked for a better hostel! The staff is super friendly, kind and helpful, the rooms are perfect, the location just lovely with lots and lots of cute animals and there are a bunch of activities on this island that you could do! 10/10!!
100%
Susanne W 17/02/2020
To little staff. I had to wait everytime I needed someone. The power went out twice in my room, which meant no airco. Kitchen was too hot. No lockers. Beds were fine. Most staff was friendly.
68%
Nadia T 17/02/2020
Awesome!
92%
Aleisha W 16/02/2020
very nice hostel! I did not like, that it is connected to the koala park, because I don't support using koalas for tourist fun. but the rest war really nice.
92%
Magdalena H 16/02/2020
Bathroom not very clean and many animals in there. Hostel looks very nice with all the Bush around though.
68%
Karl H 13/02/2020
Took around 30 min to check in :/
48%
Kartini D 13/02/2020
It would be better if there where paper towels in the kitchen area. And more stuff to clean after yourself to keep it cleaner. Put in some stuff against insects, cause this is the worst kitchen I've seen on my travels. Besides that everything was cool. Some bedlights in the dorms would be nice. There is only one light right now. But definitely a good place to stay. The staff is super friendly:)
78%
Selina B 09/02/2020
It was not very clean in the commun areas. One of the lady of the staff said a wrong price (without the guest discount) for the koala tour. She also said it to a girl who said that it is not what she saw. Then she said she didn’t know she was a guest. But us, we asked for the price during our checking so I guess she tried to sell it like that for everyone... No one said that we cannot swim without wetsuit outside of the net, a men on the beach told us
70%
Amandine P 08/02/2020
Beautiful place. Beautiful, friendly people. Great atmosphere. Secure and very clean. Well equipment kitchen. Amazing wildlife. You basically living there with the nature! Thank you YHA! You made my stay at Magnetic Island so special. 😊 Ps. Thank you to Emma @ Mad Monkey Backpackers hostel in Cairns for booking this place for me. 😊 I would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend this place to other travellers.
100%
Eva M 06/02/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

77%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
69%
Condition of facilities
73%
Efficiency of service
76%
Friendliness of staff
83%
Location
85%
Overall atmosphere
79%
Safety & Security
80%
Value for Money
74%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL