Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1626 guests have reviewed this hostel)
It was a really cozy and chilled place and you got that vibe the second you stepped in. It was an amazing stay! I would have stayed longer if I knew this hostel was this cool
98%
Emma Vestergaard J 15/09/2019
I really appreciate my stay in this hostel. Even if it’s not a party hostel, there are some great activities every evening. The location is perfect : it’s next to the koala zoo, 5 minutes away from the beach and 15’ away from the famous forts walk. The rooms were really nice and cosy. I really had a great time there and I definitely recommend this hostel.
90%
Elodie R 12/09/2019
Great!!!!!! Amazing place!!! C’etait Fantastique j’ai adoré! Super endroit!!!
100%
Joanne C 12/09/2019
We loved the atmosphere of the hostel. The beach is very close and the staff is nice.
100%
Pierre-Louis L 11/09/2019
Very clean and friendly hostel. No WiFi though
90%
Caroline Cecile Eloise L 07/09/2019
I've used backpackers quite a bit over the past six years and this one has to be the best I've ever been to. So clean, wonderful atmosphere, beautiful grounds, fun night entertainment, very efficient staff, and very affordable, considering value for money. I will definitely be back.
100%
Carol L 06/09/2019
Everything is just perfect except couldn’t get wifi it wouldn’t work
80%
Selina R 05/09/2019
We had a great time there. Loved the little zoo. Had a great time at the canteen in the evening. I am glad I made to journey to stay there.
98%
Maggie F 31/08/2019
Facilities are really good. Loved the bungalows and the atmosphere they created.
95%
Adam S 29/08/2019
After 1 night we had to change dorms due to a shower issue (these things happen). However the dorm we moved to smelt of mould/damp. Staff did bleach it and did their best. We had a busy day planned so didn't want to move again. Lack of lockers is disappointing. On checkout day water was cut off with no warning. Location and staff excellent. Condition of dorms and lack of security brought the scores down.
75%
lorenzo c 28/08/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
85%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
88%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL