Search YHA

Noosa Heads YHA

  • Customer reviews of Noosa Heads YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (636 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    My Favorite Hostel ever ever! You feel like in a castle! It is beautiful!!!
    ellen T November 2015
    Best location. Great staff.
    gary d November 2015
    Loved staying at Halse Lodge. Great atmosphere. Good facilities. Amazing food at the bar. All of the staff except for one where absolutely amazing I couldn't fault them.
    Lauren G November 2015
    A great hostel and great location. Only two minutes walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. Close to the national park. I had a great stay!
    Silje M November 2015
    Love this hostel. It's my favourite hostel in Australia. Very clean and has lockers and beds are nice and comfy. The only downside is the kitchen which is quite small although the hostel was very busy when we were there. Free shuttle bus from Noosa Junction is good and the welcome meeting is a good idea. Bar and restaurant nice. I would stay there again.
    Hayley W October 2015
    Beautiful and clean hostel at a wonderful location close to the beach. Staff is very friendly and they offered a free pick-up service from Noosa Junction. The only negative point is that the walls of this old building are of wood and therefore it is very noisy especially early in the morning (06:00) when people are leaving.
    Violet October 2015
    Thanks to the very friendly and helpfull staff of Halse Lodge!
    michael k October 2015
    very stylish old lodge, liked the community rooms (pool, table tennis, bar). I had a room close to the kitchen. There were 2 entrances to the room, one was to the veranda at the kitchen. This caused noise until 11 pm. Furthermore the doors have glas elements so that it is a bit light.
    Bettina H October 2015
    Shared a double room with a friend. Room very clean, comfy bed, good facilities. Also yummy food amd cheap drinks. Perfect location. Loved it. Highly recommended.
    Jade M October 2015
    It was a nice surprise on arrival to find the sheets made on both twin beds. This was much appreciated after a time of travel. The room was clean and had a ceiling fan, and absolute must in Summer. Wall prints added a pleasant air to the atmosphere of the room too. The room backed onto the kitchen and therefore was subject to noise during the evening, however, this completely subsided once the kitchen was closed at around 10:45pm each evening. Showers were hot and there were several paper towel dispensing stations in all bathrooms, and a well equipped laundry, a necessity when towels require washing from several visits to the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful, Amanda in particular was lovely. I was fortunate to be able to park my vehicle on premises, which saved hassles with finding a park in nearby streets. Very restricted parking otherwise. The in-house restaurant can add a pleasant mood to one's stay. Irish bush band members and guests meet on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month in the Halse Lodge restaurant for a good ole' reel of Irish Dance and Folk tunes which they play during dinner. Very enjoyable to listen to. The trek to a well equipped supermarket is some distance away, so its advisable to obtain groceries before settling in. All in all, this hostel was pleasant to stay at, but depending on your room location in this establishment, there could be some distractions from noise from the evening restaurant and its operations.
    Shane Z October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    636 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money